We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Below average rooms but great food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Full Moon Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 139 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
KL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Below average rooms but great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Agree with most of the earlier reviews! We arrived on a Friday night and was warned by the owner that our rooms were next to the disco! They did offer us another room to sleep in if we found the music disturbing but the room would be smaller and had no A/C so we decided to stay put. My husband, two young daughters and I had no problem sleeping through since we were darn tired but my poor mum and mum-in-law didn't get to sleep till the music stopped at 6am!

Our room was quite spacious but dark, so it gave me the impression that it wasn't very clean. The bathroom was huge too, but again dark so it didn't appear to be clean. If you are planning to stay here, I'd recommend you bring your own towel as the towels provided were rather worn and didn't seem too clean.

The saving grace was the nice environment of the resort, and the restaurant that served great dinner. We didn't try the breakfast as we had to leave very early for a whale watching trip to Mirissa but the owner kindly packed some breakfast for us - very basic cheese sandwiches with hard-boiled eggs and a banana.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    61
    27
    18
    17
See reviews for
24
65
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The location of the hotel is very nice. In Sri Lanka the most of the hotels are jst about average. So as compared to the other hotels that I stayed in this was one of the better ones.

Pros:
1. Rooms are neat and clean
2. You come out of the room and you hit the beach which is really nice
3. Helpful staff
4. Easy check in and check out
5. Restaurant has nice spread of breakfast

Cons:
1. Rooms are small dark and has no ventilation
2. Only one window in the room but the windows cannot be opened as it does not have grills so anyone can come in :(

This was the first hotel where the number of insects inside the room was less. Overall a nice stay.....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The resort is in a wonderful position. However the rooms are small and very dark. The bathroom is terrible, without windows. Many bugs and beetles. The room is noisy because are next to the road and to a disco. I came here because of the positive feedbaks of tripadvisor, but probably is the friends owner that wrote them..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turistasevero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

very nice little hotel with probably the most idyllic part of unawatuna beach in front... very good restaurant that offers italian cuisine as well as sri lankan style and fresh fish or crabs directly from the sea...
staff is really helpful and friendly!
make sure, if there's a party going on next door (on friday nights), that you'll join in, sleeping isn't possible till the early morning :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pian_vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Full moon was so good that we stayed 6 nights in stead of 3. After 3 weeks of travelling through Sri Lanka, the soft beds, warm shower, perfectly silent ac, great menu and superb service were exactly what we needed. One of the chefs made us some fresh (lake)crab which was the best food we tasted our whole holiday. But also the Italian food on the menu (the owner is Italian) was not too bad: good bruscetta, pizza and pasta.

Big advantage of Full moon is that it is right at the beach, and it has some beach left right in front of the guest house including beds (for free). Be aware though, when the weather is good, people from other hotels come to lay on the beds as well, so you have to be early.

The price was also somewhat negotianable (with/without breakfast, staying at least x nights etc.). And for the entire week, including some meals, drinks and breakfast every day, we did not spend more than 350 euros.
The only downside was that when we were there, there were some parties at the other end of the beach so for 3 nights we could hear the bass drums as earplugs are not for sale in Unawatuna.
Anyway, I would definitely recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemiek_020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights over the Christmas holiday. We were really disappointed by the bar next door that played loud (read: windows were vibrating) music till 3 am on Friday night (Christmas eve).

Despite the noise, though, the place is decent. We came away with the requisite bug bites either from the room or the beach. Who knows?

Full moon does decent food and the staff were friendly and attentive. If you're looking for a place to unwind at a bargain, this could be your place. They do have a nice spot on the beach.

We, however, couldn't seem to relax here. The town itself, and the beach are loud so beware of Unawatunu if you need a lot of quiet.

We decided to leave backpacker-ville to the BBB (Brits Behaving Badly) and head to nicer digs in Galle. We've also heard that Marissa beach is nice, but we didn't make it that far.

Perhaps some of the slightly pricier digs in Unawatunu would suit travelers who also straddle the backpacker/traveler divide. Read: 'don't want to slum it as a backpacker, but still want to hang out on a beach with some cheap beer and get a semi-authentic experience of the country.'

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlingindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Absolutely amazing location (my beach bungalow was called Ancona) and was 5m from shoreling providing spectacular backdrop of sea...room was pretty basic but the bench just outside room alone where you can read, drink, smoke (or combination) was worth the R6500 for the room.

All I will say though is that I wanted to do a 2 day tour and booked this with a waiter in the restaurant. He put me in contact with a guy who pretty much conned me with a driver who didn't speak a word of English and didn't really know where he was going! It wasn't the driver's fault.

So in summary: great location for 1/2 nights but be wary of waiters' contacts if feeling like you want to book a tour!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 644047Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 km away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.3 km away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 km away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Villa
The Villa
#66 of 139 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 km away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#31 of 139 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 km away
Flamingo Guest House
Flamingo Guest House
#53 of 139 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Beach Resort

Property: Full Moon Beach Resort
Address: Yaddehimulla Rd, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Full Moon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing