We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage, location and customer service...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage, location and customer service from the owner.”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Having visited Wyewood Cottage for a week in September and discovering what a beautiful area it was in, we decided to find out what it was like in winter - and we certainly did that! We booked for a weekend and were due to leave on Sunday morning but it had snowed heavily overnight. We didn't want to risk the drive down the single track lane that gets you back to the main road. Before I could even contact the owner he texted me to say not to leave until we felt it was safe to do so. I replied to say that we didn't want to risk it and so could we book another night. He responded by saying 'no need to book, just stay', which we thought was brilliant and we were very grateful. So we had an extra day there which was a great adventure and it looked so beautiful in the snow. We trekked down to the shop in Whitchurch for more provisions (just to say it shuts at 12noon on Sundays and not 3pm as stated on its website) and then went to Ye Olde Ferrie Inn. There were three couples also snowed in there, and all the staff stayed on so that the pub could stay open. We ended up having a great time and getting to know visitors and locals alike. So I can't recommend the area highly enough. The cottage itself was warm and comfortable and has everything you'd need, and as I've said, the owner couldn't have been more helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, even with the snow.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SurreyBil...
Surrey
1 review
“Fishing trip”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fantastic cottage been ther twice now and will b back next year got everything we need fantastic place fantastic river .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Very happy to welcome you back in the future.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to see you return to Wyewood Cottage.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steph E
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend escape”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great location and great value for money. Didn't need to use the car for the whole weekend. Lovely walks straight from the house. The hand pulled ferry is a short walk away so you can explore either side of the river. Nice local pubs (especially the Saracens Head on the other bank). Generous owners for allowing the guests the use of the pool table/table tennis, darts and games. David was prompt and polite on answering any queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Very happy to welcome Steph back to Wyewood Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A clean, modern cottage accurately described by the owner in his listing (so can't understand how an earlier reviewer seemed to have such vastly differing expectations). There is a bit of wear and tear, but nothing too bad, which is just a reflection of it being a well-used holiday let. We had an absolutely brilliant time. I don't think I've stayed anywhere quite so beautiful in the UK. The property has amazing views over the Wye at the front and there are walks straight into the woods behind. The 2 pubs on the same side of the river (The Old Ferrie Inn and The Wye Knot) are within 15mins walk and were both friendly. Taking the rope ferry over to the nearest pub (The Saracen's Head) is great fun and the pub itself is lovely. It's a short drive to some interesting towns and sights. The garage with table tennis table and pool table is what made me book this place rather than others available in the same location - and it was a good move because we really enjoyed having an extra activity available and it was particularly handy on the one rainy afternoon that we had. I'd definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty166
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Has everything you would need.”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The property is in a unique location, situated on a high bank looking across to East Symonds Yat. It's reached by a very narrow, long, steep road with only a few passing places, so beware if you have a big car. Also, there are quite a lot of steps to climb to get up to the property and carry your luggage. The property is clean and well equipped, the beds are cosy. No shops within walking distance so need to bring everything you need. You can walk to Ye Olde Ferrie Inn or take the hand pulled ferry across the river to the Saracens Head, best to book at weekends if you want to eat there in the evening, the journey back at 10.30 p.m. was interesting no lights at all to help us on our way!!!! There were 2 days when it wasn't running because of high water. There are good walks from the door and plenty of places to visit. We had a very good holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would be happy to welcome you back at some future date.

Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing