We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$91
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$166
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
235
25
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
25
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul lorraineguest houseexcellent hostsdrinks fridgepotted plantsdark alleyrooms are largesri lankabeds with mosquito netstucked awaymonkeys swingjungle settinglocal wildlifesurrounded by treeshighly recommend a staybeautiful accommodationhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 267 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Our best stay after 4 weeks Sri Lanka.
Lorraine and Paul have a personal approach. Every day a clean room and towels. Their staf is very friendly.
The accomodation is perfectly located with authentic rooms and two beautiful terasses.
Breakfast is amazing!
Thanks so much!
Esther and family

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Esther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

So sorry in late response laptop not working correct now fixed .We would like to thank you for your comments they mean a lot to us and our team so pleased you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again if you pass this way kind regards Lorraine & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Palm Grove is a fantastic little find. We stayed there with our wider family and felt really at home. The rooms a clean and comfortable in an awesome jungle setting. The staff are fantastic serving tasty breakfasts. The lovely couple that own the place are really friendly and helpful - if you're looking for a family friendly, affordable and comfy place to stay - this should be on your go to list!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious with free wifi - you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goughdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We at Palm grove would like to thank you for your kind review your comments mean a lot to us so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again if you pass this way kind regards Lorraine & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Palm Grove is a beautiful villa tucked down a tranquil passage at the top end of the unwatuna beach road. It's a super spot - neighbouring a couple of local families and one or two other small guest houses; away from the hustle and bustle of unawatuna in high season but close enough to stroll to be part of it. Standing on one of the two lovely big terraces, with their hammock and easy chairs, the only sounds you will hear are the monkeys chattering and the various birds squawking every now and again. It is bliss.
The rooms are lovely - spacious, spotlessly clean and full of character. From the wonderful wooden shutters to the teak four poster beds with mosquito nets they are traditional and practical and are serviced daily. Rooms are arranged around a pretty garden which is a lovely place to sit and read if your little one is sleeping and you don't want to be out of ear shot up on the terrace. The family room is huge, with 2 singles and a double. Masses of space.
Breakfast is a feast. Pancakes, omlettes, toast, cereal or Sri Lankan daal and hoppers (order the latter in advance) and is served on one of the terraces at pretty much any time when you wake. The housekeeping staff are very accommodating. The comfortable seating on the terrace is communal so its nice to share breakfast stories with other guests. We got great surfing lesson tips from a lovely German family (Paul and Lorraine organised it - ask them about Suhana) which added a new dimension to our holiday.
Unawatuna isn't short of choice in terms of places to stay but Palm Grove is special. Paul, Lorraine and their efficient local team are friendly, warm and extremely capable and they offer far more than a place to stay. From their in house tuk tuk service, to organising trips and transfers (at the market rate - so no chunks of commission whacked on top) they make sure and are genuinely keen that their guests get the full experience of that wonderful southern part of Sri Lanka. Paul and Lorraine are able to do this because they have immersed themselves on the local community and they are well known and well loved by restaurant owners, drivers and other local businesses. So when you come to Palm Grove you can use it as a base to explore southern Sri Lanka. Many guests book chunks of 3 nights here and 1 night elsewhere and then return for 2 nights and so on. And it really feels like coming home. We genuinely don't know how they do it for the very reasonable rates they offer. What a place. We never stay anywhere else when we are in the south.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

I'm so happy to have stayed at beautiful Palm Grove Owned by Paul & Lorraine and run by the kind & caring staff who look after me and make my stay a total pleasure & I love having my breakfast on one of the two terraces watching the monkeys swing from tree to tree eating fruit growing from the many trees - the rooms are light and cool with plenty of space with large comfortable beds - Palm Grove is a secret jem to find in lovely Unawatuna

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ashdavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

We had a really great stay at palm grove. The rooms are clean and spacious and there are a couple of lovely communal areas to relax and watch monkeys play in the trees. Breakfast was really nice, and all staff were lovely and helpful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

We would like to thank you for your kind review ,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again kind regards Lorraine & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews