We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chertsey
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crown Hotel(Chertsey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah Bed & Breakfast(Virginia Water)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
307
245
134
61
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
245
134
61
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfast trackcrash padwet roomrooms are smallmood lightingtheme parkair conbar and grillbunk bedstwo daysevening entertainmentfast passbig ridespark entryconverted shipping containersbottled waterfins restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on here I was a tad nervous about our stay but it was so much cheaper than staying in an offsite hotel. We knew the room was going to be small but it was well arranged and worked well for two of us (can see how it would be a bit cramped with a family of 4). I was really pleased to find there was a small window as I struggle to feel good in the morning without some natural light and can feel a bit trapped in. However while the natural light was sorted the air conditioning panel (which had to be kept on to reduce condensation) had a light which meant the room didn’t get fully dark and I slept poorly as a result. Another thing to watch out for is water escaping under the door from the shower. We also felt that the room could have done with a mat and the entrance as at first we walked with wet shoes and had to dry parts of the floor.

I agree with comments about the noise, it sounded at times like a herd of elephants was passing by our door and above us! I also agree with some of the comments about the food at Fin’s which was disappointing for dinner.

Overall it was a place to rest your head that was relatively comfortable and very convenient for the park.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Felicity C,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at The THORPE SHARK Hotel.

We are sorry to read that the A/C panel effected your sleep and that water was running under your wet room door, we do have a 24 hour reception team on hand to help if our guests require any help during their stay and would of been able to rectify this if they were made aware.

Please accept our apologies that the noise levels in the Hotel disturbed your stay. Unfortunately due to the nature and layout of the hotel sometimes noise can be amplified in the bedrooms however we do not intend for our guests to be affected by this during their stay. Please be assured your comments will be passed on to the Hotel Management Team.

Please also accept our apologies that unfortunately the meal you received in FIN’S Bar and Grill was not to your liking. Please be assured that this is not our normal level of presentation and your comments will be addressed with the Hotel Food and Beverage Manager as well as the Head Chef.

Once again thank you for taking your time to write your review.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this “hotel” for Easter and it was very poor, very very small, you can’t drink the water the uncomfortable beds are shocking, and it’s noisy. The whole setup just doesn’t work the way you have to bring your belongings in through the main entrance of the theme park is very impractical especially on check out when you have to go through the staff entrance down stairs with a pushchair?!!!.
The food setup also is pathetic, not only disgusting.
Overall they need to look at what works at chessington and apply it here!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sam H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review, we love to hear feedback from our Guests as this lets us know where to improve for the future.

Please accept our apologies that the size of the bedrooms did not meet your expectations. Our bedrooms are described as bite-sized and our websites show images, video and a floor plan which we feel give our guests an accurate portrayal of what to expect. We do not intend to mislead our guests in any way of the size of THORPE SHARK Hotel so thank you for your feedback with regards to this as this will now be reviewed.

Unfortunately due to the nature and layout of the hotel sometimes noise can be amplified in the bedrooms however we do not intend for our guests to be affected by this during their stay.

We are sorry that the meal you received was not up to your liking, and this will be passed on to our Head Chef.

For the Safety of all of our guests we conduct 100% searches and if any staff were made aware of you needing to exit the Resort they would of been more than happy to open a different exit for you.

All of your comments will be passed onto the relevant departments for them to review.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a 2 day ticket here
With hotel and it was brill
The hotel is very nice old shipping containers there really cool
Smart lights and tv
My daughter loved it the breakfast was good plenty of choice
And nice staff

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for your 5* review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The THORPE SHARK Hotel! We too love the JAWSOME breakfast and think it is a great way to start the day.

We hope you swim back soon to the Island Like No Other.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are old shipping containers and we found it fun. Double bed and bunk beds. Toilet shower and small worktop with kettle etc. Despite small accommodation it was modern and clean. As a family we enjoyed sitting together in the evening watching a film. So.... the reason we stayed in (apartment from 7 yr old twins) was that the restaurant ‘Fin’s bar’ is..... really dire. It is a sticky table type place.not enough staff, food bits on the floor and a menu consisting of over priced deep fried crap. It is a shame that this is what we are expected to eat from. Cheap food should have cheap prices. Hence, we travelled out the complex for two evening meals. Come on Thorpe Park, do not expect us to eat rubbish and overpay.... it is not good to do business like this and word spreads fast.
Hotel staff excellent, efficient and extremely helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bunjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bunjy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts as we consider any feedback that helps us improve the service we provide for our guests whilst also sharing your experiences with other guests so we can meet and hopefully exceed their expectations of our hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall!

Please accept our apologies that unfortunately the meal you received in FIN’S Bar and Grill was not to your liking. Please be assured that this is not our normal level of presentation or service and your comments will be addressed with the Hotel Food and Beverage Manager as well as the Head Chef.

Once again tank you for your review.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great first expirience of thorpe park and we drove from blackpool and was not disappointed. The staff on reception was really friendly when we arrived we was early but all the paper work was done and everything explained her customer service was fab!! We went back again later in the day to be allocated a room and we stayed in room 121 facing the lake. The rooms are tiny little rooms and kind of reminded me of a little cabin on a ship and is decorated in a shark theme it was cosy for just 2adults but I don't think it would be big enough for a family but that was not an issue for me.
The accommodation is made out of tin and so every noise can be heard from above people walking about etc... And the noise of planes is loud aswell but for the price you pay its a cheerful little place I've just pointed out the noise to be helpful to people reading this whom may be light sleepers or bothered by the noise I was not. Breakfast was good plenty of choice again included in the price of the hotel. So I would be happy to come again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank applehead87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear applehead87,

Thank you for your 5* review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass your kind words to the Reception team.

Please accept our apologies that the noise levels in the THORPE SHARK Hotel disturbed your stay. Unfortunately due to the nature and layout of the hotel sometimes noise can be amplified in the bedrooms however we do not intend for our guests to be affected by this during their stay. Please be assured your comments will be passed on to the Hotel Management Team.

We hope to welcome you to the Island like no other soon!

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews