We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic one night stay during hiking trip”
Review of Newtonmore Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newtonmore Hostel
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hostel whilst hiking the East Highland Way - it was an AMAZING place to stop after a few wet days. Excellent drying room, host (Alison) was absolutely lovely. All rooms were clean and kitchen was well equipped. All in all, fantastic value for money! Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonmoreHostel, Owner at Newtonmore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review and we hope your last few days on the EHW were a bit drier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Our 3rd time as a motorcycle club staying here. What can I say "SUPERB". We booked the whole hostel again and no doubt we'll be back again next year. Plenty of bike parking space, logs for the fire, tea, coffee etc

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Warm and welcoming hostel with plenty of space and comfortable bunk style beds. The Showers are hot and work well with ample toilets etc. Made to feel very much at home by the hosts were are walkers themselves.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

lovely setting, fantastically dog friendly and excellent value for money. we ate breakfast outside in the garden amongst the Ali gave us lots of good information about hiking. would definitely recommend as a value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lesmagsampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I and my son stayed in one of the rooms in the main house with use of the hostel during our Scottish adventure holiday this year. Ideal place for us as very close to outdoor activities. Top hospitality from Neil and Sue. Lots of places to eat out if like me not big on cooking after being out all day!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NEnoch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Stayed here and extended my stay to 4 days... Great facilities, fully equipped kitchen, with a great communal area, hot showers, comfy beds and a "Super" drying room! Located very handily for a whole range of Munros, local walks, activities and attractions.... Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and "Ally" (mine hostess!), very knowledgeable about all things local, walking and cycling! The mixed bag of fellow travellers, walkers, cyclists made for a jolly company and merriement.
Well worth trying to book (in advance, to avoid dissapointment!) a little gem for all that like the great outdoors

Room Tip: Book in advance... this hostel is on may walking adn cycling routes across the Cairngorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Earl_of_Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

A great budget stay. This is basically a hostel, the hostel rooms of which are located in a wooden building behind the traditional stone house on the High Street. I've stayed in the hostel and it is comfortable and well equipped for walkers and other outdoor people, good drying facilities and so on.

The hostel does have two room inside of the house building. This is not a B&B (there is no breakfast) and the room in not en-suite but it is very comfortable and the hosts very welcoming. A very good budget option — either in the host or the house.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecotrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
1 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
690 reviews
0.1 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
7 km away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 7 in Newtonmore
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
8.7 km away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
22 reviews
0.5 km away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtonmore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtonmore Hostel

Address: Craigellachie House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel sleeps 10-12 persons in 3 bunk-bedded rooms. There are three toilets and showers, a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area with a wood burning stove, and an excellent drying room. We also have dry secure overnight storage for bikes. We're dog lovers and try hard to accomodate our canine freinds. Please ring us if you want to bring your pet along.Standard price is £20 per person per night, the entire hostel from £180 per night. Newtonmore is a small highland village in the Cairngorm National Park. It has good ameneties including several pubs serving bar food and a restaraunt as well as a well stocked Co-op for those who wish to self cater. If you are not spending your days walking climbing, cycling or skiing there are plenty of local attractions includinfg the Highland Folk Museum and a short drive away is the Highland Wildlife Park. The "Wildcat Experience" experience goes down well with children - there are over a hundred lifesize models to find around the village and you can spot your first one from the hostel window. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newtonmore Hostel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing