We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
269
201
77
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
201
77
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummingbird feeders hiking trails cloud forest zip wire original canopy costa rica humming birds homemade granola night walk restaurant staff tin roof night tour canopy tour rooms are spacious in town bird watching couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 573 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Away from the crowds, up the hill and along a winding track into the forest. A perfect location to surround yourself with nature.

Decking outside the restaurant as well as windows overlooking the garden provide ample opportunities to view hummingbirds, brown jays - the national bird of Costa Rica - and the occasional motmot. The lodges are laid out in short terraces with gardens/forest in front - we sat coatis and agoutis feeding close by and one of the group saw an armadillo.

The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant menu is ample and portions are of a good size.

There are marked trails through the grounds of the property and those of an adventurous nature can partake in the zip wire experience above the forest.

A perfect setting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
personalizado1998, Gerente at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased that the clients leave us their experience lived in our hotel, they help us to know better how we are doing our work, it allows us to improve in everything that is within our reach. And in the case of you we are very pleased to know that the hotel filled all your expectations and that you were able to enjoy this natural paradise that we offer our clients, being out of town, not so far away, but not so close, it allows us to be a Biological corridor very important for the ecosystem and so that every person who visits us, can observe a variety of animals that are free.

Sincerely .
Wilberth Parajeles Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the service from all the team was flawless.

It was wonderful to sit on the veranda and watch the local birds and wildlife. I even enjoyed the dramatic thunderstorms.

Hope to have the opportunity to return to Cloud Forest Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globejetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
personalizado1998, Gerente at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thank you for your comment, thank you for staying at our hotel, we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we always care about giving our guests the best of each one. In our hotel we want to give the opportunity to those who visit us to enjoy nature in a special way surrounded by a primary and secondary forest where both people and animals can live together.

Sincerely.

Wilberth Parajeles Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Rustic clean lodges set in a superb location of primary and secondary forest. It is peaceful with plenty of beautiful birds and Agutis in its own grounds. The staff and the service is great. Everyone is smiling and helpful. When our transportation didn’t arrive, a staff member took us to our tour in her own car. The night walk was informative and well done. Having read some of the comments which aren’t so complementary, I would say, you need to remember you are in a remote location on a mountain. This is not roughing by any stretch of the imagination but it isn’t a resort (thank goodness!)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank MyrusCafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
personalizado1998, Gerente at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We want to say thank you for having stayed with us, it is always very helpful to know how our guests spend it and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for allowing us that approach with you and your child, this helps us to serve in a better way and if in the future returns to costa rica, we would very much like to consider visiting again.

Wilberth Parajeles Villegas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2018. The setting is lovely, slightly away from Santa Elena in the cloud forest - 30 min walk or a short taxi ride to town. The lodge style rooms were spacious and clean. We enjoyed the happy hour drinks in the bar which has a stunning view over the forest. We ate one night in the restaurant which was great food (big portions). Breakfast was good, cooked to order.
We also made use of the marked trails through the woods - nice to do that with no other people around you. Service was great - the staff in the bar/restaurant were really friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndyBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
personalizado1998, Gerente at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for your visit to visit our country and especially for having selected our hotel in Monteverde, we are glad that you have had a good time, it is good to know that our work is doing well and that with it our guests get a good experience, the way of being of the Costa Rican and the beauties that we offer them.
We hope that if you ever return to Costa Rica visit us again.

Wilberh Parajeles Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

nice secluded place
long trails inside the property where you can see animals and flora
staff definitely has an extra touch
breakfast are the best we had in CR with home made bread and granola
highly recommended

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank OdileMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge T, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you very much for your review!!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It has need or pleasure to serve you and hope to be able to serve you again in a not to distant future.

Jorge Taylor
President / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews