We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dove's nest a great place to stay quiet country road stayed here for nights feel at home cathy stratford windbreak farm conversation garden veranda house play hospitality ontario shows
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 26 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2014

For our trip to Stratford, Ontario, I wanted to find a place to stay that would offer comfort in a setting that we could meet local folks. I happened across Windbreak Farm, and Bob and Kathy Hutson, and I'm so glad I did.

Their home a well kept authentic farmhouse - gardens with both flowers and vegetables, and a barn with two horses (Misty and Red) and barn cats, which my daughter just loved! Kathy is an outstanding cook (best food anywhere in the Stratford area, in my opinion) as well as a gracious host, and Bob is a woodsman, skilled at both woodworking and selling firewood as well. They opened their home to us, and made us feel like old friends. What could be better?

If there is any downside to this place, then I should say that you need to be prepared for the drive into Stratford, if you're there for the theater festival. Small sacrifice for the best place to stay that I could imagine. Call well in and acne to make your reservations- they're full way ahead of time.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ewall67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2014

if you are interested in staying at a beautifully restored early 1900's home, on a quiet country road near Stratford ON, you won't go wrong choosing this B&B, which is run by the very gracious and accommodating Cathy Hutson and her husband Bob.
Their hospitality made us feel instantly welcomed. The breakfast choices were varied each day we were there - with lovely home baking.
There is one on-suite bedroom. However, we stayed in the room with twin single beds, and easy access to the bathroom (with both tub and separate shower) down the hall. And if you leave your bedroom door ajar, you might soon be joined by a lovely black and white house cat, curling up on the bed beside you.
In Google Maps, type in "Windbreak Farm" and select "Fullarton" to see a street view of this great home.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at many B&Bs, and this stay at the Windbreak Farm was fantastic! Warm hospitality, cozy rooms, wonderful breakfast, and convenient location to visit the surrounding attractions. What sets it apart is what felt like a true homestead farm experience ... we loved it. Highly recommended for couples and/or families of any age. Truly a great place to stay! Olha, Teya and Michael July 31st 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Idyllic country setting where our family, including two small children were warmly welcomed by hosts, Bob and Cathy. As soon as we arrived, we felt "at home", and this was greatly appreciated. Thanks for a great mini-vacation.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friends78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cathy and Bob and great hosts. They have done a lot of work to restore an old farmhouse between Mitchell and Stratford and have done a great job with it. Their home is warm and friendly...a very personal touch that you don't always get these days even at B & Bs. The breakfast was wonderful and beyond generous. Windbreak is a wonderful place to relax and slow down the hectic pace of life!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillNOV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews