We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horizon Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a place”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I would like to thank stavros giorgi kostas popi book this hotel as it was my boyfriends 50 we went with friends they could not do enough for us all
just a short walk into stalis ive never been bother to write on a review befor but this hotel and the oweners make it every thing is what you would expect from a greece hotel
people who have wrote a bad review are either to posh for greece or they need there eyes tested
all four of us had a lovely time clean rooms clean every thing food was more than enough
we will all be back next may see you then

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    183
    106
    81
    70
See reviews for
161
227
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baia Mare, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

It's a good 3* hotel, in a good position (between Hersonissos and Malia), quiet place.
The hotel has no sandy beach but in 5 min walk (at the left or right) you are on the sandy beach.Bus stop is very close to the hotel.
The hotel has a few buildings, in a garden. We stayed in one with 1 floor, at the grand floor, view to beach and to the bay of Stalida. The room was simply furnished but clean. The bathroom had window
Great staff. The lady from the reception helped us to get a big discount to rent a car and explained us what to visit.
The food is good, tasty, enought diversity.
We enjoyed to stay here. I recommanded.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cristina788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zalau, Salaj, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

First of all, the view was a dream because when you eat in the restaurant in the morning you see the sunrised above the sea and you feel the small of the fresh air...is very fine...and in the afternoon you see the sunset and is very relaxing. The pool is very clean, every night an employed is cleaning it...the view from the pool is also marveleous. The rooms are fine...the important thing is that they are clean and everyday the room is cleaned up about very kind ladies. The view of the room is also fantastic, but depends where you stay because there are lots of rooms with or without seeview. The rooms are not a luxury, I mean that are not so modern, but, like I said are clean.
The food is very good, you have lots of categories of food, you can choose what do you want.
From my point of view, I liked this trip very much, and the hotel has the best seaview of all.

Room Tip: Say that you are in the honneymoon! We told so, and we get a seaview room. But we dindn't lie. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crestin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I just came back from Crete and I have to say that the hotel is the worst place Ive ever been to.
Not a 3/4 star as there is no standard and locals will confirm that to you when you ask them.
Health/Safety, Fire Safety, Security and Lifts are a concern as none of these was checked sicne 2005. I had life wires sticking out of an outlent above SHOWER!
Staff longfaced, not happy with the job.
Place not cleaned on daily basis, dirty sheets and our towels werent changed for 5 days! to add we didnt get the for the first 3 days of our stay.
Food is awful,cheapest meat and sausages/eggs other specials were questionable and really not fresh.only white bread with no brown bread,rolls or else to choose from. Only thing we went for was the fruit.
Facilities and room is really a back to the future as you get the feeling that time has stopped for them 10-15 years ago. Same applies to cleaning obviously.
Hotel is a family owned business and when you get there the lack of experience,qualifications or manners will hit you.
I booked holidays for 2 weeks back in March 2011. On arrival with no hello, how r u I was told to follow a man who will show me apartment(family apartment)away about 10-15mins from the hotel.Complete ruin, not clean or any close of being ready to accept us.
We were discriminated and treated like pigs with no manners. Attempts of getting anything sorted was a waste of time and we decided and some point to give up as Travel Agents rep told us that the best thing will be to stay out from the hotel as much as possible.
Im opening a case against them as its really unacceptable that tour operator is in no position to resolve a single issue.
Overall a Total Mistake not a hotel so please be aware when booking!

Room Tip: no tips as you wont be able to choose it yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stalis hotels

wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The room was very basic but we did have plenty of room, we had a 2nd floor apartment with a lovely sea view and we had plenty of sun from early morning. The staff were all very helpful and friendly they all work very long hours. I do wish the food had labels so you would know what you were eating. We did have a disco 2 nights in the week but would of liked a bit more entertainment, We would of liked the pool bar to be open as it was a drag to get to the main bar every night.

Room Tip: ask for sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Rooms very very basic, could be a little cleaner, bathroom very small, to small. Food not alot of choice for english people, not labled up, didn.t have a clue what it was, when asked waiter what it was, was just told FOOD,very rude and bad mannered. Went for evening meal at 830, no pudding, was told no more, spoke to manager and was given free cocktails. Bar staff by the pool George, was very friendly. Worsed hotel for all inclusive i,ve been in

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

the room - small and very basic, there were three of us in the room and even though we requested three towels we were only ever given two, the towels were not changed everyday and on one occasion we got no towels at all, when we complained at reception they said the maids had gone home so we had to manage with three very small hand towels. the floors were not mopped and when we came out of the shower our feet were dirty, they mopped the room once when we first arrived and left the room flooded. the previous tennants threw all there cig butts in the grass outside our balcony (ground floor) they still have not been moved.) there were only two sheets on the beds when i asked at reception ofr a sheet he replied i am not a maid! (i eventully got a sheet on the second day). the beds were never made just had sheets thrown on them.
the food - the food was awful none of the food was labelled so we had no idea what we was eating i thought i had some nice steak it turned out to be liver!! there was very little selection and some of the trays were doubled up, we ate out a few times as we couldnt bring ourselves to eat their food when we were out we were asked what hotel we were in we told them and they said "nice view, terrible food". the meat had hardly any meat on it, it was just fat and cheap cuts of meat. when we asked what the food was the chef was incrediably rude and either muttered, ignored us or said he was busy. we met some very nice english poeple who in the end complained about him they got free cocktails, the barmen also said that the chef was rude and horrilbe, you know a hotel must be bad if the staff are complaining about each other.
entertainment - there was no entertainment what so ever during the day, and there was no entertainment at night except once a week, the person who ran this entertainment was the rude chef, he asked for volunteers and 4 people got up, he said this isn't enough when no more people were getting up he announced down the microphone that he is turning the music off we are all boring and we need to go to bed! (the music was in the end never turned off but the entertainment did consist of a group a holidaymakers (women) dancing on tables with the rude man trying to join in!
pool - average size pool was salt water which didn't appeal to me but it wasn't a problem, except that the showers were also salt water. the pool view was amasing, the hotel location was amasing we were right on the sea front.
all inclusive - was the worst all inclusive i have ever seen, they didn't even have it on for 12 hours which is minimum in every hotel i have ever stayed in. there like the food was very little choice, beer, rose wine, white wine, raki, ouzo, soft drinks were awful. all inclusive only lasts till 10:30pm and when you pay for drinks the cocktails are amasing, they taste like the drinks we got everywhere else. the barmen were fantastic and very friendly.
overall - the hotel was shockingly bad!!! the best parts about the hotel were the view and some of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
94.7 km away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
67 reviews
0.5 km away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#121 of 171 in Hersonissos
389 reviews
31.5 km away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#17 of 36 in Kato Gouves
188 reviews
1.2 km away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Hotel

Property: Horizon Beach Hotel
Address: Stalis, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Stalís
Horizon Beach Hotel Stalis, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing