We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Obzor
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is furnished very stylish! The rooms are spacious and very well cleaned and aromatic. Bathroom is also very big and clean.
The restaurant has a huge terrace with beautiful view. The food in the main menu is delicious and served very elegant. Rosica from the restaurant is very polite and makes a really good impression with her service.
The breakfast from the buffet is not so good, but enough.
There are three pools and the pool area is very well planted.
The guys on the pool bar are very polite and make also very delicious pizzas and sandwiches.
The only minus is that the hotel is a little bit far away from the beach, but I have to appreciate the fact, that they have built a stable wooden path through the forest.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TeaZarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

The place is very beautiful indeed. The rooms are spacious and cozy. The staff at the reception were nice and friendly too. The staff in restaurant is the best, very nice and friendly. If you will ever visit Obzor city, choose this hotel. We are looking to visit it next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Positives: our apartment was spacious with nice views. Beach was nice once we got down the rickety stairs which are in need of repair. A/c worked well and balcony was spacious. Lobby was quite nice.
Negatives: sleeping difficult as no blackout curtains and beds were rock hard. breakfast was inedible and each morning I had to endure muffled music from a half working speaker. No room service. Pool water was dirty with insects floating on top, missing tiles, and the decking melted in the sun, staining my stuff. Jacuzzi jets had no power and inside spa was not free. The apartment had its own boiler which was not sufficient for family of 4. Water went cold while showering. Apartment had old fashioned key which was hard to use. Soap, loo paper and towels not always replenished until I complained. Staff were not particularly friendly and never smiled. Only 1 lift worked and it seemed unsafe as it dropped 2 inches as I entered. No fire doors on the stairwell.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Situated on the cliffs, in the middle of a forest and just steps away from the beach, this hotel can offer you an apartment, studio or double room. They have great swimming pool, spa area, massages and a fitness. The restaurant has a great new Chef that transformed all their cuisine. The place is very clean, the view from the rooms is incredible. It is a true retreat for stressed out professionals and an inspiring spot for adults with creative jobs. You can also grab your laptop and work here in calm environment.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

The place is not too bad , the rooms are fine , the swimming pools are fine but the staff is bellow any standards . We was welcomed well the porter helped with the luggage . We booked two bed flat with two bathrooms , the first surprise came when we went to take shower, the kids took a shower first ( two kids ) and there was not any more hot water after them . We was told that we have boiler that boiling the water and once the hot water finished we have to wait for few hours to worm it again , it was 19:00 and we was starving so 4 adults had to take a cold shower . On the next day we spend the day at the pool , spend a bit of money at the bar and we left we was asked by the bar man to clean around the sun beds that we used . That was absolutely shocking and we decided to leave the place

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Iliyan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCliff_Management, Director of Sales at The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment! We are sorry that a part of our service did not match your expectations! All apartments at the hotel have private heaters and the capacity of hot water is subject of personal usage. No further claims has been received yet. Regarding the pool area guests are advised to use garbage bins for their personal garbage in order not to create discomfort to the rest of the guests by throwing waste around.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

The place is very beautiful indeed. The rooms are spacious and cozy. The staff at the reception were nice and friendly too.
But that's the good part...
Here is the bad part:
The SPA worked until 6pm even though it was written in the business hours that works to 9pm.
We wanted to order room service but we were told that they don't have enough staff and it is not possible (we asked for a menu first, since there wasn't a room service menu at the room, when we called at the reception to order a dinner, they informed us that the room service is actually not available...)
However, we decided to go to the restaurant, order there and took the food to our room by ourselves. By the way the food which we ordered was tasty and not too expensive. The prices were equal to a good restaurant in a big city.
The worst part was that at 10pm we decides to take a shower... and guess what there wasn't any hot water at the property... we call the reception and they told us that there were 70 people at the hotel and that's why we don't have hot water.... what a stupid excuse... The capacity of the hotel is far beyond 70 people and I wonder what will happen if all rooms are occupied. They offered to move
us to the room next to ours. We didn't accept as there was no hot water there as well.
We checked out at 10:30pm and moved to another hotel with hot water. We refused to pay for our "stay" and the hotel management agreed. We paid just for the food and left.
That's the end of the story. Despite the good looking rooms and the nice view we won't come back ever there!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Avgustina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCliff_Management, Manager at The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment regarding your short stay at The Cliff! We are thankful that you noted our comfortable room and nice hotel atmosphere! We regret the fact that you experienced some subjective inconvenience. We are sorry in case of any misunderstanding but we would like to clarify that the water temperature is being maintained to follow standards and no complains from any of the other more than 70 guests that you mentioned were received. No exscuses in connection to the hotel occupancy were declared by our staff or management. We always do our best to provide guests with alternatives and to sort any technical problems that arise as soon as possible. No agreement of non payment was given by our manager, as a reply to your categorical refusal to settle the bill for the used for half day room. We are very sorry that you were not able to accept any alternative in a patient manner.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

It's far far away from 4 star hotel. Please note, the plate by the restaurant says it is 3 star, however it's even far away from 2 star. The quality and variety of food is unacceptable. It needs improvement or you'll lost the very few guests dared to stay there for the rest of their holiday.
I have to admit that rooms and apartments are very spacious and if they are with sea view, it's breathtaking. So beautiful nature, unfortunately the management don't know how to take advantage of this. We stayed in apartment. There are air conditions (in bedroom and sitting room), TV set, hair dryer, fridge, microwave, kettle, hob and dishwasher.
Mostly guests are from Romania, Ukraine and Russia. Needless to say staff don't speak neither of their languages (only Vladimira speaks Russian). So if you are either English, German or Bulgarian speaking you'll feel isolated.
I have to mention there is NO entertainment. After 8p.m. it's quiet and dark. Not even the bar is open. WiFi exist only on travel agencies's adverts.
The hotel is located away from the town. If you need to go to Obzor by taxi they'll charge you between 10 and 20 BGL (5€-10€) one way depending what's your nationality. Ridiculous! Normally it should be 1€.
Swimming pools are almost empty. Water is COLD all day long. If you dare to dip your feet you're risking to be splashed or even hit by jumping/ diving Russian teenagers (they dive from top swimming pool to the bottom one). None of the staff speak Russian neither dare to tell them off. Tiles around the edges of the pools are broken. Inner jacuzzi doesn't work unless you ask for it but again water is freezing cold. If you wish to use Steam room you'll have to pay extra and it's not always working. Shame.
The nearest beach is about 400 metres plus 200 steps down, not 50m as widely advertised. The steps are wobbly and covered with sand, so unsecure.
No lifeguards neither at swimming pools area nor on the beach down the stares.
If there's something broken in the room or in need of replacement you'll have to be consistent to call them many times and be patient, very patient. Even a simple job as changing a bulb will take ages to be done.
The Cliff Beach and Spa staff please do the necessary management improvements, it's of great need. Do not relay on your old glory. Guests won't come back as they have done this in the past years. It has been beautifully builded with spacious rooms surrounded by amazing nature but with poor maintenance over the years.
I'll rate it with 2 stars just because of the beautiful view from our apartment.

Room Tip: Room with sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Iv I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCliff_Management, Director of Sales at The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for spending your time to write a review 6 months after your stay! It is nice to hear that you liked our rooms and apartments and we are sorry to find that part of our service did not match your expectations. Our complex is open and dedicated to tourists of all nationality searching for full relax and recreation in luxe surrounded by pure nature. That is why we do not offer any noisy animation or night entertainment. For those that are missing this type of free time options, Obzor will offer plenty of choices. The Hotel is categorized with 4 stars and the restaurant with 3 stars that is quite normal and will not prevent our staff to offer even 5 star services. We are surprised to hear that you did not enjoy our pools as they are one of the things that we are much proud of. They are outdoor , sunheated and it is technically impossible to be left empty. Regarding the taxi services we always advise our guests to use our shuttle to Obzor at the price of 1 euro, or at least to ask reception to call for a taxi that will take not more than 5 euros. During high season the hotel is engaged and sometimes maintenance delays may happen but please be sure that all technical problems are being eliminated in specified time. Once again thank you for your notes and suggestions they will be considered!

Yours sincerely

Ivaylo Boev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obzor hotels
3.3 km away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 18 in Obzor
299 reviews
1.4 km away
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Paraiso Beach Hotel
#14 of 18 in Obzor
58 reviews
2.8 km away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#4 of 18 in Obzor
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#10 of 18 in Obzor
10 reviews
1.3 km away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#9 of 18 in Obzor
25 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Jemelly
Hotel Jemelly
#13 of 18 in Obzor
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort

Address: South Beach, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Obzor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
Price Range: $62 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Beach Hotel Obzor
The Cliff Beach And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing