We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A must when visiting La Palma

This was truly a stellar experience (no pun intended). If you want to learn something new, having a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
389c_dricp
,
Kapellen, Belgium
via mobile
Better than expected

The views from the top of the island are absolutely spectacular. And the guided tour of the GTC was... read more

Reviewed November 3, 2018
alb950
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 337 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Brena Baja
from US$79.70
More Info
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
269
43
17
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
43
17
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milky way hot tea la palma fantastic evening star clusters viewing point stargazing experience cancelled due powerful telescopes own transport first night winter clothes brilliant experience knowledgeable guides rental car guided tour los cancajos
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 337 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love La Palma for the clear skies and star-gazing and discovering AstroLaPalma really added to our fab holiday. We had a great evening in this stunningly beautiful island enjoying a beautiful night of becoming much more familiar with the night sky, observing planets, clusters, nebula, the Milky Way, only ending when the moon became too bright! Ana is great - friendly, warm and able to communicate brilliantly at a simple level... and all in two languages! We loved the evening and hope to return to La Isla Bonita and another Astro Tour with AstroLaPalma!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were lucky to be visiting La Palma during the annual Perseid Meteor Shower. We joined Ana for an exciting evening trip on 11 August to watch from an amazingly clear viewing point. There are a number of recommended sites on La Palma from which the night sky is viewed clearly. Ana was very knowledgeable and able to explain information to both novices and those with more expertise. Using a portable telescope we looked at craters on the moon, Saturn and even the Andromeda Galaxy. The 'star' of the show though was the meteor shower and watching the streaks of light cross the sky. An unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank ED_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We planned a special 5-day visit to La Palma, the highlights of which were the visit to the Observatory and the wonderful view of the night sky afforded by Astrolapalma!
The first night, 12th August 2013, was very cloudy and could have been a total disaster! However, Augustin shared his knowledge and enthusiasm in such a way as to rescue the evening. We were very pleased when Ana offered to try again the following night ( her night off!) and shared a memorable experience with a small group of other enthusiasts.
As the group was quite small, there were plenty of opportunities to share the telescope and binoculars. We have always known there were millions of stars in the sky but have never seen so many before. The clear skies and friendly, expert knowlege made this a thoroughly worthwhile trip. We even have a group photograph to remind us.
Thank you both, Ana and Augustin, - we hope to see you again one day.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank SunSeekerSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had two fantastic excursions with AstroLaPalma and look forward to many more on return visits. Our guide, Ana, was knowledgable and interesting, and we enjoyed both the astronomical aspects of the trip and the beautiful scenery we saw on our way up the volcanos. Very highly recommended!!

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank thewestbromfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2013

An amazing, unforgettable night of sunset watching and star gazing. The night sky was incredible . The expert guides were extremely helpful and informative and I have come away wanting to learn more....The night was one of my highlights and I will definitely be booking another trip when I return to La Palma.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank harrye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews