We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and impeccable service!”

El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The service style is personalized, informal, caring. Our food is what a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. The atmosphere is quiet,laid back and tranquil with an open fireplace. No background music. Reservations recommended.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is fantastic and we ate 3 meals here as we srayed at the hotel. The food was so delicious with a good variety of items and excellent staff. The Tuna Tartar and the Beef Kabob skewer on sugar cane were fantastic. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Wendy_PlettSunTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Wendy H,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food so much.

Our Executive Chef, Federico Barrantes, has made a big effort to include local dishes or variations of these on our menu. For people that are curious about our menu's, they are posted on the website for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor

Buen Provecho!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018

Excellent place start by having a lovely cocktail, then eat a scrumptious meal while looking out over the stunning gardens watch the hummingbirds feeding

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank fattybumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear fattybumpkins.

Thank you for your comments.

You're right, if you want a chance to see the wildlilfe that lives in the gardens, it's a good idea to come during the day. Even better yet, come in the late afternoon for a walk in the garden, a drink with sunset and dinner by the fireplace.

Buen Provecho!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a more upscale dinner here while visiting Monteverde, and we were impressed by the very attentive service in the quiet and peaceful space. My chicken dish was delightful. Wish we had stayed for an after-dinner cocktail by the fire.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Satisfaction Specialist at El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear kseym,

Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor community.

You must visit us one more time, our bar serves up creative cocktails. Like the Jigüiro, with fresh guava juice, rum, triple sec and squeezed lemon, perfect to enjoy by the fireplace.

Buen Provecho!

Jenn Dunn Guest
Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

We ate all of our breakfasts and lunches here on our recent trip. The only reason we didn't have dinners here was because we were so tired after our long, wonderful days that we went to bed without it. Everything we ordered here was delicious and the wait staff are all so warm and lovely. A wonderful experience all the way around. Also, I think they make their iced tea with magic.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loumintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear loumintravels,

Thank you for your review, it's a honored to hear that your experience at El Jardín was wonderful experience all the way around.
Our Executive Chef, Federico Barrantes, has made a big effort to include local dishes or variations of these on our menu.

For people that are curious about our menu's, they are posted on the website for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor.

Buen Provecho!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

The drink selection at the hotel here is good. They have many interesting cocktails, but the food falls pretty flat. But for Costa Rica perhaps an above average rating would have been better.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SunnytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear SunnytheTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, your constructive criticism is welcomed as it help us to improve.
We wish you had told us that you didn't enjoy the food while you were still in the restaurant, we would have gladly done everything possible to find you a dish, on the menu or not, that you liked.

We are glad to hear that you found our cocktails interesting.

Buen Provecho!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to El Jardin at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing