We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-27
Expedia.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-28
Hotels.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-28
eDreamsUS$212
TravelocityUS$211
CheapTicketsUS$211
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
349
72
30
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
349
72
30
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cheneviere main building junior suite grounds are beautiful normandy region vegetable garden chateau beatrice beaches sights retreat slippers wwii caen cemeteries memorial
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 463 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2019

Fantastic hotel! Fabulous location for exploring the WWII DDay landing beaches, museums and cemeteries in the area. The hotel was more like staying in a quiet country estate with lovely gardens, quiet and comfortable rooms, excellent and attentive staff and amazing French food in both restaurants we ate in during our stay. One was very gourmet, the other was more upscale country club food in a beautiful greenhouse setting. Both outstanding! Loved the WWII photography exhibit of DDay veterans in their little gallery. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and hope to stay in again! Highly recommended!

Room tip: If you have ambulatory issues, consider staying on the ground level.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefroggieplanet, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Dear BuckeyeDi,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay! we are glad to hear you found both restaurants outstanding and that you loved as well our exhibit of Portraits of D-Day Veterans that we are hosting to mark the 75th anniversary of the Normandy Landings, John Riedy is really a great photographer.
We hope to welcome you back on a future trip!
Best regards,
Françoise FAUQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2019

We have been coming to Chateau La Cheneviere for over 10 years and always have a wonderful time here. From the beautiful Chateau and grounds to the wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you and despite some ‘unusual’ requests from us are always charming and willing to go ‘the extra mile’. We love it here and wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else when in Normandy.
The restaurant too is fabulous, from the food, the ambience and especially the staff. A special mention to our ‘ray of sunshine’ every morning who greets us for breakfast with a beautiful smile - you know who I mean!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnWatts037
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefroggieplanet, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Dear AnnWatts037,
Thank you for your kind review, it is such a pleasure to hear from our loyal guests! Please know we truly appreciate welcoming you back each time and we all look forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Françoise FAUQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

I am not sure why this hotel gets such good reviews. On the positive, the grounds are beautiful and the people friendly. Breakfasts are very good.
Unfortunately the rooms are tired and not in the luxury class. We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights- a junior suite and a suite. Both were tired- the junior suite is no more than a glorified room defined not a junior suite. The suite does have a sitting area but it is only divided from bedroom by partial wall. Again tired and needs extensive remodeling- at 1227 euros and 155 euros each per night you would have think it would be nicer. When we arrived, no bellman to help with luggage- both rooms were on the second floor with no elevator. Thankfully our driver helped us bring up the bags.
We had 2 little bars of soap and 1 liquid body wash. Neither were replenished and at the end of our stay we only had a 1/4 of a little bar to shower. The vanity kit- Q Tips and make up pads was also not replaced after we used it the first night. I sent laundry out including 3 dress shirts- they came back wrinkled and not being able to be worn- waste of money.
While the main restaurant was good it is not up to 1 star Michelin standards and far better restaurants in Bayeux. Try La Ripiera or Laurent for better food.
I am sure there are far superior hotels in the area. I would not recommend this hotel, especially after staying at the Ritz in Paris- real disappointment.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EdwardD718
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Dear Mr Edward - D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your insights. We were very pleased to read that you found the grounds beautiful and the people friendly and were sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly working on upgrading our hotel for our guest’s enjoyment and comfort, so your feedback based on your personal experience is very valuable for us to improve our procedures and level of service in order to obtain a Michelin star in the restaurant and the quality of service of a palace like the Ritz. Your comments were passed to the relevant departments, but we are sorry that you never mentioned anything during your stay, we would have done the necessary to meet your needs. Our dedicated team always aim to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time.

As you have noticed our guests love our property and service which we are very proud of. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Yours Sincerely,
Françoise FAUQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2019

This is the most beautiful respite while touring Normandy that you could find. It feels like staying on the grounds of a billionaire friend's mansion, although we don't have any billionaire friends. The rooms are beautiful, each unique. The restaurants are top notch using ingredients grown from their garden. The service from the front desk to breakfast assistance was excellent. Walking the grounds was so peaceful and felt like a privilege. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. It was very easy to find with GPS, off a main road. A stay to remember and hopefully be repeated in the future.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hawaii_traveler200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefroggieplanet, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2019


Dear Hawaii_Traveler 200

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you loved the location, enjoyed our beautiful grounds and found the staff pleasant and helpful. They will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments. We look forward to having you back again soon! Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2019

We had a lovely stay at this chateau for two nights. Everything was impeccable—the room, the food, the service. The grounds are lovely and there are big bouquets of fresh flowers everywhere. Everyone was incredibly polite and helpful. The kids’ menu at the five star restaurant is a steal for a fine dining menu with large portions. We had such a refreshing time in Normandy and at this chateau, we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefroggieplanet, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2019

Dear Sue h,
Thank you for your kind review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again at la Cheneviere. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of summer!
Best regards,
Françoise FAUQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews