We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepers in Monteverde is GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booking a hostel in Monteverde was a thumbsuck, but I struck lucky with Sleepers Sleep Cheaper! As I stepped off the bus from San Jose, Ronnie and his daughter were there to meet me and take me to the hostel. My room was spotlessly clean, with good quality bedding and a lovely bathroom. Ronnie and Yoselin were really informative about the tours available, and were fun to be with. A very positive experience. I will definitely stay there again if I return to Monteverde!

Room Tip: Top floor has comfy armchairs on the balcony ... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location for an amazing value. I stayed two nights and the owner helped me plan all my tours in Monteverde. He even helped me pick the best zip line tour based on my personality & likes. The breakfast was great: fresh fruit, coffee, cereal and eggs which was included.

The room was a little small for two bunk beds but the bathroom was huge.

I loved all the handmade woodwork furniture throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've spent 3 nights here in september. The rooms and bathroom are clean, and the included breakfast (with fresh fruits) is a great way to start your day. The family is great and treat its visitors with respect.

Sleepers hostel a great place to start exploring Monteverde and it's surroundings, and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wide range of activities offered. It's a great place for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed the family atmosphere, the service (the owner can tailor the trips he helps you book to what he thinks you'll enjoy from just a few Q's), and the room we stayed in. We stayed in the room at the top as it was only $2 more than the other private room we were shown. It had a nice little bar area and relatively nice views out across the hills. It also had a massive, comfortable bed. It is right across the road from where the bus to Monteverde cloud forest too. We booked a trip to a nature reserve for a night walk, which was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good people, very helpful. Great breakfast. Ronny was great to sit around and chat with about the local area and the activities that were around. He suggested great food, great coffee, and was really spot on. Extradordinarily clean bathrooms from what I have seen thusfar in Costa Rica. If you like muscle cars, be sure to ask Ronny about that as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. It's family own and operated. It's clean and the environment is very sympathetic and friendly. The location is great, in the core of Monteverde. There's also free breakfast that the wife cooks for you :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My friend and I spent a few nights here and had a great experience at Sleepers. It is very close to the local bus stop, which makes getting there very easy. The owner, Ronny, was there to greet us and gave us a sheet of the many informational and adrenaline activities around the area and helped us decide on which ones to do. He set up all of our tours and helped us arrange our days in the most time efficient manner. The breakfast there is second to none--fresh fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs, toast and coffee/tea. His wife and cute kids and there, who help with breakfast and the laundry service. We had a small problem with the WiFi for the couple days we were there, but he had it fixed by the time we left and in the interim had computers for us to use. He and his family were very sweet and accommodating and really made for a great experience in Santa Elena. We would definitely stay there again and recommend you to stay there too!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
272 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
732 reviews
0.1 km away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#10 of 34 in Santa Elena
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.3 km away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $26 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing