We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average for Plitvice”
Review of Vila Cancar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vila Cancar
Ranked #2 of 16 Grabovac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Communist era ...small rooms hotel is dated and needs refurbishing....would suggest looking at other options or some of the private rooms in family run places....there are dozens of them around on on the road coming from Split

Room Tip: would suggest looking at other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiiguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2016

Fantastic new modern rooms, great kitchen with local food (prepared by the owners). After a long motorcycle ride from Sarajevo through the rain the owners couldn't do enough for us. From drying our clothes to organizing snacks/dinner at our convenience.

A late night of us drinking ended with a personalized history of the conflict in the area.

If you are staying in the area to see the park I strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWG1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Everything was very good. It's very close to Plitvice lakes. The lady was very kind and helpful. The rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was just ok, and the coffee was not very good at all. They did not accept credit cards.

Room Tip: Don't bother with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StvKoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Not much to say, simply a clean and friendly place to stay. Breakfast offers all you need. Dinner option is available. Free WiFI is available, too. They accept Kuna and Euro - no plastic money. Free parking is on site.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We had a lovely 4 night stay here. We had visited the area to visit the Plitvice National Park, and were only a few miles away.
The host spoke excellent English and was very welcoming. We ate in their small restaurant and enjoyed every meal, We also paid the additional cost for breakfast, which was excellent value. The room was large and well furnished. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We stayed with a family of 6 and rented a 2 bedroom apartment and a hotel room. Both were very comfortable with plenty of towels including washcloths and bar soap. Both the breakfast and dinner were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank J_D_Wett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Plitvice Lakes is strange...the park is beautiful but remote, and I guess Croatians don't camp like in national parks in the U.S., so the park is surrounded by all manner of small guest houses and pensions. When we were there in the off-season, many hadn't opened yet or were only half-full, so the whole area is pretty sleepy. The places on paper seem to be pretty similar, so we chose Vila Cancar based on its good Trip Advisor reviews and location close to the park entrance.

The place is small, maybe 6-8 rooms? It's right off the main highway going north from the park entrance (towards Zagreb). The building seems very modern - purpose built to be a pension. There were two other groups staying when we were there. We were tired after a long day, so decided to just eat at there - they were cooking to order only from guests staying there, so we had a pretty short menu! My wife's shrimp was good my pork was OK. We also got breakfast, which was pretty typical of Croatian hotel breakfasts.

Room was large and comfortable. Hotel is VERY quiet. Hostess was super nice, took care of everything we needed. Was perfectly fine for what we needed. Great wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabovac
0.6 km away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
342 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
606 reviews
6.0 km away
Tourist Centar Marko
Tourist Centar Marko
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
136 reviews
0.6 km away
House Tina
House Tina
#1 of 16 in Grabovac
329 reviews
15.8 km away
House Izvor
House Izvor
#7 of 107 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Cancar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Cancar

Address: Grabovac 235 | Plitvice Lakes, Grabovac, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Grabovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Grabovac
Price Range: $69 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Cancar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Cancar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Cancar Croatia/Grabovac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing