We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, welcoming and helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We loved it here! The owner Ronnie and his Brother Mauricio (i may have spelt that very wrong) were the friendliest and most welcoming people we had met in 4 months of travel.
The kitchen was super clean and well looked after.
The TV in the communal area had English film and sport channels, which is an awesome added bonus!
The location is perfect! Right in the main part of town, 1 minute from the superstore.
Ronnie told us everything we needed to know about all the sights and free hikes around and his recommendations were great and free!!
This Hostel is made to take good care of weary travellers.
Thanks for everything Ronnie and Mauricio!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

My first impression was lets turn around and find another hostel because everything looks a bit old and there was some maintanance going on.
I am glad I stayed. Prices were super cheap and included a breakfast which consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, bread and eggs.
Wifi isnt amazing and the rooms are a bit old but clean and I would always come back.
Owner helped us out with booking transport and activities.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jennyx17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

I booked and paid online before seeing the hostel because it had a lot of good reviews.... big mistake!! The 4 person dorm is so tiny.... 2 sets of bunk beds so close together and no other place to set anything down. It smells horrible, like mildew and sweaty feet. A girl in my dorm was really sick and coughing a lot and since the room is so tiny you could just feel the germs everywhere. When I told the manager that i was not comfortable staying in the room and asked for my money back so I could find a new hostel, I was told no refunds. I insisted that I could not stay in that room with the sick girl, so he agreed to let me stay in a private room for 1 night rather than the dorm for 2 nights. I agreed. The private room was much bigger but just as stinky and musty.
Breakfast was ok but the people were really rude
I couldn't wait to get out of there!!!
There are multiple other hostels in Monteverde that are only $1-$4 more per night. I highly recommend paying the tiny bit more then staying at this horrible place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Briana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

It's a small hostel with 3 floors. Decent wifi, hot showers & free breakfast. Its a little tired but functional. The street is noisy, so bring ear plugs. The owners are friendly & helpful, they have helped us book all our tours and they've all been great. Good value for the money.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Great location and awesome single top level apartment style pad. The hostel has three floors and you can rent the entire top floor as it is a private room with a large kitchenette, 2 beds, a full bathroom with a large shower, a private balcony and a great view of the town of Monteverde! It is mostly cottage style, so the walls and ceiling are made of wood, but the floors and the entire bathroom is tiled. Clean, friendly, very informative, offer laundry service at a fee and a free breakfast every morning of fresh cut fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs and toast and coffee or tea!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This hostel was great! The owner and staff are always happy to help, the lady who greeted me when I arrived took the time to explain everything about the hostel, town and activities. The free breakfast was fantastic with fruit, cereal, eggs and toast all prepared for you. Hot showers with decent water pressure, and a nice balcony to chill out or meet people.
Wifi can be a little slow sometimes but not th end of the world. For $10 a night it's cheaper than most in the area, I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sn0wflake1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

I loved this place. We stayed in the rooftop room. Super clean, great, friendly and helpful staff, good value and perfect location. Definitely not a party hostel. But who comes to Monteverde to party? Big plus for the included breakfast.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
733 reviews
0.1 km away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#11 of 34 in Santa Elena
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.3 km away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $26 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing