We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elmhirst Resort- A Special Place”
Review of Elmhirst's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmhirst's Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elmhirst Resort- A Special Place”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Elmhirst Resort this weekend and had a lovely time. Lovely accommodation, with great beds, linens and more than enough towels. There is adequate cooking utensils in the kitchen, you might want to bring a couple of extra pots and pans if you intend bigs meals and the oven is on the smaller size (just so you know LOL). Free firewood at your disposal as is the stunning view. The Sunday Brunch is a must !! We had a couple of issues with our cabin and a quick call to the front desk and they were sorted out immediately. This is our 3rd year going and 8th Sunday Brunch....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    54
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
41
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Owners went above and beyond to create a once in a lifetime gathering for 27 women. The conservatory was the hub for socializing and activities but the winter wonderland grounds(and lake) were the highlight in affirming why we live in Southwestern Ontario. Great to have the casual relaxation of the welcoming cottages yet the opportunity to treat oneself to sumptuous meals and spa treatments.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thanks to you and also to "LOVEfoodLOVEwine" for such a warm and heartfelt posting. We felt honoured to have the opportunity to host such a fabulous occasion. It reminds one of all the reasons one loves the hospitality business to be amongst guests who are so genuinely happy to be together. Congratulations to you once again on your birthday and for having so many exceptional friends to share it with. We are so very happy the occasion was what you were hoping for.

Best wishes for many more happy times with your friends.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just had a WONDERFUL weekend at Elmhirst's celebrating a dear friend's birthday. Could not have been better. The food and service was fantastic, Martina's massage at the SPA was incredible. A beautiful setting, and a winter wonderland. Sunday Brunch is not to be missed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEfoodLOVEwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I celebrated my 60th birthday with 26 girlfriends this past weekend at Elmhirst Resort ..... OMG .... it couldn't have been ANY better! Anne and her team anticipated everything my guests and myself could possibly want .... right down to a picture perfect winters' day (especially difficult to pull off this year!). We enjoyed fabulous spa treatments, delicious food (OMG the food), such comfortable beds in all our cozy cottages, and great fun on our scavenger hunt (not competitive at all) ..... horse drawn sleigh rides beside a picture perfect Rice Lake near sundown. Having our own common room for our own planned activities worked so well in the Conservatory too! Many many thanks to Peter and Anne and all the wonderful staff at Elmhirst's Resort for helping to make my birthday extra special for all of us!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
1000 pardons, I thought I was addressing the guest of honour with the response to Laurel M's posting (I thought a nom de plume perhaps....). Once again it was a wonderful event to be a part of and we feel honoured by the opportunity. Best wishes for many more good times with your friends. My Grandma always said if you have one true friend you have lived well; you have clearly lived very well indeed....Congratulations and many happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If you are considering a family friendly resort, a weekend getaway for two, a girls weekend or a spa getaway that offers full spa treatments and services, exercise room, sauna, indoor/outdoor pool and games room. Here you'll find excellent cuisine in both the restaurant that overlooks Rice Lake or the pub, consider the Elmhirst family at Elmhirst's Resort. The Sunday brunch is outstanding! This family resort is situated just outside Peterborough on some 200+ acres where you will enjoy home grown angus beef, free range eggs and meet the sweetest horses (also available for trail rides). Family owned and operated all the staff are considered family to the Elmhirst's and that includes their guests. Come just once and you'll know what I'm talking about. Open year round this resort has plenty to offer in all seasons.

Room Tip: All of the cottages have full bathrooms, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms, kitchens are full size kitchens with fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queeniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Elmhirst's. I means a great deal to us when guests notice all the attributes of the resort and it makes a good impression. And thanks as well for noticing the "family touch" we try and put on the property. Most of the family members on the Elmhirst's team live right on site and try to share their love for the place with the guests. Practically all the staff live close by and are like neighbours. We appreciate your support and confidence; we think we offer a good experience but its uplifting and confidence inspiring to hear when guests notice.

Can't wait to see you back at Rice Lake soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our family spent the Thanksgiving long weekend at Elmhirst resort and we’ve had an excellent stay. We have got a cottage with two bedrooms, king size beds and two bathrooms, one with shower the other with Jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was fully equipped, including even a small dishwasher. The cottage also had flat screen TV and DVD player, free internet - each cottage has its own WiFi router. There was also a fireplace and wood was supplied. Everything worked well for us with few minor exceptions like one toilet tank continuously running or BBQ ignition not working but we were able to deal whit these ourselves. All cottages are close to water edge and the view is gorgeous. There are lots of activities available but we wanted to relax so we’ve only rented the pontoon boat and spent a peaceful afternoon on the lake. We did not use the restaurant but we’ve only heard good thing about the food. The staff is friendly and helpful, I have to mention Wilma at the front desk who makes you feel welcome from the first minute there. Overall we had a wonderful long weekend and strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank r_crusoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback about your Thanksgiving stay. We were certainly blessed with a wonderful weekend which always helps people enjoy the property that much more. I think the fall colours were also at their peak that weekend; a real postcard worthy time. It was a great call to get a little boating in. Wilma was thrilled to be mentioned by name in your review and we are fortunate to have an ambassador like her.

Thanks again for joining us and we will look forward (especially Wilma) to seeing you again soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A group of about twenty colleagues and I spent a couple of days at Elmhirst's for a day of work-related presentations and various discussions. I have to say that I was extremely impressed by the accommodations, the food, and the hospitality shown by everyone there. I found the restaurant to be the highlight of the place. We were there for two suppers, two breakfasts, and one lunch. The dinners were both really excellent, with food that was flavorful and plentiful. They take the locavore thing pretty seriously there, to the point of serving up beef from their own cows one night. That beef was as good as any I've had in a very long time. The wine list is extensive, reasonably priced, and devoid of any bottles from any place other than Ontario. I loved this approach, and we ended up drinking a number of wines from small, local producers that I doubt can be found anywhere outside the province. I'd not had any experience with Ontario wines prior to this trip and I was very impressed. Breakfast and lunch were both served buffet style. Breakfast was pretty standard fare, while the lunch they served was a real feast.

The meeting room we had was well-suited to our needs. There was a projector with a screen, a big table, and snacks and coffee were provided.

The cottages were quite nice and clean, albeit rustic. Ours had two bedrooms and one bath upstairs and a bedroom/bathroom downstairs. There was a full kitchen and a nice little living room with flat screen TV, DVD player, a fireplace, a lake view, and comfy furnishings.

There were a number of services available that I didn't take advantage of, including guided trail rides and a spa. Several other members of our group spoke highly of both of these. I did manage to get in some short walks around the lake, though, and it was beautiful despite some marginally lousy weather.

What really made the place special was the friendliness of everyone connected with the place - both owners and staff. Peter Elmhirst and his son Greg were there to help with wine choices and just to check in on how things were going while the rest of the staff seemed willing to do whatever it took to make sure we were happy with our stay. Our entire group was wow'd by this experience and I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one who will be looking to come back to take a real vacation at Elmhirst's.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikefil58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you very much for your kind feedback after your recent meeting at Elmhirst's. It certainly helps one focus on work if there is something to sustain the body and mind afterwards. Our team was particularly gratified to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and that you found value in the defining idea we try to incorporate in all we do; provide the best we can in local food, wine and experiences with genuine hospitaliy presented by our family and nieghbours.

With over 100 wineries in Ontario and counting there is lots more to experience in the cellar if you have the chance to return....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
16.0 km away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
23.3 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
17.4 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.2 km away
Highland View Resort
Highland View Resort
#2 of 2 in Keene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
35.2 km away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhirst's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhirst's Resort

Property: Elmhirst's Resort
Address: 1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Otonabee-South Monaghan > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhirst's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside cottage resort open year round. Fully equipped cottages with fireplace, kitchen, TV & DVD, wifi in cottage; BBQ deck & dock. Dining room & Pub on site; indoor & outdoor pools; boat & motor rentals; fishing guides; golf next door; tennis; sightseeing flights; horseback riding; walking & biking trails. Massages & Spa services. Guided ATV & snowmobile safaris; wine tasting & farm visits. Ideal for family vacations, getaways, weddings, groups & corporate meetings. Family owned & operated. Catering to international guests. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elmhirst's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhirst`s Hotel Keene
Elmhirsts Hotel Keene
Elmhirst's Resort Keene, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing