We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Life is good in the country"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fullarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windbreak Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Fullarton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Going to Stratford? Look no further-this wonderful B&B is less than 20 minutes from the theatres and away from all the tourists. The ride is very straightforward. Cathy and Bob have put a tremendous amount of love and care in restoring their picturesque home. Upon arrival you will be joyfully greeted and sit in the parlour for your personalized breakfast menu. What a nice touch! Don't worry about privacy at this B&B, Cathy and Bob know to take their cue from you! We stayed in the Dove's Nest which was a lovely room at the top of the house with a full veranda and beautiful views of the meticulously cared for garden. The soaker tub allows for bubbles galore! The breakfast waiting for us the next morning was fit for a king and queen. My husband loves cinnamon buns, which Cathy made certain were present, the omelettes were fluffy and full, the fruit salad was of quality berries, grapes and melons, there was also cut cheese, fresh tomatoes, pumpkin butter, endless tea, coffee and conversation, if you so desire. We left feeling like we had a visit with our favourite family members. A true hidden secret in the Stratford area.

Room Tip: The "Dove's Nest" makes for a nice private getaway, with a private bath and balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ToddandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy H, Owner at Windbreak Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

We thank you kindly for this wonderful review. We do try our best to make the guests at Windbreak feel comfortable and to truly enjoy their stay here. It is a good feeling to know that this is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2015

This B&B was a "Wow" from the moment I first contacted the owner, Cathy. She was supremely professional and helpful. We were attending a family wedding in the area, then half our party was heading to Stratford for a play the next day.

When we arrived, we were immediately made to feel welcome. Cathy made it possible for us to arrive a little earlier than what would be considered a typical check-in, so we could freshen up before the wedding.

Two members of our party needed to leave extremely early the next morning (unexpectedly) - no problem for Cathy - she had homemade muffins and coffee ready for them.

Then the rest of our party enjoyed a beautiful breakfast - all homemade and delicious. (She had touched base with us before we arrived to learn of any food preferences and/or allergies - she thinks of everything!)

Cathy and her husband, Bob sat down and joined us for a delightful meal and easy conversation - about everything!

Cathy is quite an accomplished gardener and Bob an accomplished woodworking artist. The two of them make a great team and each is clearly talented in many other arenas and entrepreneurial in spirit.

The grounds of their home are beautifully appointed - lighting is subtle at night - so very soothing. The entire property is well built and maintained - a perfect balance of modern conveniences with the charm of the heritage building they have preserved and updated so well.

In this review, I checked "trendy" and "quaint" which may seem confusing - just to be clear, this is a heritage property - but it has been masterfully outfitted with modern conveniences.

My partner and I definitely heading back there for a quiet stay, so we can really take advantage of the idyllic setting - it so obviously would suit any season.

Cannot say enough about this absolute Gem in Fullarton!

Room Tip: The Dove's Nest is especially nice for a couple - romantic, balcony, claw foot tub, as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TLo_759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy H, Owner at Windbreak Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

We truly loved reading this review! It gives a picture of what the whole stay was like for these wonderful guests. Their enjoyment makes us happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Windbreak farm in the heart of Perth County, Ontario.
Not having much experience of B&B's we were absolutely delighted by the farm, the home and our hosts, Cathy and Bob.

The work they have put in to make sure our stay was comfortable and rewarding is immense, the home and property are a delight, with great attention to detail and comfort for their guests. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast fit for a king/queen and Cathy and Bob take every opportunity to make sure you feel at home, cared for with genuine concern and that you leave there feeling that you have just left your best friend's house - yes really! Access to all the Perth County offers is nearby and easy to get to. We are really pleased to have found them!

Room Tip: They are all great depending on your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We chose Windbreak Farm B&B because it was rural, not far from Stratford and promised to offer an authentic B&B experience with gracious hosts in a restored farm home over a century old. Our experience proved the promises correct. Cathy and Bob provided a fine breakfast, joining us in a wide ranging informative discussion about the area and their community. Their home, property and attentiveness demonstrate their commitment to quality. They are delightful people. We highly recommend Windbreak Farm B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I came to the Stratford area to attend a few plays ai the Festival. My first accommodation choice has always been hostels, because they are inexpensive and you meet the most interesting people. But Stratford has none. So I checked out the B&B listings. This one felt that it would be somewhat similar to the hostel experience, in that you breakfast with the owners rather than on your own. It was lovely! From the very friendly and attentive cat to the conversations over breakfast with the owners and later with others who stayed there, it was warm and welcoming, peaceful and homey. Just what I needed for a restful vacation. Cathy and Bob where also very helpful sources of information about local attractions, and Bob's woodwork is spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arnpriorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

For our trip to Stratford, Ontario, I wanted to find a place to stay that would offer comfort in a setting that we could meet local folks. I happened across Windbreak Farm, and Bob and Kathy Hutson, and I'm so glad I did.

Their home a well kept authentic farmhouse - gardens with both flowers and vegetables, and a barn with two horses (Misty and Red) and barn cats, which my daughter just loved! Kathy is an outstanding cook (best food anywhere in the Stratford area, in my opinion) as well as a gracious host, and Bob is a woodsman, skilled at both woodworking and selling firewood as well. They opened their home to us, and made us feel like old friends. What could be better?

If there is any downside to this place, then I should say that you need to be prepared for the drive into Stratford, if you're there for the theater festival. Small sacrifice for the best place to stay that I could imagine. Call well in and acne to make your reservations- they're full way ahead of time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ewall67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

if you are interested in staying at a beautifully restored early 1900's home, on a quiet country road near Stratford ON, you won't go wrong choosing this B&B, which is run by the very gracious and accommodating Cathy Hutson and her husband Bob.
Their hospitality made us feel instantly welcomed. The breakfast choices were varied each day we were there - with lovely home baking.
There is one on-suite bedroom. However, we stayed in the room with twin single beds, and easy access to the bathroom (with both tub and separate shower) down the hall. And if you leave your bedroom door ajar, you might soon be joined by a lovely black and white house cat, curling up on the bed beside you.
In Google Maps, type in "Windbreak Farm" and select "Fullarton" to see a street view of this great home.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Windbreak Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windbreak Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: RR# 1, 5666 Line 26, Fullarton, Ontario N0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fullarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fullarton
Price Range: C$100 - C$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windbreak Farms offers a peaceful country setting in the heart of rural West Perth. A short drive from Stratford, Mitchell and St. Marys Ontario. At Windbreak Farm Bed & Breakfast, our special guests will relax with the comforts of today while enjoying the charm of yesterday in our century old, lovingly restored, Victorian Farm House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing