We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
83
46
10
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
46
10
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2017

we found this place serendipitously. Just saw is as we drove by and said what a lovely place. And it is. The young couple that run it are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a delight. Dinner (this is an auberge, after all) was excellent and beautifully served. Breakfast of fresh bread and jams was served outdoors and was delicious.

Room tip: Choose a lower room, preferably not a suite. Ours had stairs leading up to another room, and we could hear them up there.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leathem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a 5 hour journey from Spain and were greeted as met by a feet amenable member of staff

My wife and daughter set off to find a loo ad returned with the girl who then proceeded to walk us around th aback of the deserted outside area , apart from the pool area , wire fencing and plastic chairs scattered willy Nillynaround an extremely unkemp pool .

The room wellness we entered it was in a very in attractive block of other rooms open to the elements and the room she offered us was damp and in poor state of repair , so we asked if there was a better room , to which she replied , 'non !' A bit too quickly and without any delay we said we would think about it and promptly left to go to the peace and tranquility of Siagnon , 5 kms away where we found the super oasis of Bastide de Jas

In all the hotel was just not up to scratch , no charm no nicotine just a motel sitting on the edge of a super village and by a busy road

Sorry management but you need to invest in the amenities and smarten up the rooms .

Thank JAMESBERKELEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline A, Propriétaire at Hotel Lou Caleu, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016
Google Translation

Monsieur James BERKELEY,
Merci d'avoir exprimé vos préoccupations au sujet de notre établissement...
Voilà les mots sympathiques que j'aurais pu vous écrire si votre avis était fondé.
Mais il est vrai que Tripadvisor vous invite à formuler un avis et vous ne vous en êtes pas privé. Tripadvisor vous fourni le bâton et vous nous frappez sans retenue !
Alors que vous n'avez même pas séjourné chez nous !
Merci Tripadvisor de publier (après enquête) les mensonges d'un de vos membres, je pense que la communauté de voyageurs bienveillants mais surtout bien voyants, saura déchiffrer le vrai du faux.
Salutations distinguées

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

We reserved online in advance, and when we arrived on a very hot afternoon after a long drive, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our cool and comfortable triple room by our charming hostess, Pauline. The guest rooms are scattered about in the hotel and restaurant grounds, all a bit higgledy piggledy, but full of Provençal character, with an outdoor pool adding to the charm, and all nicely done, with lighting and planting to suit the ambience. Very laid back and accommodating style. Restaurant was excellent! So good, we ate there both nights of our stay - why would we drive elsewhere, with such interesting menus and great local wines!? The menus didn't offer much selection, but the food was really fresh and absolutely delicious. We had booked B & B, which included a basic breakfast of pastries/bread, juice & coffee - but with delicious homemade jams. The Luberon national park is very close, and cycling paths go past the door, so a nice mix of visitors of different nationalities, families and couples. And the restaurant seemed popular with local customers, so best to book! A lovely place to pause in this beautiful area!

Room tip: We had a quieter room away from the road.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Had this recommended to us by friends who also live locally. Nice sunny terrace particularly good on Sunday lunchtime when the D900 is not so busy.

Charming family run business with excellent food at good value. Short but well - selected wine list. My wife had what she describes as the best foie gras starter she has ever had. Home cooked with home made fig preserve. My goat's cheese salad mesclun was perfect. Also a wonderful salmon and mango starter. Fresh grilled sea bass, duckling and pork mignon as mains. Great desserts. Good coffee and charming service.

We will return

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline A, Propriétaire at Hotel Lou Caleu, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

All the team of Lou Caleù thank you for your review on Tripadvisor left.
We are delighted that your lunch at our restaurant you have enjoyed.
We hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Pauline (x2) & Jean-Jacques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We could hardly have asked for more. Kind hosts, a beautiful setting, fine dining and super value for money. All this and an excellent swimming pool.
Rooms are in a complex of traditionally styled buildings with modern amenities, no lack of hot water and there is air conditioning.
The new owners only took over this year but they certainly deserve to succeed.
Meals here are delicious and wines well chosen.
The Luberon and nearby Apt are charming and relaxing. Saturday market in Apt is a must - everyone's dream Provençal market. Saint Martin de Castillon is well worth a visit - a photogenic perched village with its own bar, tabac and bistro.
We will be back!

Room tip: Rooms near the pool are quieter
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher_Laws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews