We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Sri Lanka”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #4 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Me and my wife spent 8 wonderful nights at Palm Grove, Unawatuna. The guest house is in a relatively quiet street surrounded by palm trees and lush vegetation - inhabited by various birds, squirrels and monkeys. The room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed at an unbeatable price, there are two terraces where you can enjoy breakfast or relax with a cold beer after a day on the beach. It's a five minute walk to the lovely Unawatuna beach packed with sun beds and small cozy restaurants.
Paul and Lorraine are by far the best hosts we encountered on Sri Lanka, they tried their best to make us feel comfortable. Advising us on restaurants, places to go and visit or just having a drink with us and chatting. It might sound corny, but it really felt like a home away from home.
If we come back to the island we will definitely stay at palm Grove.

Room Tip: Stayed in the upstairs room w a/c, bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Palm Grove is a beautiful Sri Lankan villa with four clean and spacious rooms and a lovely roof terrace. We were lucky to be able to return here twice during our holiday. After staying a few nights at other places, they just were not as relaxing as Palm Grove. Because we stayed here three times for several nights, we have been in three different rooms, and we can say they are all very lovely. The one on the ground floor is the biggest and has two big beds, so could possibly house four people.
The atmosphere is very friendly and you immediately feel at home and very welcome by the nice English owners Paul and Lorraine. They like to have a chat with you once in a while and have some tips regarding restaurants in the area. If you need taxi-services they have a very good relationship with Janath, the neighbor and owner of Meedum Villa, who can provide tuk-tuk, taxi and scooter. He can also organize trips, both round trips and day trips. Janath himself is also very friendly and also a person you could sit down with and have a drink if you like.
On the second floor is a fridge from which you can take a drink: you will mark down what you have drunk on a whiteboard, somewhat like in a student home. This speaks of a great trust in the guests of this place and make you feel even more welcome, and the prices for the drinks are quite cheap as well. The rooms aren't expensive either: we paid $32 for a non-AC room, but AC is also optional for a few dollars more. Breakfast is also possible (no fixed time): a typical Sri Lankan one with fruit and toast and egg. It was nice but got a bit repetitive after a few days, but then you also have the option to eat somewhere outside, since Unawatuna sports many restaurants and shops.
So all in all our stay here was basically perfect: Palm Grove is a very special place and you will not find many like in in Sri Lanka or even the world!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeDee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

By luck we had a really amazing stay at Palm Grove. The place was fully booked but we got a last minute cancellation. On New Years Eve no less! We couldn't have found a better place if we tried. The rooms were extremely clean, the communal patios were a nice place to relax. Paul and Lorraine were the perfect hosts. They really enjoy the company of their guests and go out of their way to help them. They deserve all the success in their venture as they are honest and helpful business owners with a very lovely place to share. If you are looking for beachfront, this isn't it as it's a 10 minute walk, but the setting is even more lovely out of the way in the jungle. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a wonderful villa in a secluded area of busy Unawatuna, but still very close to the beach and amenities, even with 2 children under 3 it was only a pleasant 5 minute walk. The owners are superb hosts and the staff were excellent with the children; we were really made to feel at home. They provide any special requests that are asked for and were able to organise transport, give restaurant tips and tell us the best area of beach for small children (the Temple end). They even had Christmas presents waiting for the children on our arrival! What a wonderfully and friendly thoughtful couple who are genuinely interested in making your stay a positive and personal one. The downstairs family room was great for us - large and great for the kids as they could play in the courtyard and watch the fish while I sat in a chair with a beer! Breakfast was great and just kept coming - couldn't believe how much we could eat! Amazing value - definitely a place I will recommend and hopefully visit again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is great for a family. Large, AC and good to allow the kids some freedom in a sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigTDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked 5 nights here and were glad we had. Paul and Lorraine, the English owners made us feel very welcome and at home, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were beautiful and felt all newly fitted out, we had a large 4 poster bed draped with a huge mosquito net, the bathroom was perfect and everywhere spotless. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was excellent, temperature controlled and very quiet and with a large fan over the bed too.
The 2 sitting out areas are both in the shade but not of course air-conditioned and it was very hot and humid when we were there.
One day when we were uncertain which bus to catch to go to Hikkaduwa they even had their room boy walkup to the bus stop with us and make sure we caught the right bus.
Cheapest restaurant was the Hot Rock and we went there quite a bit. Had gorgeous mango ice-creams in a beach restaurant but then we were told that you can buy it in big tubs in the village shops, Lorraine said we can just put it in the communal fridge/freezer. We also put our gin and tonic there !
They have a night watchman who is awake all night to unlock the gate if you go out late and help with anything you need.
It was certainly excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms upstairs are better than the one downstairs but Paul and Lorraine know that and only use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wizardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here in october for two nights, Paul is, as many reviewers have said, a lovely host. Rooms are basic but very clean and an excellent breakfast served in the morning. Neither of us were crazy about Unawatuna, i would say the best thing about our stay was this guest house with it's lovely terraces surrounded by so much foliage and palms that it felt like you were in the jungle...and with a few more jars of the local brew probably would be enticed to swing with the monkeys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rubilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Palm Grove was best value for money during our 2 weeks stay in Sri Lanka. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the outdoor sitting areas beautifully decorated with a very relaxing feeling and the owners are the most wonderful hosts. In the evening you spot fruit bats flying along and monkeys crossing the property. The walk to the beach takes 10 min. max, just ask the owners for the shortest way.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GabriellaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
0.2 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
0.3 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 34 in Unawatuna
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
732 reviews
1.7 km away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 162 in Unawatuna
231 reviews
0 km away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 162 in Unawatuna
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $52 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing