We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pipers Cottage

Cosy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy cottage
Hot tub! Large garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cosy cottage
Hot tub!
Large garden
Breathtaking view
Bedroom
Stunning in the snow
Log burning fire
Garden with hot tub summer house
Lounge
Entrance Driveway
Kitchen
Twin Gallery Bedroom
Welcome Stone
Lounge
Garden in the snow
One of the stunning views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ross I
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brilliant little cottage in the middle of the Cairngorms National Park. Fantastic views all around and all the comforts required for an excellent break away.

The location is fantastic for anyone wanting to spend time out of the rush of the city and day to day life - with close proximity to many great walking routes, the Laggan Wolftrax mountain bike trails, as well as other great activities. With the stunning views all around, it was hard to be disappointed wherever we went.

After a long day out in the hills, being able to come back to a hot tub that looks out across the picturesque mountain scape. Having the real log fire inside made it really comfortable to dry off afterwards in the comfort of the living room. All of the little things together just made this a wholly amazing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We loved the authenticity of the cottage with the hot tub in the outhouse. We went to laggan bike trails which were great fun. We also visted the town of Newtonmore for dinner and had a lovely meal. All round relaxing trip and would happily return!

many thanks,

Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, a new favourite”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Pipers cottage is a little gem. My partner and I were really looking forward to getting a little break away after a very busy few weeks at work. The cottage did not disappoint. What a beautiful little property which has been done up really well. I have to take my hat off to the owners who have got it just right, the hot tub set up is fantastic having sky TV available in the tub area is genius. During the evening was it was idyllic, we sat in the hot tub whilst the snow fell which was stunning.

The real fire was a god send, we had that going full tilt from the afternoon through to late evening. The cold November air did take hold as there is no double glazing. This was not a problem as the snow made the stay even more enjoyable. The kitchen is small but fine for what we used it for, one thing I would say is the fridge doesn't keep things cold just cool. We kept the milk outside as it was colder out there.

It was so easy to get to the next town for some shopping (gin) and easy to get to Aviemore for the day. The Funicular railway was brilliant and would recommend it to everyone. We also took a nice walk round Loch an Eilein, again, this was stunning, the castle in the water was beautiful. The only thing I would say is make sure you have change for the car park. We didn’t realise you had to pay for parking.

Thank you so much! And really, what a hidden gem! We will be back and recommended it to all of our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark1975Q...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pipers Cottage stay relaxation at it's best!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife stayed at pipers Cottage for 3 nights for my 40th birthday. Having such hectic lives I was looking for somewhere that was peaceful and secluded. I stumbled across Pipers Cottage by accident one night and booked it straight away. It did not disappoint. The mixture of old style cottage with mod cons such as wifi and sky TV was just perfect. The cottage was small but we'll equipped exactly what I was looking for. The extra large Hottub in the garden summer house next to the cottage was fantastic and visited that daily. The town of newtonmore was about a 10 minute drive from the cottage and has a decent sized coop for anything required. I would definitely recommend this to anyone especially for couples looking for a getaway although does have a couple of single beds and sofabed for kids or extra guests. All in all I will definitely be looking to go back. If you come across this don't hesitate or look elsewhere just book it!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting and Hot Tub
Liked least: The Rain!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wully P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved this wee cosy cottge”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Awesome!! Pipers cottage is perfect for a quiet get away. We stayed for a eek end and never left. The scenery is fab and the hot tub is the icing on the cake. Also the owner is very friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous little cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a 3 night weekend break, little quant cottage with everything u need for a very quiet, peaceful relaxing break, loved the outside firepit a most of all the hot tub. Will recommend this to all my friends and family x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janw844
Insch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but if your tall avoid ”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my partner booked this cottage for a few days to get away from our busy lives. The cottage it's self if lovely however if your taller than 5 foot 5 I would say mind you head. It is located on a busy road and as it has single glazing you can hear the traffic, there were a lot of lorries driving up and down. The cottage is a Two up two down, and has a kitchen /living room in one, with everything you need, bar a washing machine, there is Sky TV, DVDs and games. One sofa which was very in comfy as its a pull out bed also and a single chair. It sleeps 4 so not sure where the 4th person would sit. There is also a dining table folded away that you can use too but we didn't take
It out, as trays where also provided. The bathroom is little and has an electric shower, however at 5 foot 4 I did struggle to get my head under the shower head as it was very low down, the cottage dose have low ceilings. We only got one set of towels for 5 days, don't know about anyone else I would have like a few more towels. The cottage has no central heating, but storage heaters and electric radiators, also an open fire, we didn't use the fire as the cottage was warm Enough when we where there, but I would think in winter it would be cold as is an old stone cottage. Upstairs (very steep more like step ladder) there is two single beds and a double room, the double room has a TV that is linked to the TV in the living room. There is two sets of drawers up stairs but no hanging room for clothes. Bed comfy and plenty of bedding electric blanket etc. there is wifi also available all included in the price. The cottage was clean, had some what looked like burns in the carpet down stairs and cream carpet in living room could do with a shampoo.
Outside there is a lovely table for sitting at and eating. There is a tyre swing and a hot tub in a summer house. BRING MIDGE REPELLENT! The hot tub sits 6 and also has a TV in the summer house that you can link sky too. Unfortunate the hot tub seem to have some sort of scum round the edge where the water sits when we where there, not sure if it's normal but it put us of using the hot tub which was a shame as it a lovely tub with lights and jacuzzi etc. bathrobe provided but no extra towel so also a bit of a .
However did we enjoy our stay? Absolutely, would we go back? maybe, the busy road really did put me off, and the hot tub. Has lots of character and is very cosy. Have a look and make your mind up.

I would say the cottage is most suited to couples. The stairs are very steep and I would be worried a child may fall down them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing