We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped property with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr R. A
1 review
“Well equipped property with fantastic views”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled as a family with two teenage children.
Communication with the property owner prior to our stay was excellent and we were sent helpful property and area info a few weeks before we visited. Directions on how to find the property were clear and we found it without any problems.
There is a parking outside the property but as other reviewers have said there are quite a few steep steps from the car parking area to the front door which didn't cause us any problems but might do if we visit when we are older! The property is well equipped.
As a family we liked best the pool table/table tennis and darts all set up in the garage for our use. We also loved using the four bicycles provided and planned to use the canoes available but never got an opportunity unfortunately as the heavy rain made the water levels quite high during our stay. We also enjoyed relaxing in the evening by watching some of the DVD's provided. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need if you fancy cooking during your stay and the fridge freezer is a great size. The location is great for walks and cycle rides but it is very hilly so when we enjoyed a cycle ride down to the lovely Ye Old Ferrie Inn we would have to walk up the hill again with our bikes as it was too steep to cycle up! (Well for us anyway!)
Biblins Bridge is only a short walk or cycle ride away and so is the chain ferry across to Symonds Yat East. The views from the property are amazing.
The bedrooms were small but very comfortable with plenty of hanging and drawer space.
If there was just one thing that we could find fault with it would simply be that some of the living room and dining area seating is a little tired looking - perhaps some throws for the sofas would resolve this. Wifi was good in the property and there is a payphone. None of us could get a phone signal in the property - which was quite nice actually!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Table Tennis in the garage!
Liked least: The sofas - sorry !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie s
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wyewood cottage is a well equipped holiday home, right in the thick of it in Symonds Yat. The garage is full of loads of stuff to do, bikes, kayaks, table tennis and pool. You do need to be agile to stay here as there are steps up to the front door and the garden is also sloping, but the views are stunning and you are right in the middle of things. The woods are right on your door step and we saw deer one evening. The river is very busy and quite noisy with people enjoying themselves, but is still full of wildlife, we saw gooseanders, a snake swimming, as well as the usual heron, swans and loads of ducks diving in the weed.
The walks are good and varied straight from the door, which was great for us with the dog. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone else.
The climb up Yat rock is well worth the effort, the ferries are great and the local pubs on both sides of the river provide good food and plenty of choice with ales and cider

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise at the weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Very impressed that you saw Goosander at this time of year, hopefully they are a breeding pair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph H
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house with a fantastic location”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We absolutely loved our stay, the house was perfect with everything you could need for a few days away. The location was beautiful with a view of the cliffs from the windows and a short walk down to the river and some good pubs. There were lots of leaflets and information in the house too and we visited some nice places during our stay. The location was quiet and perfect to relax in. Would definitely recommend to others.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: decoration and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawSurrey
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A last minute booking but a lovely surprise. The cottage was in a great location for walks, cycling, eating and just sitting! We had relatively good weather and enjoyed the scenery. A very well equipped cottage, warm, good views and had everything you mught need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil F
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We took a short break at this holiday cottage, overlooking Symonds Yat. It is well located near Ross-on-Wye, just off the A40. The cottage was very well equipped and we didn't need to bring anything as the owner had thoughtfully sent us a brochure of the cottage setting out what equipment was available. Parking was plentiful and there was a double garage equipped with a number of bikes that we could use and table tennis and other games. The free WiFi was a bonus as mobile phone coverage in the area was very patchy.
We enjoyed our comfortable stay and would come again as the rental rate was very affordable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The full range of facilities available.
Liked least: It's a long way to the nearest shops - but not the owners fault.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go678180
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped house in beautiful location.
Loved getting the hand pulled boat back from the inn across the river under star-light. Kids loved flashing torches to get the boat over to our side.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almanzoba...
Basildon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and Superb Cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Have been to the Wye Valley a number of times and never tire of the area, and as to the cottage, what a superb location right next to the river wye, with wild life all around. The cottage is so well equipped even down to binoculars to observe the many different birds, the garage containing 5 bikes, 2 kayaks, pool table,etc what more could you want, Great ! holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing