We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
24
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful property lovely lady swimming pool libyan sea next year the owner bed crete town studio beaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

We originally thought we'd booked one of the very luxurious multi-room apartments on the first floor, but an administrative mix-up meant it was already reserved. So we were offered a ground floor studio apartment on the ground floor - and we're very pleased we were. It was half the price of the original apartment but just as well presented and equipped. We didn't use the rudimentary cooking facilities so there was no problem in one-room living. The large room was immaculate, newly decorated and very clean with access to a private ground floor sitting area outside. Chris, the lady in charge at Libyan Mare (the owner's very glamorous mother!) gave us a brilliant welcome and was really helpful throughout. We had a problem with our hire car on the first day and she dealt with the hire company on the phone for us while the gardener kindly diagnosed the fault (a dud battery).

The hotel has a superb pool which is maintained immaculately, and beautiful grounds. Each apartment also has a designated garden table and chairs under its own olive tree for sitting outside in the shade.

The position was perfect for us. It's located just a few hundred metres outside the edge of Paleochora and has no other buildings around. In the car it's literally one minute back into town or about ten minutes on foot.

If you're looking for a quiet but VERY civilised place to stay in this wonderfully unspoilt town, this could be the place for you. If you're feeling flush, book one of the superb upstair apartments with beautiful balconies overlooking the sea. And if you end up in one of the ground floor studios, you won't be doing too badly either.

We're going back next year.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017

This is a beautiful property with very spacious and tastefully decorated suites. The bed was probably the best one I've laid on throughout all my travels so far and the AC worked very well on both floors. Everything is always impeccably cleaned and bins are emptied on a daily basis. The upper balcony provides a beautiful view over the Libyan sea and the swimming pool which is the right size. There are plenty of umbrellas for you to take cover of the sun and also some trees providing some wonderful shade. Although the property is indeed lovely what made this a very special experience was the owner. What a lovely lady she is. She really went the extra mile to provide for all our needs and she even did something she was not obliged to at all. Since we had a very late out bound flight she told us to enjoy the room and the swimming pool as long as we wanted which we did until it was time to go to the airport. She was really friendly, polite and always concerned with our well being. She provided us with all the necessary information for our stay in Crete to become memorable. We've spent 11 nights there and I really can't wait for the opportunity to come back. The south of the island is much better than the north. People are so friendly and nice, the beaches are to die for, the food is absolutely amazing and the views are just breathtaking. We will definitely come back to this little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John X, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Libyan Mare, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation.

We hope to accommodate you again in our place.

Kind regards John Charitakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

I spent a couple of days there in October. This place is amazing, the apartment was huge with incredible terrasses. The view on the gardens and on the sea is beautiful.
The kitchen contains everything you need. The TV works well. The only thing could be the bed, not as confortable as the rest of the flat (made of two mattress). The garden is beautiful and decorated with taste. The building seems brand new. There is a lot of space to park the car and then town is just a couple of minutes away.
This is a dream location to spend holidays in Crete with family and children or just to relax in couple.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank scd2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This is a beautiful property, created with great care and thought. It is a 10-15min walk into the main town (although take a torch at night, as the road is unlit) and just across the road from the beach.

Our suite was large, bright, beautifully furnished with a wonderful balcony overlooking the bay and the Libyan Sea. The place is very quiet and perfect for relaxing.

The owners are not at all intrusive, but easy to contact if needed. Our main point of contact was with Crisa, who we met on several occasions and what a lovely lady she is. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she gave us many great recommendations for the best places to eat and also on our last night helped us finalise some last minute travel arrangements. Whilst she did this, she made us the best Greek coffee ever and treated us to some fresh fruit from the garden and local cakes.

Considering the place is just over a year old, they have landscaped the gardens very well, although many plants were young and clearly struggled with their first summer, but we can't wait to see how it has developed when we come back next year.

Just one last thing, forget all the fancy restaurants listed on Trip Advisor, as absolutely the best place to eat is the little beach bar across the road from Libyan Mare. Run by Janni and his mum and dad, What can be turned out of that little canteen kitchen on the beach is nothing short of spectacular. Grilled octopus, sardines, home made burger, home made souvlaki, the best rabbit stifado ever and hospitality so warm it made us want to eat and drink there every day

Room Tip: Upper floors give even better views of the sea
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We stayed 11 nights in suite 3. This property is not a hotel. There are 4 suites spread over the first and second floors with several studios on the ground floor.
The bed was the comfiest we have EVER had in Greece. Fabulous! This was upstairs with the sofa bed, bathroom and mini kitchen downstairs.
Notes- the bathroom is not on the same level as the bedroom and there is very little shade on the terrace.
Wonderful swimming pool which we had to ourselves most of the time.
Very clean suite, bins emptied daily and sheets changed regularly.
Excellent AC on both levels.
We felt we needed to drive into Paleochora at night as it is a very fast, unlit road with no streetlights & too dark to walk on the beach.
Tips: Zorba The Greek showing at the cinema every Monday night - great fun.
Houmas restaurant about 4km further out of Paleochora - lovely food and gorgeous sandy beach. We spent several days here.
Restaurant in Anidri was amazing. I had prune and blue cheese tart - to die for.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmackYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews