We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
107
77
29
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
77
29
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages murchison falls cape buffalo water buffalo swimming pool lunch box lounge area spacious grounds american lady an experience of a life time network connection peaceful surroundings herd of buffalo personalized service fire pit pumpkin soup a wonderful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 228 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

The environment was so cool, the staff was friendly especially Debbie the proprietor, she was warm welcoming, we loved the cottages. It was really worth a stay. We loved the camp fire and the turkey on Christmas.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sheevonprecious4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

sheevonprecious4,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time visiting Sambiya over Christmas, and are happy that your holiday a memorable one. We do hope you will visit again soon! Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

I love the area the lodge is placed. You can go out from your room in the morning and be overwhelmed with vast open space like a huge wild garden. After sun set you can sit at a huge campfire always fired at dusk and enjoy millions of stars above your head.
Going down towards the wood you can meet oh different animals, like buffaloes, antelopes and first of all monkeys - you can hear incredible clamor of calabases quarreling with baboons. Be sure you are safe there.
There is a very kind men staff.
The owner of Sabiya, Debbie, an American lady caring of you like a mummy, can tell you her fascinated life story, if you wish.
Nice designed rooms, big dinning and comfortable resting place.
All these make you feel wonderful there.
One inconvenience, if you mind, there is limited internet connection which for someone can be a blessing. :)
Sabiya River Lodge is of course excellent starting point to the Top of the Falls Viewpoint and to about three hours boat trip to the base of the falls!

Go there necessarily!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrystynaK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Krystyna K., Thank you so much for your beautiful and poetic review! We are so glad we could make your stay enjoyable and that you were able to enjoy our eco-friendly lodge the way we had intended! Please visit again soon. Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

I liked the ambience, from the delightfully engaging staff to the environment. It's small enough to be intimate and charming.
The animals walk right up to your door, so you're literally one with nature; no need to worry though, the rangers fend off those that may strike.
The pool allowed one to cool off after the trek to the falls. The food is good, served on time.

Looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bamutorana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Bamutorana T, what a great review! Thank you for highlighting all the wonderful aspects of Sambiya River Lodge. We hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Debbie is the perfect hostess, checks that everything is OK .
The accommodation is "native" hut style, but comfortable, as long as you do not mind noise of buffalo/forest pigs in the night. It was a great experience and one we are glad we did not miss it.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Thank you for your review, Charles S! We are so glad you had the authentic Sambiya experience, surrounded by nature! Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

This is a well run lodge with serviceminded staff at an affordable rate close to the top of falls junction.

It is frequently visited by wild animals which makes it even more interesting.

The spacious surroundings and nice dining area makes it great for larger groups.

Recommended

The Kent family

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Krishan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Krishan K, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a good experience with us and we do hope you will visit again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews