We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely village-house in picturesque french...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
La Garde-Freinet, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nina_Otte...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Lovely village-house in picturesque french Surroundings”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed very nice days at the Nut-House, felt very comfortable and "home". Everything was exactly as described. An original, typic old french house. Very picturesque, charming & lovely! The communication with James was very easy, we got precise site information and always instant answers, when we had any questions. I recommend James as a perfect host. Especially noteworthy is, that we didn´t have to bring linen and towels and even the kitchen provides basic foods, spices and beverages! We only needed to replace, what we used. Especially when arriving late at night or at sundays, this is really helpful. We would love to come back!

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words Nina.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa5052
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming traditional village house on three levels”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent one week at the beginning of March in this charming, nicely decorated house. The location of the house is excellent, in the very center of the village but in a quiet street. The house was very well equipped, even with wine and beer. Although it was a bit chilly outside, especially evenings and mornings, the house was warm and cozy. The hosts are very attentive and provide us with all necessary information.
Thanks to its location the Nut House is a very good base to explore Provence.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the center of the village but in a quiet street
Liked least: 3 levels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would welcome you back again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisa572
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My family together with our son 10 years had a wonderful time in the house, even in the autumn. We liked absolutely everything: warm and welcoming house, the old town, the beautiful nature. We have walked into the mountains, have opened new plants and fruits, breathing crystal clear air, visited the city museum and the local church. People around were helpful and nice. We will definitely return to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a combination of ancient and convenience
Liked least: It was raining one day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed the house, village and area as we do.
If you return we would love to welcome you back and always have a special price for returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having food, beer, wine and toys etc available, as well as the presentation of the property.
Liked least: The hot water runs out if a whole family are having showers, and washing up.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay in our little house and we are glad you enjoyed it, the village and area.
We too love sitting in the village with a glass of wine listening to the live music which although is mainly May to September is often also arranged outside of peak season.
The village organise events throughout the year including one of the busiest the Chestnut Festival towards the end of October.
We would love to welcome you back in the future and always offer a good discount to returning customers.
Happy Travelling
James, Moira and Imogen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
We are glad you enjoyed The Nut House, La Garde Freinet and surrounding area.
We would love to welcome you back again anytime, you will find there is always something new to see and do.
Happy Travelling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you for the nice words, we try to make our little house a home from home for our guests.
The village is certainly a piece of real France in the middle of all the glitz and glamour of the Côte d'Azur.
We welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
985vicki
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week, perfect house in perfect village!”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just had an excellent week staying in The Nut House, it was absolutely perfect for two couples. A traditional French cottage which has been so tastefully decorated and furnished, fully equipped and a great location.

Spoilt for choice for places to eat out and made very welcome by all.

So much to see and do, will def need to go back to finish off our 'to do' list!

Many thanks to James and Moira

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you for being perfect guests and you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing