We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
0
4
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
4
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2015

Very simple cabins, with bathrooms outside. Hot water and a kitchen were you can do your own meals. But he place is fantastic!; beautiful. There some nice trails up the mountain, were you can see all the bay and little islands, you can kayak, you can just seat around and enjoy. Very nice place to enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LyssMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieRohlfs, General Manager at Otter Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Hello,
Thank you for the lovely review. You are correct, these cabins are a spectacular access point to Kachemak Bay State Park where you will have hiking trails, spectacular bays, and fantastic views all at your fingertips. Kayak rentals are available as singles or doubles if you have cold water paddling experience. Call our offices for details 800-426-6212.
Best Regards,
Natalie Rohlfs
Homer Ocean Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2015

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. The cabins themselves are similar to public use cabins, except they have electric and heat. My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Otter Cove Resort. June 18th - June 21st. Good sized cabins with electricity, heat and a picnic table inside. All have small decks with table and chairs. Access to a wash house on site with hot showers and flush toilets! Take a few dollars for the showers. Cook shack near the beach with refrigerator, stove, grill, pots, pans, utensils, nice deck, tables and chairs. Potable water available at the cook shack for drinking and washing your dishes. No food available as the restaurant is closed. Bring sleeping bags, towels. We did one day guided kayaking with Tyler, which was great. We went kayaking the second day on our own. Great outing for couples, singles, families, or small groups. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Cabins nearer the water have better views. Cabins up the hill have easier trek to the bathrooms. They are all the same inside.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieRohlfs, General Manager at Otter Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you for the review Bella,
This is a very accurate snapshot of our offerings at Otter Cove Resort. One small difference I would like to point out for readers is that the public use cabins do not have the loaded cook shacks, potable running water, firewood, or bath houses available. The way in which you structured your kayaking trips, taking a guided trip before before striking out on your own, is highly recommended for beginners or those wanting some supervised experience on the local water.
Best Regards,
Natalie Rohlfs
Homer Ocean Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This cabin was a quick 20 minute water taxi ride across Kachemak Bay from Homer. The cabins were clean but sparse--two bunk beds with double beds on the bottom. Thin plastic covered mattresses. Each cabin had a picnic table inside, shelving, and a table and chairs on the covered deck. They have two cabins right by the water and two back in the woods.

Cooking is done in a communal cook-shack, which left a lot to be desired. The stove hadn't been cleaned ever, I don't think, and the deck for the cook-shack was sagging (it was on stilts at the water's edge). It's a little bit annoying to have to walk quite a ways just to make morning coffee, and then jockey for space on the stove with 3 other cabins full of people. There was a fridge and a microwave.

The showers were warm. They've given up on the "coin-op" showers noted by another reviewer, and instead you just pay a few dollars for your shower.

Hiking was great--there was an easy trail accessed by the property, and we gathered gallons of highbush blueberries.

All in all, it was a fun trip, since we've not been to this part of Kachemak Bay before. However, we'll probably opt for better furnished cabins in the future (small cooktop and water in cabin).

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank squeek022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Otter Cove Resort cabins! We appreciate the feedback and really do take it into consideration. You'll be happy to hear that we have completely revamped and rebuilt our cook shack- complete with new appliances, a nice large deck for grilling, and so much more. We would love for you to come check it out during your next Alaskan adventure!
Have a great day,
Ashley
Homer Ocean Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Located on stunning Otter Cove across from Homer, AK. Take water taxi to the dock. Two cabins on the property, each split down the center to house 2 different parties. Each side of the cabin is equipped with 2 bunk beds, the bottom bed of each is a double bed. No lines or towels provided, bring your own. A very nice lodge/restaurant sits on the property but has been closed for a few years giving a feeling of the movie "The Shining"...somewhat creepy. The bath house is separate and a shower costs upwards of $8 once the tokens are secured from the staff which aren't readily available. A small beach at the property allows minimal beach combing, but kayaks can be rented for $40 a day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2006

The kayaking in Kachemak Bay was great!
We stayed at Otter Bay Cove Resort, on the opposite side of Kachemak Bay from Homer, AK. It's run by Homer Ocean Charters (they also do fishing charters). The kayaking equipment is quite good, but unless you are sure that you know what you're doing, you should also book a guide.
The cabins are attractive, clean and adequately heated. The kitchen facilities for cabin people are marginal but OK. The restaurant is very good. Water taxi service was very good, and apparently can be arranged to local destinations as well.

Wildlife was abundant. The weather was about what you'd expect on the coast (it rained off and on, but nothing horrible, as long as you know how to dress for it.) If you are going without a guide, be sure to get a tide table!!!! and know how to use it.

It was beautiful. It was exciting. And it was wonderful to come back to a good restaurant after a long day.

And by the way, the halibut fishing charter boat picked us up from the resort dock and delivered us back there, and arranged to handle the fish in Homer for us until we got back.

We stayed 4 days. I'd definitely go back.

5  Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieRohlfs, General Manager at Otter Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for the kind review,
It is truly lovely throughout the state park and Otter Cove is a true gem. The cabins as mentioned provide basic amenities but the park is the real star. Thank you for mentioning the need to use a guide for beginning kayak adventures. We do have kayaks available for rent for boaters who are experienced in cold water. For those who are less confident or just want someone to plot the course we have guided kayaking for $160 per adult per day which includes complimentary water taxi service from Homer to and from Otter Cove. For those of you looking to pair a cabin stay with a guided kayaking trip you'll save a few dollars as your trip to and from the resort will then be complimentary. As a final thought for those reading this older review, the restaurant is unfortunately no longer open but the property otherwise remains the same. Call us with any questions about the space or kayaking at 800-426-6212
Best Regards,
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews