We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst summer week ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropic Park
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst summer week ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

... except maybe during my military service... We stayed at the Tropic Park in 2007, in july. Awful room, small, crowded and dusty. The dust was so old, that the drops of paint from the last renovation (which was not earlier than 2-3 years at that time) were UPON the dust layer. A smell of old and dusty in the room. Probably an excellent hotel back in 1980 or even early 1990's. The restaurant smelled just like I remember the mess-hall smelled during my military service: a mixture of old food, bug repellent, chlorine (which was actually quite encouraging- it meant somebody DID disinfect the place from time to time) and rancid fat.
To top things up, the seaview room actually meant "mainstreet view" room. That means the main road connecting Malgrat de Mar to Pinar de Mar, Santa Susanna, Callella and so on, with lots of traffic. Also, the main street in Malgrat. Lots of people especially in the evening. At around 20-21.00 in the evening the cigarette smoke was so thick that you didn't even have to bother about the mosquitoes any more. In the early hours (after 3.00 am) hordes of inebriated young people raising hell in the streets with no police to calm them down. Next to te main road there also was the railroad with high speed trains running up and down each 15 minutes or so. Furthermore, the beach was of very sharp gravels. You could only have access on it with solid footwear, no beach slippers or crocks. We spent our week visiting Barcelona (which is a good one hour by train away) instead of "bathing in the blue Mediterranean Sea" as advertised. All in all, if not for visiting Barcelona, which is a great city, a totally failed vacation. As for Tropic Park, I wouldn't go back if my life depended on it! A definite no-no! There is more to tell. Much, much more!

Room Tip: A tip? Don't go there! Not ever! Regardless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kostagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    182
    79
    30
    16
See reviews for
206
197
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We travelled to Malgret de Mar in early June and stayed for 15 days, during which we stayed at Tropic Park. We loved this part of Spain, particularily the Costa Brava, Penedes and Barcelona. The only downfall to this trip was the hotel. It is most definetely not a four star. It is outdated and requires a serious facelift. I am not asking for the Hilton, but basic things such as air conditioning and descent entertainment would have been nice. Our room was facing the road and we did not sleep very well at all. By 1:00 am, the roads were populated with drunk college students, I felt like I was in Daytona! We tried to turn the air conditioning on to drown out the noise, but it was "turned off" and had to plead with the hotel staff to turn it on for us. Apparently, the AC is only turned on during July-September! As for the meal plan, the food was bland, heavy and lacked salads and fresh food. By the end of our stay, we were eating out just to avoid the buffet. The breakfast buffet was equally horrible, with no brewed coffee, only an instant coffee machine. The town itself is touristy and consists of a long stretch full of hotels. I would stay in Tossa de Mar if we go back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank nkcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resita, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Delicious food, great cook.The room was ok, but the housekeeping didn't do her job (I hope only in our room).Good services at reception and good location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marius_hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

we went in june - husband and I ( age 47) - first few days we thought we were in a retirment home - to many older people. Nice staff but the poeple staying there were old and rude . There are better hotel in St Susan 15 min away stay there more events at night and more fun. The hotel bearly had night entertaiment- pool is in the shade side - no game video room opened- so not like what we read in details.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montrealsky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We arrived late at night to find a meal of salad and fruit waiting for us in the room. Nice room, very clean and adequate hanging and wardrobe space.. no problems with the cleanliness of the place. Housekeepers came in daily to change the towels (you have to leave the dirty ones on the floor so they know you need fresh ones) and make the beds and empty the bins/ashtray.
Breakfast is a good choice, cereals yogurt, hot drinks, cakes, croissant, fresh juices, ham and cheese slices and about 6 different types of bread for you to either toast or make sandwiches with. They also have a hot plate where you can get eggs, bacon etc. all in all the choice is more suited to the contenentals. The lad on the hotplate will make you an omelette if you ask. Very friendly dining room staff but the evening meal is a totally different story.. We went half board but only ate in the evenings three times. The meal itself was free but the drink/drinks had to be paid for as an extra even a glass of water which i found really cheeky! A glass of cervase/beer is 4 euros and a coke is 3.
There is an indoor pool which i couldnt get my teenager out of cos it was so lovely and warm but very small. The outdoor pool is freezing cold, you have been warned even when the sun has been shining on it all day.
It is ideally located for getting about though. ten minutes walk and you are at the train station. from there you can get to Blanes, (5 mins on the train) or going the other way Callella (15 minutes) Barcelona is 1hr 10mins away for 8 euros each return. brilliant value.
Tons of shops in the vacinity and there are quite a few decent eateries but the best we found was a british owned and run bar called Legends. We went there every morning for cups of tea and had our evening meals there most nights. The bar is run by mancunian Gary and his lovely mrs Sandra (or the ginger witch as he refers to her). The food there is stunning, but be warned dont order a meal unless you are absolutely starving because the portions are HUGE.
All in all we had a good time in Malgrat but the only thing that spoiled it for us was the beach, shingle not a grain of proper sand in sight. Yes i would recommend Malgrat to others but dont go half of full board cos its cheaper to eat out.. try Legends, Black Bull, but dont go in the Robin Hood, When we went in it was full of teenagers getting drunk on WKDs clearly about 12yrs old.
highlight though was seeing a brit's singing show. he tours the hotels putting on his show... go and see him if you see it advertised. Simon Grant.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna98663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Hotel very clean,staff are freindly and helpful,food not bad ,plenty of space around the pool and lots of beds.Entertainment was good and catered for all ages,bar closes around 1,0 clock.good chill out bars across the road where you can eat and drink next to the beach,some good shops.Took the train to Blanes and Barcelona they are cheap trips and didnt take long to get to,we had a room at the front of the hotel on the second floor it was very noisey in the early hours of the morning when the nightclubs closed and groups of youths making there way back,to me they didnt care who they woke up.noise from the trains was not a problem.malgrat isnt that bad but we wouldnt go back as its seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notts59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We just returned from our honeymoon in Spain. We stayed in a lovely little town on the Brava coast call Malgrat de Mar. Our hotel was the Tropic Park. From what we could see, walking up and down the strip, our hotel was by far the best. Many of the hotels had 'discos' attached and others catered to a much older crowd. This is a very lively little town with lots to do, for all ages.
Our experience with the hotel was good, overall. The hotel was obviously built in the sixties, and very well maintained on it's exterior and common areas. The rooms were a good size and clean and air conditioned! One concern about the rooms, the walls must be paper thin, as we could hear very clearly the conversations, soring, etc of our neighbours. We were concerned that our room may have smelled like smoke, but like I said it was clean. As it turns out our hotel was "non-smoking" a real gem in Spain if you as me. I would have liked a non-smoking area at the pool/bar as well. The property was extensive with lots of green areas and pools, and the beach was just a very short walk away. The train that traveled through Malgrat was no concern for us, it wasn't load at all. The only noise that really bothered us was the noisey disco patrons that moved through the streets between 3am and 5am, and the snoring from our neighbours.
The staff at Hotel Tropic were just wonderful(especially the front desk staff). We arrived to our hotel after an 11hour flight, plus the extra five hours or so for driving time and airport arrival, etc., needless to say we were tired and in need of a shower and some down time. We arrived at our hotel at 9am, and told we wouldn't get a room till 1pm, I was very upset! The staff at the Tropic were very quick to calm me down and do everything they could to get us a room sooner. We did finally get a room by 11:30am. The staff at this hotel continued to be outstandingly helpful and accomodating for our stay, and it was hard to find fault with them. I will speak to Transat, who arranged this package - as they need to make some better accomodations for their customers.
Our hotel package came with two meals each day, breakfast and dinner. The food was good, but breakfast was exactly the same everyday and we quickly became bored of the same thing and needed to go out and find other alternatives. Dinner was varied each evening and there was plently of selection for all, including a picky vegetarian like myself. As for coffee - a very important staple in our lives, a warning, they don't drink coffee like we do!!! The coffee in the morning with breakfast is barely edible, however we did find that you could get a good coffee at the hotel bar, "cafe americano". Another good option is a little cafe down the strip in Santa Suzanna called Stella's, coffee our style is called "cafe allamon", which is basically coffee and a little milk, sugar on the side. They had good food too!!
Another beef with Transat, if you are going to book a car rental, do it when you are in Malgrat and arrange it through your hotel, we didn't and it ate up an entire day of our trip because the best Transat could do for us was down town Barcelona. But do rent a car as there is just so much to do and see out of Malgrat as well! France is just a short drive away, Tossa de Mar, Besalu are beautiful. Use the train to get to Barcelona, it is super easy, however a little confusing when returning from Barcelona, but that just adds to the adventure.
We recommend that you do visit Malgrat and the Brava Coast and DO stay at the Hotel Tropic Park!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.2 km away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.5 km away
FERGUS Maripins
FERGUS Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rosa Nautica Hotel
Rosa Nautica Hotel
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 km away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina
#4 of 22 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.7 km away
FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania
FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 22 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Park

Property: Tropic Park
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 68, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Park 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Tropic Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Park Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Tropic Park Malgrat De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing