We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Family!!!”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #4 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Palm Grove two times in the past 8 months. We love Sri Lanka and especially Unawatuna and Palm Grove. We will never stay elsewhere while in the Galle area. If you are looking for a guesthouse where the guests are treated like family, this is your place!!! The location is a quiet jungle setting, but very close to restaurants, shopping and the beach. The owners, Paul and Lorraine, operate a very well run establishment and the pride of ownership is always apparent. The rooms are spacious and incredibly clean (including the top of the armoire/closet!!!). The breakfast is lovely with very generous portions. The staff is friendly, helpful and always smiling. We highly recommend a stay at this comfortable and accommodating guesthouse. See you next time.....XOXO

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Our best stay after 4 weeks Sri Lanka.
Lorraine and Paul have a personal approach. Every day a clean room and towels. Their staf is very friendly.
The accomodation is perfectly located with authentic rooms and two beautiful terasses.
Breakfast is amazing!
Thanks so much!
Esther and family

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Esther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Palm Grove is a fantastic little find. We stayed there with our wider family and felt really at home. The rooms a clean and comfortable in an awesome jungle setting. The staff are fantastic serving tasty breakfasts. The lovely couple that own the place are really friendly and helpful - if you're looking for a family friendly, affordable and comfy place to stay - this should be on your go to list!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious with free wifi - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goughdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Palm Grove is a beautiful villa tucked down a tranquil passage at the top end of the unwatuna beach road. It's a super spot - neighbouring a couple of local families and one or two other small guest houses; away from the hustle and bustle of unawatuna in high season but close enough to stroll to be part of it. Standing on one of the two lovely big terraces, with their hammock and easy chairs, the only sounds you will hear are the monkeys chattering and the various birds squawking every now and again. It is bliss.
The rooms are lovely - spacious, spotlessly clean and full of character. From the wonderful wooden shutters to the teak four poster beds with mosquito nets they are traditional and practical and are serviced daily. Rooms are arranged around a pretty garden which is a lovely place to sit and read if your little one is sleeping and you don't want to be out of ear shot up on the terrace. The family room is huge, with 2 singles and a double. Masses of space.
Breakfast is a feast. Pancakes, omlettes, toast, cereal or Sri Lankan daal and hoppers (order the latter in advance) and is served on one of the terraces at pretty much any time when you wake. The housekeeping staff are very accommodating. The comfortable seating on the terrace is communal so its nice to share breakfast stories with other guests. We got great surfing lesson tips from a lovely German family (Paul and Lorraine organised it - ask them about Suhana) which added a new dimension to our holiday.
Unawatuna isn't short of choice in terms of places to stay but Palm Grove is special. Paul, Lorraine and their efficient local team are friendly, warm and extremely capable and they offer far more than a place to stay. From their in house tuk tuk service, to organising trips and transfers (at the market rate - so no chunks of commission whacked on top) they make sure and are genuinely keen that their guests get the full experience of that wonderful southern part of Sri Lanka. Paul and Lorraine are able to do this because they have immersed themselves on the local community and they are well known and well loved by restaurant owners, drivers and other local businesses. So when you come to Palm Grove you can use it as a base to explore southern Sri Lanka. Many guests book chunks of 3 nights here and 1 night elsewhere and then return for 2 nights and so on. And it really feels like coming home. We genuinely don't know how they do it for the very reasonable rates they offer. What a place. We never stay anywhere else when we are in the south.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I'm so happy to have stayed at beautiful Palm Grove Owned by Paul & Lorraine and run by the kind & caring staff who look after me and make my stay a total pleasure & I love having my breakfast on one of the two terraces watching the monkeys swing from tree to tree eating fruit growing from the many trees - the rooms are light and cool with plenty of space with large comfortable beds - Palm Grove is a secret jem to find in lovely Unawatuna

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ashdavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We had a really great stay at palm grove. The rooms are clean and spacious and there are a couple of lovely communal areas to relax and watch monkeys play in the trees. Breakfast was really nice, and all staff were lovely and helpful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We would like to thank you for your kind review ,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again kind regards Lorraine & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Palm Grove. The couple Paul and Lorraine are really friendly and make time to have a chat. It imediatly felt like home. The rooms are big and clean. We had our best nights in this bed. We had a big and good breakfast in the morning. In the evening we stayed in the hammock at the rooftop... just wauw!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rooskurstjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

We would like to thank you for your kind review your comments mean a lot to us and our team it was lovely to meet you both every success in your new venture and we look forward to seeing you again kind regards Lorraine & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
0.2 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 34 in Unawatuna
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
733 reviews
1.7 km away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 162 in Unawatuna
232 reviews
0 km away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 162 in Unawatuna
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $52 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing