We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$97
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$166
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
235
25
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
25
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul lorraineguest houseexcellent hostsdrinks fridgepotted plantsdark alleyrooms are largesri lankabeds with mosquito netstucked awaymonkeys swingjungle settinglocal wildlifesurrounded by treeshighly recommend a staybeautiful accommodationhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 267 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Palm Grove is a beautiful Sri Lankan villa with four clean and spacious rooms and a lovely roof terrace. We were lucky to be able to return here twice during our holiday. After staying a few nights at other places, they just were not as relaxing as Palm Grove. Because we stayed here three times for several nights, we have been in three different rooms, and we can say they are all very lovely. The one on the ground floor is the biggest and has two big beds, so could possibly house four people.
The atmosphere is very friendly and you immediately feel at home and very welcome by the nice English owners Paul and Lorraine. They like to have a chat with you once in a while and have some tips regarding restaurants in the area. If you need taxi-services they have a very good relationship with Janath, the neighbor and owner of Meedum Villa, who can provide tuk-tuk, taxi and scooter. He can also organize trips, both round trips and day trips. Janath himself is also very friendly and also a person you could sit down with and have a drink if you like.
On the second floor is a fridge from which you can take a drink: you will mark down what you have drunk on a whiteboard, somewhat like in a student home. This speaks of a great trust in the guests of this place and make you feel even more welcome, and the prices for the drinks are quite cheap as well. The rooms aren't expensive either: we paid $32 for a non-AC room, but AC is also optional for a few dollars more. Breakfast is also possible (no fixed time): a typical Sri Lankan one with fruit and toast and egg. It was nice but got a bit repetitive after a few days, but then you also have the option to eat somewhere outside, since Unawatuna sports many restaurants and shops.
So all in all our stay here was basically perfect: Palm Grove is a very special place and you will not find many like in in Sri Lanka or even the world!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeDee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2012

By luck we had a really amazing stay at Palm Grove. The place was fully booked but we got a last minute cancellation. On New Years Eve no less! We couldn't have found a better place if we tried. The rooms were extremely clean, the communal patios were a nice place to relax. Paul and Lorraine were the perfect hosts. They really enjoy the company of their guests and go out of their way to help them. They deserve all the success in their venture as they are honest and helpful business owners with a very lovely place to share. If you are looking for beachfront, this isn't it as it's a 10 minute walk, but the setting is even more lovely out of the way in the jungle. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a wonderful villa in a secluded area of busy Unawatuna, but still very close to the beach and amenities, even with 2 children under 3 it was only a pleasant 5 minute walk. The owners are superb hosts and the staff were excellent with the children; we were really made to feel at home. They provide any special requests that are asked for and were able to organise transport, give restaurant tips and tell us the best area of beach for small children (the Temple end). They even had Christmas presents waiting for the children on our arrival! What a wonderfully and friendly thoughtful couple who are genuinely interested in making your stay a positive and personal one. The downstairs family room was great for us - large and great for the kids as they could play in the courtyard and watch the fish while I sat in a chair with a beer! Breakfast was great and just kept coming - couldn't believe how much we could eat! Amazing value - definitely a place I will recommend and hopefully visit again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is great for a family. Large, AC and good to allow the kids some freedom in a safe environment.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigTDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked 5 nights here and were glad we had. Paul and Lorraine, the English owners made us feel very welcome and at home, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were beautiful and felt all newly fitted out, we had a large 4 poster bed draped with a huge mosquito net, the bathroom was perfect and everywhere spotless. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was excellent, temperature controlled and very quiet and with a large fan over the bed too.
The 2 sitting out areas are both in the shade but not of course air-conditioned and it was very hot and humid when we were there.
One day when we were uncertain which bus to catch to go to Hikkaduwa they even had their room boy walkup to the bus stop with us and make sure we caught the right bus.
Cheapest restaurant was the Hot Rock and we went there quite a bit. Had gorgeous mango ice-creams in a beach restaurant but then we were told that you can buy it in big tubs in the village shops, Lorraine said we can just put it in the communal fridge/freezer. We also put our gin and tonic there !
They have a night watchman who is awake all night to unlock the gate if you go out late and help with anything you need.
It was certainly excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms upstairs are better than the one downstairs but Paul and Lorraine know that and only use the downstairs one if all the others are full.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wizardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here in october for two nights, Paul is, as many reviewers have said, a lovely host. Rooms are basic but very clean and an excellent breakfast served in the morning. Neither of us were crazy about Unawatuna, i would say the best thing about our stay was this guest house with it's lovely terraces surrounded by so much foliage and palms that it felt like you were in the jungle...and with a few more jars of the local brew probably would be enticed to swing with the monkeys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rubilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews