We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
New Sabah Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$19
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$87
US$66
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandarin Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$42
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Celyn City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$38
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Traveller(Kota Kinabalu)
US$21
US$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Kooler Inn(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
1 City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$28
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$52
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Summer Lodge(Kota Kinabalu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
749
139
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
139
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverred leaf monkeyscanopy walkleech socksdanum valleylahad datunight walkdeluxe roomprivate guideour honeymoonslow lorismouse deermain buildinggift shopsambar deerworth every pennynight safari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2010. We came here after relaxing at the Rasa Ria and we loved it just as much, although was quite different and more hard work, but we expected that!

We got very lucky and got to see a group of 3 orang-utans, the first sighting in a week. That truly did make the tour for us but all other parts were great. The night drives, all the walks, the food, the staff, the welcome.

Our guide was fantastic, his ability to spot wildlife was simply amazing. Even when he’d point things out to me and I was a few cms away, I often couldn’t see things he’d spotted! He was a great laugh too and spoke the best English of any non-native speaker I’ve ever met! He understood all the jokes I made to my wife etc, was quite incredible!

The management were very nice too, when they realised it was our honeymoon they got us some free wine and decorated our room. The room was a deluxe room, which was very pleasant but we’d probably been spoilt by the Ocean wing at the rasa ria. I’d say it was 4 star, very nice but not amazing, but the view of the rainforest and the river was 5 star. Some red leaf monkeys even came to play opposite our room! But ultimately you don’t come to the middle of the rainforest to just sit in the room so it really was fine.

It was expensive at the outset but you don’t spend anything really when you’re there. Our bill on leaving was only £40 which was just drinks in the bar at the evenings, all soft drinks and food is included…also some of the money you pay goes towards the conservation of the area too. I think a 2 night stay would have been fine too, but 3 nights was very nice also and meant we got a few more walks and got an afternoon to relax.

Oh and the 2.5 hour bumpy road really isn’t bad at all…try travelling along the back roads of Uganda and Rwanda! Another couple we met even saw elephants on the journey! But the drivers are very good and safe and the transport comfortable so don’t let that put you off.

All in all a great and unforgettable end to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparky_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This lodge is very remote and deep in the rainforest, which is excellent. The drive to get to it is along a bumpy road, but if you have done much wildlife/nature travel, you will consider the condition of the road to be very, very good! Not a problem and well worth it.

The luxury of the lodge was a shock! This is a very gorgeous, service oriented place. Since it is the only lodge in this location and is essentially run by the government with the tourist revenue going to the people, I would not have been surprised to find not great accommodations - instead it was the best food and service of the entire trip, and a beautiful setting in every respect. The room had a ceiling fan and was very comfortable and clean with fluffy towels, drinking water provided, and even a mini fridge stocked with 4 sodas a day.

The food was the best we had the whole trip. Excellent offerings, variety and preparation. The service of the staff was incredible.

We had a great guide and although it can always be tough to see wildlife on foot, we did see many things. You need to bring leech socks or get them in the gift shop there. Bring a swimsuit so you can enjoy the jacuzzi pool (natural, under a waterfall) and tubing. The hiking varies from easy to harder, so be prepared to hike or to let them know your limitations. I had a foot injury and so some of the hikes were hard for me and the staff was kind enough to provide me with ice for the injury, and they have on site massage, which also helped alleviate the pain in my leg and foot after a lot of hiking.

Overall the only thing that could make this place better would be a room safe - and as we were leaving, there was one outside my door that appeared to be getting installed! Really a lovely experience in every respect. Memorable and highly recommended if you love nature and wildlife!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

20 out of 20 ! The lodge is located in an extraordinary place, in the middle of the jungle. The place is incredible, the chalets are great, the service is perfect. The direct contact with the jungle is so amazing ! As for animals, as says the guides "hope for everything, expect nothing !", but still we saw orang utans twice in 4 days. This place is quite expensive, but it's definitely worth it

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarnetDeVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

BRL was the very best part of our two month trip to Borneo. It is one of the few places you can travel so deep into the rainforest and stay in a 5 star resort! The guides here were the best we had in Sabah and we saw samba deer, western tarsier, hornbills, leopard cats as well as a few local orangutans who l
live there year round. The food is 5 star and was the best we ate in Malaysia. The accommodation are beautiful and there is a lot of wildlife around the resort itself. The program of activities was the best I have seen in all my travels ranging from night drives to tubing down the river to day long hikes to see wildlife. It was a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildlifefanatic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent 4 nights at the BRL in September, 2010, as part of a three week trip through Sabah. Especially given the lodge's location deep in the primary rain forest, the accommodations are very comfortable (except for the mattresses, which are thin and hard as seems to be common throughout Malaysia's smaller cities and rural areas). We had a deluxe chalet with a view across the river. From our outdoor bathtub, we could see the macaques playing by the river, and in the evenings we would often spot deer from our porch. I would definitely recommend splurging on a deluxe chalet both for the much, much nicer views than the standard rooms offer, and for the giant soaking tub. After the impossibly hot treks through the rain forest, nothing feels better than soaking in a cool bath.

Service in the lodge and the restaurant was attentive. At meals, we sometimes found the servers hovering. It seemed that after every sip of water we drank, our glass was refilled! We had a few minor issues with housekeeping, who forgot to refill our potable water or replace towels some days.

Ultimately, we did feel a bit disappointed in the wildlife viewing here. Our guide was a novice, and we did not feel that he was particularly gifted in tracking animals or noticing smaller things. Every interesting insect and reptile we saw was because WE spotted it, not our guide. We arranged for a private guide so that we could set our own schedule and pursue our interests. To his credit, our guide was very flexible about going on extra-long treks, but we wish he had shared more knowledge of the rain forest with us and followed our interests in insects and reptiles more.

A major issue is that the lodge was full all summer and the orangutans in particular have been scared off by all of the human traffic. The scientists who oversee the area have asked the lodge to close several of their trails in the hopes that the orangutans will return. We did "see" an orangutan (by which I mean that we saw a blur of orange fur in the top of a tree), but almost none of the other guests at the lodge while we were there did, and even many of the usual monkeys were scarce. The general aura among guides and guests alike was one of disappointment. We luckily also visited Sukau, where wildlife was plentiful. If you're very committed to seeing Borneo's wildlife, definitely don't put all of your eggs in this basket, but rather stay in several different areas of rain forest.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kismet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews