We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic of the Borneo rainforest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Staying at Danum Valley rainforest lodge was an amazing experience. Walking in the rainforest was simply magical & we felt very privileged to be able to do so. Our guide, Ray, was very knowledgeable about the forest & could spot every living thing from a tiny spider to an orang-utan . The lodge itself was well run & the food good

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

It is a very long jeep journey over rough tracks to get here, ok if you are young and fit. The setting in the rainforest by a river is magnificent BUT the moment you arrive the guides are onto you to do this and that, so it could be tranquil once you decide no thanks....
The food is outstandingly good
The lodges are of a high standard
We were persuaded to do the Night Safari-being the rainfrest it poured onto the open truck in which we all sat-awful
The 6am walk to see birds was excellent and the canopy walk same, and the up a mountain walk was great for our 30 year old son
This is what hey call an eco resort, really a contradiction in terms as it is luxurious , expensive and exclusive yet everywhere they had save the environment propaganda-shame as Sabah is a marvellous place to visit and enjoy wildlife , we do not need politically correct preaching when on holiday, we get it at home!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
This lodge is in the middle of nowhere reached by a long drive over bumpy dirt tracks and what a surprise it turned out to be. It's beautiful !
It tries to be as Eco friendly as possible as is made from all local woods. The bungalows all have solar panels to heat the water ( with an electric boost if needed so you never have cold water ). The is no air conditioning but the rooms have been designed so the there is a natural air flow which relays does help them cool down. We had no problems sleeping at night as the room cooled down nicely. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and spotlessly clean. If you hear a bang roof or balcony don't worry it's probably just some kind of monkey landing on it :-)
The food here is amazing, I didn't mind being a captive audience with no other choice and the staff are wonderful, friendly and attentive. The jungle guides are second to none.
The hike up to the viewpoint is very hard work, especially the last 50 meters, and I wouldn't recommend for anybody who isn't at least of average fitness and mobility to try this. Saw lots of animals, birds and flowers, even saw a couple of the ultimate prize, the orang-utans which made the holiday complete for us actually seeing them in the wild, amazing !
If you get the chance go here, it's hard work doing some of the walks but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneNWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have spend 5 days and 4 nights in one of the Deluxe Villas. Its was very comfortable and clean..and the staff always on demand, if we had a problem. Once there was an ant invasion in the bathroom, but the house keeping acted promptly, and solved the little probelm....always take in mind that you are in the middle of the jungle and not in a steril hospital....Me and my boys, 9 und 7 , loved the tours with Calex...he was our personal guide, as I was travelling with the kids, so we had our own pace to hike the jungle. We loved the Canopy Walkway and it was great, which animals the guide was showing us...From wild Orang Utans, Red Leaf Monkeys, Western Tarsier, differnet birds and insecets to purpupines, we saw animals in the wild we just had known before from books...
I can always recommend the tours at Rainforest Lodge, food was very nice, ---my kids love noodles--so they had their pasta everyday..and breakfast cereals where available as well...
Dont miss out the Rainforest in Danum Valley....you will always remember this experiance

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandLover010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

In search of Orangutan in the wild whilst staying in first class accommodation, then don’t look past this place. It is worth spending and staying 2 nights - no longer duration is really required. From the bumpy journey from the town of Lahad Datu where you are briefed extensively to the tranquility of being immersed into the middle of the jungle, you can really lose yourself, and indeed this is what happened. I travelled alone and was equally welcomed from staff and guests alike. I stayed in the deluxe cabin overlooking the river and rainforest which was a delight. On the balcony an enormous bath tub exists to capture the views and have a refreshing drink. The food and variety is fantastic as I love Malaysian food, but it is not limited to this. My only suggestion would be for all guides to have equipment available such as binoculars for guests viewing. I highly recommend and will return. Thank you for the memories.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I would love to give this place 5/5 because there was so much about it that was truly wonderful. The location, in a clearing in them middle of virgin rainforest on the banks of the river, is sublime. The walks are excellent, not necessarily for clocking up loads of wildlife sightings, but just for getting out into the forest (although we still saw plenty of Orang-Utan right by the lodge). Guides and staff were excellent: friendly, informed, pleasant, attentive, everything you could want. And the lodge itself is great - newly refurbished with beautiful style, excellent views to see the rain rolling in over the canopy while you eat, and really, really, really good food. Excellent food. I could go on.
Only let-down here is the room. I would definitely recommend getting a room with views onto the river, as the balcony and hot tub were a great thing to have, and it's such a wonderful setting, it wouldn't have been the same for us without them. But the rooms aren't up to the standard of the prices here. They could be, almost, with just a few tweaks: a bigger bed, better furniture, upgraded bathrooms, and just a bit more attention to the little details that high-end lodges usually offer. But as it is, they don't match the rest of the place or the price. This may well change in due course, as the lodge clearly has high ambitions and it shows, so I wouldn't consider it a complaint - just something to be prepared for.
That said, it's a wonderful place and I would absolutely recommend it. Reconcile yourself to the fact that you're paying for the experience and location more so than the rooms, and you won't be disappointed. This is the kind of place you come away from with really fond memories. Special really - well recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely a deluxe room with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quintopino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The staff makes every effort to assure you are indulged and inspired. Our Deluxe Chalet room, with its effective convective cooling was spacious, comfortable and private with a great riverine view. We spent hours on the deck observing wildlife. How the huge array of buffet food is kept fresh, plentiful and flying insect free was a pleasant mystery to us. And the wait staff could not have been more attentive. But we came for the jungle experience and the sociable and knowledgeable guides did not disappoint. We have been in protected areas of Africa and the Amazon where wildlife is more visible, but the rainforest and its creatures are awesome. Surprises included the super-refreshing "jacuzzi falls" with their toe-nibbling fish and the visible human bones in the cliff wall burial coves. One of the nicest aspect of staying at the lodge is that you sense that the staff feels it is a privilege to be there.
The very long road, mostly gravel, from Lahad Datu is the only drawback. On our way in, our small bus followed another vehicle for hours, assuring minimal wildlife sightings. One passenger became carsick from the bumps and curves. We had a car on the return trip, and the young driver was more interested in overtaking others than in his passengers.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe Chalet further from the lodge to be closer to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank archer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Borneo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Rainforest Lodge

Address: Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Danum Valley Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Price Range: $237 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borneo Rainforest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low density Jungle Lodge with 31 Twin Sharing Chalets located in the largest Conservation Area in Sabah which is home to 275 species of birds, 110 species of mammals & one of the oldest virgin rainforest in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing