We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped house in beautiful location.
Loved getting the hand pulled boat back from the inn across the river under star-light. Kids loved flashing torches to get the boat over to our side.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almanzoba...
Basildon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Have been to the Wye Valley a number of times and never tire of the area, and as to the cottage, what a superb location right next to the river wye, with wild life all around. The cottage is so well equipped even down to binoculars to observe the many different birds, the garage containing 5 bikes, 2 kayaks, pool table,etc what more could you want, Great ! holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
footloose...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and very well equipped.”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was in a very good location for walks etc. It was very clean and well equipped. Wifi was an added bonus as phone signal is poor. Loads of books/games/sky etc. Will aim to return later in the year for a romantic break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathspeed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, cosy and very well equipped.”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay was perfect. The owner sent us an information brochure beforehand so we knew which things we did/didn't need to take. The house was lovely with amazing views of symmond's yat. Our little boy loved having a games room to play in, and I enjoyed relaxing evenings watching some of the many DVDs with the family. Everything you could possibly need was in the house, even plain flour - so I was able to make pancakes for breakfast! The area is stunning with so many things to do, we will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
43Allan
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, well equipped property in an excellent location”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The booking of the cottage was smooth and troublefree and an excellent information pack was sent from the owner in good time ahead of our stay .Directions to the cottage are accurate and easily followed. The cottage is clean and well equipped, though in comparison with our previous experiences we considered the kitchen to be a bit cluttered - too much equipment not normally associated with a holiday rental. We assumed access to the cottage could be gained via the garage ( a total assumption on our part) which was not the case and in consequence it is a "long haul" with luggage from the car, up the steps and along to the cottage entrance. Not a problem to us but could prove difficult for less able persons - perhaps a note to this effect could be included in the cottage description. The information available in the cottage advising of local beauty spots,recreational activities and food and drink locations is very good. My wife and I had a very relaxing, enjoyable stay in Symonds Yat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: The narrow access roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauradick...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much more than what we expected!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival my husband and I were delighted with the cottage and the views and location were just breathtaking!
We had our 6 month old twins with us which the cottage catered for exceptionally well.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the lounge was cosy for a family evening. We were able to cook our evening meals with ease as all utensils were available in the kichen.
The location was just perfect as we were just a short drive away from all tourist spots. Just a 5 minute walk from cottage we caught a boat for a tour along the river.
The only small thing I would change is the extremely sensitive smoke alarms which would go off even when ironing clothes ( however, we do understand that these are essential for a holiday letting) we just worried about disturbing te neighbours when ironing or cooking
THANKYOU for a beautiful stay, we will not hesitate to book again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duales
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accomodation in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Wyewood Cottage. We are an active family with a very active dog!! The area didnt disappoint as the walks were plentiful and on our doorstep. We made full use of the bikes (suitable for adults or age 11/12+) and the kayak. We were a little disappointed with King Arthurs cave but walking up to Symonds Yat rock was well worth the effort! We all loved Biblins rope bridge too. The weather wasnt great so coming back to the cottage was lovely,being so well equipped and cosy. We also loved the fact that we could use the washing machine with all the muddy clothes! Lots of steps so wouldnt be great for the elderly or disabled. Communications with the owner were excellent and he genuinely wants you to have a great time. Well we did, and the dog was worn out when we got home-result!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped,cosy with a beautiful view
Liked least: Loud stairs,
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing