We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, top spec accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pump House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grimmers2...
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, top spec accommodation”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed with friends, 2 couples (so had to draw straws for the double room!!). Ample parking and useful shed for the bikes... Lovely walks in the area and some great pubs near by. Accommodation was clean and fresh with beautiful views of the valley (once the mist had subsided!!).Would definitely stay again with the kids and would recommend to our friends. We liked the little touches e.g. printout of weather for the weekend left on the table & place-mat for the dog bowls, thx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautifully converted property with views across the river Wye. The owners have thought of every need you might have and catered for it. This is one of the most cleverly designed conversions I have ever seen making the most of the space available. It is in immaculate condition both inside and out and the garden is maintained to a very high standard. We loved the three different garden seating areas / patios each with their own unique views although the weather didn't allow us full use of them. Very clear instructions on how to use everything from the washing machine to the underfloor heating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like new and was immaculate
Liked least: The beds were a little hard for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Pump House and surrounding scenery is simply stunning.”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owners have worked so hard to make The Old Pump House what it is today. The house and garden are always immaculately presented with all the amenities you need. There's enough parking space for at least three cars.
Located in the valley below Symonds Yat Rock you can see and hear the River Wye running along the bottom of the garden, and the owls at night. There are some lovely walks from the house, castles to visit near by and plenty of places to hire canoes and kayaks. We have returned to The Old Pump House on several occasions and would highly recommend you booking your holiday or weekend here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and stunning scenery.
Liked least: Could do with a larger freezer for families who self-cater.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollysMum...
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation - a must stay !”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Well, what a lovely holiday ! There was me, my partner, our 7 year old daughter and our two dogs (Tink who is a Dalmatian and Pip who is a cockapoo). We arrived early and found Sue and Malcolm busy getting the property ready. They were quite happy for us to leave our car at the property while we went and explored ready to return at 3pm.

When we did return everything was ready for us. There was a pint of milk and some homemade jam in the fridge, a freshly baked loaf in the bread bin and some butter too. On the point of food I would say to take what you think you will need as there is nowhere to buy milk etc in Symonds Yat although there is a shop in Whitchurch (2 miles away). The bedrooms were lovely with everything you would need and the bathroom was very clean and has a large shower (no bath). There is also a downstairs toilet. The living room is comfy and the kitchen spacious. There is a washing machine in the shed half way down the garden and a washing line. The garden is lovely and the dogs really enjoyed it. If they really wanted to they could get out but they didn't, however we did have a doggy visitor one afternoon who had obviously got lost in the forest ! There is a table and chairs on the patio by the house, a picnic bench on the raised patio under the pergola and also a table and chairs at the bottom of the garden where you can see and hear the rapids, so plenty of places to sit and follow the sun ! All in all there is everything you need there and Sue and Malcolm have thought of things you may not have.

A little info you may find useful:
The forest is literally 10 steps from the property so the dogs did not need to go on their leads. It is about a 30 minute walk (quicker minus a 7 year old) to Biblin's Bridge (the Forestry Commission suspension bridge over the Wye) and then another 30 minutes back up the river to the Saracen's Head - so an hour's walk in total. It is a lovely walk and doesn't seem like an hour and is one we did several times during our stay. The Saracen's Head serves the most amazing food and the prices are no too bad either. The pie of the day is so tasty, whatever the filling happens to be ! They have picnic tables overlooking the river where you can sit with dogs and they are also welcome in the bar area if you want to eat inside. However I would book a table as they do get very busy. They love dogs and brought ours some treats out and gave them lots of fuss. You can get the hand ferry from the Old Pump House to the Saracen's Head. If you go out of the property and turn right, heading down a steep lane and then carry in walking you will find the steps to the ferry. All in all, including the crossing, that is about 10 mins. We also ate at Ye Old Ferrie in which is on the same side of the river as the OPH. It took about 15 minutes to walk there but is a nice walk. Hea the same way as to the hand ferry but just keep going and you will see it. They also welcome dogs but only on the areas where there are flagstones (as soon as you walk in by the bar). They also have lots of seating outside too. The food there is very nice too, although not as nice as the Saracen's (my opinion).

We walked to Monmouth (twice) and the best way to get there is to stay on the same side of the river as the OPH (i.e go past Biblin's Bridge, do not cross it). It talk about 2.5 hours and is a 15 mile round trip. It takes you through the forest along the river and there are some lovely sights to see. We had breakfast at a lovely café called Henry's (I think). Again dog friendly and they did the dogs a sausage each ! The walk to Monmouth from the other side of the river is not as good as I takes you away form the river.

My partner and daughter went canoeing which they enjoyed and it cost £14 for an hour, which was enough for them. You can do this at Wyedean which is a short walk from the Saracen's Head. They also do rock climbing etc and do day trips where they take you on a river safari type expedition.

All in all a fab holiday and we are looking to stay at The Old Pump House again next year and may even try and fit a weekend in this year. It is a real home from home and we felt relaxed the moment we settled in. Sue and Malcolm are lovely people and it seems nothing would be too much trouble for them.

This is one of the few reviews I have every done and the longest by far. Sorry if I have gone on a bit but hopefully you will find this helpful and enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

Kate, Dave, Holly, Tink & Pip x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Glad you all enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for leaving the property so clean, I don't know how you did it with 2 dogs. Look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Pump House soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn E
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in a spectacular location.”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our third stay in a row so The Old Pump House now feels like a home away from home. The house is immaculately presented with amazing views and is ideally located for walkers, cyclists and kayakers with walks quite literally starting on the tracks behind the property and the river at the end of the garden.

A couple of the best pubs nearby are the Saracen's Head just a short boat ride away across the river and the Moody Cow at Upton Bishop, the Royal Lodge is also worth a visit for the cream teas (pricey but generous portions), drinks and a lovely garden overlooking the river. Ross-on-Wye is a short car journey away and has a great range of shops, including bakers, butchers, organic fruit and veg shop and we particularly recommend Truffles deli.

If you enjoy river and woodland walks this is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, amazing views.
Liked least: The armchairs, not the comfiest.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseCra...
West Sussex
1 review
“Its a must stay AMAZING”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at The Old Pump House October 2014 Half Term
Great for out the door straight into the woods for walks and cycle rides great to visit monmouth and ross on the wye also if you like cycling canop cycles good for all ages accommadation is 5 star all kitchen equipment you need very clean beds comfy couldnt ask for any thing more well worth coming to stay , views are to die for straight from the sitting room thanks again wecwill return .
Jayne Mark Jac Ben Chase

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Whole Experiance
Liked least: only thing i can think of is the seating (sofa ) was a bit uncomfortable thats it
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay Jayne and family, look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter6020...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My sister and I had a weeks holiday at OPH in July. It was our second visit and both holidays were great. The location is marvellous, close to the river and with lots of great walks. The accommodation is very comfortable and the WiFi is a an excellent addition. The jam in the welcome pack was great. There are some excellent pubs on both sides of the river and we would recommend the Olde Ferrie Inn for quality and value.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing