We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good outdoors sports base”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed one night our room was comfortable, warm plenty of hot water and very clean there was the usual tea coffee etc what more could you ask for. The food was ok not fine dining but adequate. We think this hotel is a good value base for outdoor sports enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twonighttourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I booked another dinner, bed & breakfast weekend at the Highlander Hotel as we'd really enjoyed our previous stay. Very nice to be remembered at check-in and we were again pleased with our room. Enjoyed the food, enjoyed the service and overall it's great value for money in an ideal location for a range of activities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 94,009,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just back from another wee break at the Highlander, this now being our 7th in as many years, blessed with the weather, and as usual thanks to Cynthia and the staff for another great time.
Staying in the Annex building this time which appears to have been recently painted, with new washbasin/toilet, large room, excellent heating, not a power shower but plenty hot water and pressure. Hearty cooked breakfast to start the day, waiting staff as usual, very attentive, always asking if more toast/coffee needed.Anyone on a b/b deal can now order evening meals eaten in the bar area, which we did 1 night and although limited choice, was excellent. Room cleaned to high standard on return and good bath towels. We use the Highlander as a base to explore area and most of the time arrive back late, so don't tend to use excellent large residents lounge, or bar.
We booked this visit through a newspaper promotion directly with hotel owners at a special rate.

Anyone looking to do the same, this offer available to end of May.
Its a minimum 2 night stay for b/b which works out at £39 per night per room.
Go to Oxfordhotelsandinns.com
Find Highlander hotel on list
Choose dates and where it says Promo code, enter MAIL11
Click availability
If available off you go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

hotel was clean and staff were friendly, room was large and warm, meals were adequate nothing to write home about. bar and reception was not always staffed but did not have to wait long to get served a good location to use to tour from. no entertainment at nights. the room we were allocated was in another building from the main area so if it was had to go though the car park to get our meals

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Took the family for a half term skiing break with Ski norwest, hotel is a bit on the basic side but clean and warm, food excellent, good choice each breakfast and evening meal, everything was nice and hot and well cooked, staff very helpful and cheery, hotel itself is sadly looking a little dated in its decor but for what we required (a place to eat and sleep) fulfilled every requirement, sadly people in the adjacent room were unwell one night and it could be heard in our room otherwise we were left nice and quiet, beds were very comfortable, my Girls easily complain if they are not, not a murmur heard on that front.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here on a budget on a snowboarding wknd on the Cairngorms.
Our weekend collided with a "Young Farmers Confernce"
Checking was easy, the staff more than accomodating and very helpful and apologetic for the young farmers!
Our 3 rooms wee basic but had tea and coffee, they were nice and large and had a good spacious bathroom. They did lack a bath which would have been nice after a day on the slopes but had a powerful shower.
We only had breakfast but htere was plently to help yourself to and then a fresh cooked full monty and porridge on top too.
Would stay here again as for the price it was great and the staff we so great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Staff great, good food, very clean. Could do with a bit of updating but really good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.5 km away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
1.1 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
4.2 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
35.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
21.5 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing