We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$335
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$335
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$328
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$335
Preferred HotelsUS$394
TravelocityUS$335
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
33
14
4
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
14
4
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool beautiful hotel top floor make reservations limited menu hotel restaurant bed was very comfortable surf shop overlooking the ocean liberia airport pura vida andrea architecture balconies town development concept
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2021

We had a beautiful room with an ocean view. The hotel is equipped with a pool and a wonderful attentive staff. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, the food was excellent. It is currently very quiet and looks like there are plans for further development.We did not have a car but there is taxi service and a bike rental on the property

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gkcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2021

Dear Mr. Cummings:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with others, on behalf of Santarena Hotel team , thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon again.

Stay Light

Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2021

Make sure you rent a 4 x 4 to get here. Loved this little town, our hotel, the beach. Lovely cafe on the beach. Not crowded. Really fun surf for swimming. It kind of reminded me of small Italian neighborhoods I walked through. Cobble streets and Stucco buildings.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie13410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear Debbie:

Greetings from Santarena!

We appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back very soon when travels bring you back in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Andrea Arroyo
Chef Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2021

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Smiles all the time. The hotel is so beautiful and well designed. I took pictures of the property to share with my friends. I've been in over 100 hotels and this one is rememberable for the design. Room was spacious and well laid out.

This is going to be a great place but not there yet. This is a construction zone. I was woken up on Sunday morning at 8 am by the sound or rebar being cut 30 yards from my room. Downtown Chicago is quieter on a Sunday morning. This goes on throughout the day including weekends.

The lack of cars in the town is great, but not when you are a visitor. The walk to the valet to get your car is five minutes from the front door. It's not at the hotel front door,but outside at another building. It's so inconvenient especially if you are going in and out of the property. The valet staff is great but your car is literally outside the front door of the hotel in a lot and you have to walk across town to the valet.

Flies are a bit of a problem by the outside dining and beach area. There are open garbage cans with no lids all over the place. I hope that's a quick fix.

I would come back to this hotel in a few years. I think it will have it's issues sorted out and will be a beautiful place to stay. Just give it some time.

Room tip: Bring a noise cancelling machine with you.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CASECHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear Casechi:

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Santarena Hotel. It was
truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.


Thank you for staying at Santarena Hotel -Las Catalinas and we hope you choose to create more memories with us wherever your travels bring you back to Playa Danta.

Sincerely,

Andrea Arroyo
Chef Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2021

Las Catalinas feels like a non-resort resort town and Santarena Hotel is a lovely place to stay whilst there. The town and hotel mention a lot of wellness offerings but found that these aren't as available. The local spa in town was closed and the hotel doesn't offer any yoga or wellness otherwise even though it's marketed. Highly recommend yoga with Zoe (@zoevidaom on Instagram) and massage with a local Socorro (contact details can be provided by Zoe).

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vivanthitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear Vivian:

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.


Thank you for staying at Santarena Hotel -Las Catalinas and we hope you choose to create more memories with us wherever your travels bring you back to Playa Danta.

Sincerely,

Andrea Arroyo
Chef Concierge


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas. When we checked in (Dec 6, 2020) we were the first/only guests in the past 8 months. We basically had the hotel to ourselves for the first night until a few other guests started trickling in. The service was excellent! The GM, Diego, was very attentive and helpful making sure we had everything we needed. Andrea at the front desk set us up with daily adventures and was very helpful with advice on what to do! (Congo Trail zipline and ATV tour, hikes, kayaks, snorkeling, ect.) The food at the hotel was outstanding! The complimentary breakfast was the best "free" breakfast I have eaten. The fruit bowl was so good every day! When we weren't on an adventure we spent our time at the rooftop infinity pool drinking buckets of beer and champagne watching the the sunset.. Our room was clean, comfortable and modern. I will be returning to Santerena on our next visit to Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YourHeynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Santarena Hotel.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.


Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at Las Catalinas Town and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Costa Rica.

Sincerely,

Andrea Arroyo
Chef Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews