We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Monteverde” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Monteverde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Rainbow Valley Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Monteverde. Rolf was a wonderful host and extremely helpful. We spent 2 nights in the second floor cabin which had an incredible view over the forest. The room was spotless and cozy, and the bed was very comfortable. One of our best & most memorable nights in Costa Rica was spent sitting on the patio, drinking wine, and listening to the wind blow through the trees. We would love to return tomorrow and stay for a month!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHope715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    55
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
122
242
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Rainbow Valley Lodge. Our cabin was wonderful and had everything we needed. The setting was sublime! We stayed for two nights in March and can't wait to return. Rolf Hansen truely made you feel welcome and gave tremendous advice on where to eat and what to see. We highly recommend this Lodge to anyone looking for a true Cloud Forest experience!
Jim and Marcia, Marshall, Michigan

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

A cozy little cabin right outside of Monteverde/Santa Elena. His cabins were located right outside of town (Santa Elena) and were clean and comfortable, had 2 bathrooms and even it's own kitchen, complete with everything you need to cook up any meal. Rolf Hansen was a terrific host (super helpful) and his recommendations on restaurants and specific things to do while staying in the Monteverde area were spot on. He arranged a semi-private tour of the Reserva Biologica Bosque Nuboso Monteverde with a seasoned guide (Adrian Mendez) that turned out to be terrific Quetzal-viewing experience (well worth the price). As an added treat.. our new coati friend (el pizote) came each morning to our patio for his breakfast banana. Rolf is knowledgeable, accommodating and went of his way to make us feel like we had known him for years. If you are looking for a quiet and convenient location in a Cloud Forest setting you can't go wrong staying at Rainbow Valley Lodge.

Room Tip: It worked well for us, since we had our own rental 4x4. You need to either cook your own breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This place is paradise. My mom, sister, and I rented the top an bottom of the house there! It was great! Not only was it clean and spacious, we cooked breakfast on the enclosed porch every morning to an amazing view of the cloud forest. You are secluded and in nature!

Ralph, the owner, was so incredibly helpful. He arranged everything we did for us since he has good relationships with people there often at a discount.

After being there and seeing other places, I still think this is the best place in Monteverde to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTexas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As you can see from all of the previous reviews, this place is amazing, and pretty much speaks for itself. My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights during our Honeymoon trip to Costa Rica, and the accommodations, as well as our host Rolf, were nothing short of spectacular.
One thing I feel the need to point out, is how clean Rolf keeps this place. My husband and I both come from a hotel & hospitality background, so we have a trained eye to see things that a lot of people would simply overlook. Pretty much anywhere we stay (No matter how low or high end the place may be), we can always find things that haven't been cleaned or properly maintained. Not the case during our stay here. Over and over again, we kept commenting to each other on how impressed we were by how clean and well kept Rainbow Valley was. You can tell that Rolf has high standards, and takes true pride in his property and what he does. For those of you who cleanliness is on the top of your priority list, this is definitely the place for you!
I could go on forever about Rainbow Valley, but there's really no need. We stayed in the cabin for an overly reasonable $60 a night. Great view and patio area, fully equipped kitchen, and plenty of space. We also enjoyed several encounters with Diablo the Coati, for which Rolf supplied plenty of bananas. It's located within walking distance of town, but still makes you feel like you're right in the middle of nature with it's location on the edge of the forest.

Stay here. You will not find better accommodations or a better host, during your trip to Monteverde!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second visit to Rainbow Valley Lodge--stayed with Rolf last year in March and again this year. This is one of my favorite places in Costa Rica. The views are beautiful--and the rainbows in the valley were awesome!! Stayed in the family cabin with our two girls. The cabin is very clean, comfortably furnished with a wonderful view. This trip the wind blew and there was quite a bit of moisture in the air...however it is the cloud forest...and life goes on...the animals were as active as last year, the people just as friendly. Went to a new wildlife preserve this year with guide recommended by Rolf (Rafa)--lots of birds/animals and few people...We saw one other couple the entire day. We also toured the cheese factory and did a El Trapiche tour, which Rolf helped book for us. Can't say enough nice things about Monteverde and staying here...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wow! Trip Advisor reviews led us to Rainbow Valley Lodge for the second portion of our recent Costa Rican Spring Break trip. And we are so very glad we met Rolf and stayed at his amazing lodge. Rolf was helpful to us from the moment we booked 6 months ago. He offered great advice, and helped arrange our tours to Trapiche Coffee Plantation, and the MOST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING nature tour of the Curi-Concha Cloud Forest. We saw 6 Quetzals, male and female, during this tour, by the way...Rolf made us feel welcome, and provided common-sense advice that assisted us throughout Costa Rica. The cabin we rented for two nights was large, clean, and VERY private. A completely separate unit, with our own huge patio. The patio was immediately adjacent to the lush trees overlooking a valley where all kinds of amazing birds and critters lived. We had coatis come up and steal bananas from us...very fun. Rolf supplies the bananas, by the way. Our cabin had two separate sleeping areas (the master had a queen, its own full bathroom, and a ton of space, and a door), there was another full bathroom off the kitchen, and we had a functioning kitchen with fridge, and cooktop, sink, toaster, etc. It was wonderful ! We would hear the wind howling through the trees at night, and the birds singing in the morning. The cabins are on the outskirts of Santa Elena, we drove there in a 4 wheel drive (but of course! don't attempt to drive anything else in Costa Rica). The small town of Santa Elena offers many terrific low cost Costa Rican restaurants to enjoy. We highly recommend Rainbow Valley Lodge and plan on returning as soon as we can get back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdmromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.8 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.5 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing