We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
25
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
11
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel restaurants and shops small pool busy road his team clean rooms the main road tuk tuk brindley blinds wifi towels
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 49 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Could be a great place, but really needs to improve if it wants to be. Reception is the worst I've ever had: I wanted to book a room, but they asked me more in real life than on Booking (strange...), so at the end I made my booking by Booking while sitting inside the hotel. It took ages to check-in and 10.3 dollars she rounded up (?) to 11 dollars ('it's almost 11, right?), which is really not accurate I think. Bed sheets were not clean and it's impossible to close doors gentle, so you wake up your roommates. Pool misses beds and there are nowhere trash bins. If you don't mind all these things, it's a pretty cool place to stay ;)
P.S. Staff is btw very helpfull: if you ask them for things, they will serve you most of the time

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Hotel J. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused, and your comments have been shared with my associates for further improvements.

While thanking you for your patronage, we would love to welcome you back and serve you better in the future.


Sincerely,


Brindley M. Wijeysooria,
Rooms Division Manager - Hotel J, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

This is a budget hotel with comfortable beds and a small pool, ok for one night but unfortunately we stayed with a group for three nights. Limited food and drinks available (no licence). Its about 20-30 mins walk from the beach and restaurants along a busy road with no footpath. The first room we were given had a very bad smell but they did change our room. In the two rooms one safe did not work the 2nd room did not have one.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryO1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Hotel J Unawatuna.

We regret to note that your stay with us with not up to your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for that. We have shared your comments with all concerned for immediate rectifications.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we would love to welcome you back to Hotel J on your next visit to Unawatuna.


Sincerely,


Brindley M. Wijeysooria,
Rooms Division Manager - Hotel J, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

For a budget hotel this place was beyond our expectations. The deluxe rooms were truly comfortable and clean. The 5$ breakfast is a must try!

The location is extremely convenient with food shops close by. The staff is quite humble and compliant.

If you are looking for a budget get away this place is ideal!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dincoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Dinali,

Thank you for the wonderful review following your stay with us. We are delighted to know you had thoroughly enjoyed yourself.

We are very appreciative of your feedback - thank you. Your kind words not only praise the unique features of the property, but also deliver a picturesque message to all guests who wish to patronize Hotel J, Unawatuna in the near future.

Once again we thank for choosing to stay at Hotel J Unawatuna, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Sincerely,


Brindley Wijeysooria
Rooms Division Manager – Hotel J Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We got the strong impression that the hotel had not been open for long. Everything is new. The staff are young and enthusiastic, but it seems they lack experience in the hospitality industry. The manager is kind and experienced.
Good value for a budget hotel.
The downside for us was the 15 minute walk to the village centre along a VERY busy road. The beach is a LONG way away.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review following your stay with us. We are delighted to know you had thoroughly enjoyed yourself.

We are very appreciative of your feedback - thank you! Your kind words not only praise the unique features of the property, but also deliver a picturesque message to all guests who wish to patronize Hotel J, Unawatuna in the near future.

Once again we thank for choosing to stay at Hotel J Unawatuna, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future


Sincerely,


Brindley Wijeysooria
Rooms Division Manager – Hotel J Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Not bad for a budget hotel. The rooms are clean and whilst small still felt spacious with a decent sized bathroom, a desk and mirror and a small balcony, but clearly done on the cheap.

There are lights in the cupboard which are supposed to turn off when the cupboard door closes but the doors didn't fit the frame properly so the lights wouldn't turn off. This was the case for several people I travelled with. The showers were luke warm at best and the blinds which need to be down the whole time as there are floor to ceiling windows over looking the pool were so thin they didn't block the morning sun. Also they had the thickest pillows causing a lot of neck aches for me and my companions.

However, the staff were so lovely and accommodating and couldn't have been more helpful. It's a new hotel still with teething problems.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Nicola,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel J Unawatuna.

We are very appreciative of your feedback as it allows us to rectify any inconvenience that you have faced during your holiday with us. However, we are delighted to read that you found our associates to be of help and, we truly hope this experience won't deter you from visiting us in the future.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me directly if you require any assistance in planning you next trip to Hotel J Unawatuna, in the future.


Sincerely,


Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews