We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An enjoyable stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SuffolkMa...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The property is Ideally situated if visiting the Dday Beaches, Museums etc. It is located on the D514 which during our stay was quite a busy road.
The property has a very pretty enclosed garden with separate access from the kitchen. There is a separate sitting area with BBQ/fire and car parking area which can be closed off by electric gates. Although we were related we were 5 adults but 2 families and arrived with two cars. We found that we were unable to park either of the cars on the drive and close the gates, we were unable to get both cars on the drive but thank goodness there was a free public car park just down the road.
When we originally booked the property it stated that there were 2 bathrooms. This changed before our stay so we had 1 separate toilet (no handbasin) and a separate shower room which had a double handbasin, the shower was very good but this arrangement did cause problems at each end of the day. Especially if the shower room was being used when someone used the loo! (with no hand basin)
There is a ground floor bedroom which is just off the lounge and the stairs go up from the lounge to an open plan bedroom which is light and airy. The stairs are very steep and although has a stair gate at the top even the adults found it quite difficult to negotiate ..... but watch your head when going up and down!
The lounge does have an open fire available and enough seating for 6 people. There is good wifi available.
The kitchen has a lovely large dining table. There are lots of kitchen gadgets and equipment to use but lacks baking trays and mugs for tea (we only found 2 mugs so had to buy our own) we could also have done with clean oven gloves.
Sophie who met us at the property was very nice, she visited us the night before our departure to arrange where to leave the key and to collect the tourist tax.
Overall the property was good but did have a few niggles for our party.
We probably would stay again but would prefer to have two bathrooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

After a shaky start, which to be fair could have been down to a misunderstanding, and was sorted by a quick call to the tripadvisor support team ( highly recommend taking a note of the number with you, as they are excellent at sorting things out should you need them) We had a truly memorable week discovering the D Day landing beaches and catching up on history. The gits was clean, and had all the amenites you could need on a vacation. Wonderfully located. We would stay again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only x1 bathroom and upstairs mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michel998
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were in the Gite to attend the many events scheduled for the 71 anniversary of D-Day, for which it is very strategically positioned.

Having been in rental housed many times, this is certainly one of the best. The house is decorated and equipped to the highest standards, and literally everything you would wish for is there, including fast and reliable WIFI an important asset in 2015 :)

If our schedule and budget permits we will definitely be back next year(s)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spacious bathroom and large fully equipped kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing