We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very disappointing holiday :(” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropic Park
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very disappointing holiday :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I should admit that this hotel is certainly not 4 star! How they sell it as a 4 star hotel is a mystery to me! I'd say that it looks like a dorm or a cheap hostel, maximum 2 and half stars. The inventory, furniture, carpets - everything is completely worn off, old, and needs renovation.
The room was quite dirty, the bathroom stinked and I couldn't use the sink to wash my cloths, since it was dirty and unhygienic. The rooms were "cleaned" everyday: they changed the towels, but we weren't sure, if the towels were hygienic enough to be used!
The balcony door was broken and we couldn't lock the room, but the reception was very flexible and immediately sent us a technican to fix it.
Our room was located in front of some heating station, which was buzzing all the time, so we never really opened the window because it was unpleasant to hear it.
The walls are very thin and you can hear every word said in the neighbouring room.
The restaurant was great and the food was delicious! We REALLY enjoyed the food, there was a huge variety of different fish, seafood, some backery. The staff was also very nice and pleasant. A little inconvenient timing: breakfast 8 - 10 am, lunch 13 - 14:15 pm, and dinner from 20:30 - 21:15. You can have all inclusive during lunch, but you have to pay extra for drinks during lunch and dinner.
The hotel has 3 swimming pools: one in front of the hotel, mostly used by kids, the other one is in the basement with the warm water, and the small one on the roof. Everything quite worn off and unattractive.
There are some activities and animations, for example you can do yoga, aerobic, even zumba dance. In the evenings it is quiet, no disco, unlike in the other hotels. I'd say it is the most quiet hotel in Malgrat.
In front of the hotel there is a supermarket.
The beach is about 5-7 minutes walk from the hotel, across the railway ( there is an underground crossing).
The only things I liked about the hotel is food and friendly nice staff, and I certainly feel terribly sorry for wasting so much money for the value this hotel certainly doesn't have!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    183
    79
    30
    16
See reviews for
206
198
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

... except maybe during my military service... We stayed at the Tropic Park in 2007, in july. Awful room, small, crowded and dusty. The dust was so old, that the drops of paint from the last renovation (which was not earlier than 2-3 years at that time) were UPON the dust layer. A smell of old and dusty in the room. Probably an excellent hotel back in 1980 or even early 1990's. The restaurant smelled just like I remember the mess-hall smelled during my military service: a mixture of old food, bug repellent, chlorine (which was actually quite encouraging- it meant somebody DID disinfect the place from time to time) and rancid fat.
To top things up, the seaview room actually meant "mainstreet view" room. That means the main road connecting Malgrat de Mar to Pinar de Mar, Santa Susanna, Callella and so on, with lots of traffic. Also, the main street in Malgrat. Lots of people especially in the evening. At around 20-21.00 in the evening the cigarette smoke was so thick that you didn't even have to bother about the mosquitoes any more. In the early hours (after 3.00 am) hordes of inebriated young people raising hell in the streets with no police to calm them down. Next to te main road there also was the railroad with high speed trains running up and down each 15 minutes or so. Furthermore, the beach was of very sharp gravels. You could only have access on it with solid footwear, no beach slippers or crocks. We spent our week visiting Barcelona (which is a good one hour by train away) instead of "bathing in the blue Mediterranean Sea" as advertised. All in all, if not for visiting Barcelona, which is a great city, a totally failed vacation. As for Tropic Park, I wouldn't go back if my life depended on it! A definite no-no! There is more to tell. Much, much more!

Room Tip: A tip? Don't go there! Not ever! Regardless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kostagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We travelled to Malgret de Mar in early June and stayed for 15 days, during which we stayed at Tropic Park. We loved this part of Spain, particularily the Costa Brava, Penedes and Barcelona. The only downfall to this trip was the hotel. It is most definetely not a four star. It is outdated and requires a serious facelift. I am not asking for the Hilton, but basic things such as air conditioning and descent entertainment would have been nice. Our room was facing the road and we did not sleep very well at all. By 1:00 am, the roads were populated with drunk college students, I felt like I was in Daytona! We tried to turn the air conditioning on to drown out the noise, but it was "turned off" and had to plead with the hotel staff to turn it on for us. Apparently, the AC is only turned on during July-September! As for the meal plan, the food was bland, heavy and lacked salads and fresh food. By the end of our stay, we were eating out just to avoid the buffet. The breakfast buffet was equally horrible, with no brewed coffee, only an instant coffee machine. The town itself is touristy and consists of a long stretch full of hotels. I would stay in Tossa de Mar if we go back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank nkcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resita, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Delicious food, great cook.The room was ok, but the housekeeping didn't do her job (I hope only in our room).Good services at reception and good location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marius_hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

we went in june - husband and I ( age 47) - first few days we thought we were in a retirment home - to many older people. Nice staff but the poeple staying there were old and rude . There are better hotel in St Susan 15 min away stay there more events at night and more fun. The hotel bearly had night entertaiment- pool is in the shade side - no game video room opened- so not like what we read in details.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montrealsky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We arrived late at night to find a meal of salad and fruit waiting for us in the room. Nice room, very clean and adequate hanging and wardrobe space.. no problems with the cleanliness of the place. Housekeepers came in daily to change the towels (you have to leave the dirty ones on the floor so they know you need fresh ones) and make the beds and empty the bins/ashtray.
Breakfast is a good choice, cereals yogurt, hot drinks, cakes, croissant, fresh juices, ham and cheese slices and about 6 different types of bread for you to either toast or make sandwiches with. They also have a hot plate where you can get eggs, bacon etc. all in all the choice is more suited to the contenentals. The lad on the hotplate will make you an omelette if you ask. Very friendly dining room staff but the evening meal is a totally different story.. We went half board but only ate in the evenings three times. The meal itself was free but the drink/drinks had to be paid for as an extra even a glass of water which i found really cheeky! A glass of cervase/beer is 4 euros and a coke is 3.
There is an indoor pool which i couldnt get my teenager out of cos it was so lovely and warm but very small. The outdoor pool is freezing cold, you have been warned even when the sun has been shining on it all day.
It is ideally located for getting about though. ten minutes walk and you are at the train station. from there you can get to Blanes, (5 mins on the train) or going the other way Callella (15 minutes) Barcelona is 1hr 10mins away for 8 euros each return. brilliant value.
Tons of shops in the vacinity and there are quite a few decent eateries but the best we found was a british owned and run bar called Legends. We went there every morning for cups of tea and had our evening meals there most nights. The bar is run by mancunian Gary and his lovely mrs Sandra (or the ginger witch as he refers to her). The food there is stunning, but be warned dont order a meal unless you are absolutely starving because the portions are HUGE.
All in all we had a good time in Malgrat but the only thing that spoiled it for us was the beach, shingle not a grain of proper sand in sight. Yes i would recommend Malgrat to others but dont go half of full board cos its cheaper to eat out.. try Legends, Black Bull, but dont go in the Robin Hood, When we went in it was full of teenagers getting drunk on WKDs clearly about 12yrs old.
highlight though was seeing a brit's singing show. he tours the hotels putting on his show... go and see him if you see it advertised. Simon Grant.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna98663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Hotel very clean,staff are freindly and helpful,food not bad ,plenty of space around the pool and lots of beds.Entertainment was good and catered for all ages,bar closes around 1,0 clock.good chill out bars across the road where you can eat and drink next to the beach,some good shops.Took the train to Blanes and Barcelona they are cheap trips and didnt take long to get to,we had a room at the front of the hotel on the second floor it was very noisey in the early hours of the morning when the nightclubs closed and groups of youths making there way back,to me they didnt care who they woke up.noise from the trains was not a problem.malgrat isnt that bad but we wouldnt go back as its seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notts59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.5 km away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.2 km away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.8 km away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Park

Property: Tropic Park
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 68, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Park 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Park Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Tropic Park Malgrat De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing