We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonlight Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Apartments Stalis(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koni Village(Stalis)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Latania(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anastasia Hotel(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Memories Apartments and Studios(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nikos Apartments(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rainbow Apartments(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athena Apartments(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$38
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
125
48
23
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
48
23
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsariadne hotelhotel oppositecontinental breakfastrefurbished roomair contwo brothersbreakfast ladygreat asset to the hotelyummy cocktailsfamily run hotellast minute tripsunbeds coston arrivalyogurtowner georgeselection of cerealssmall and friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 203 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2017

This hotel is in a great location. There is plenty to do nearby without being too busy. The pool across the road that you can use is lovely and the sunbeds are only 1 Euro 90 (cheaper than most places). The beach that was across the road was also beautiful. It was the best one that we saw whilst exploring Crete. We started off with a small, basic room. The staff were very keen to check that we were pleased with our room and offered to move us to a larger, newly refurbished room as soon as one was available. The new room was excellent and the hotel staff could not do enough for you. The best thing about the hotel is the bar staff- Simon & Boyan. Both are so friendly and easy to get on with. The cocktails, made by Simon, are delicious! They made our holiday very memorable! We would definitely go back for these reasons!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandAshley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

In 2016, me and my dad had the perfect holiday in this fantastic little family run hotel. This year we bettered it!

The Moonlight with its spacious clean rooms with all the facilities that you need at your fingertips was just perfect.

We woke up every morning to a simple but effective breakfast. For the pool days we just walked across the road to the pool in the hotel opposite completely free of charge, with a fantastic place to sunbathe on the beach sea. For the adventurous days we just walked out the hotel and were able to have beautiful relaxing walks either way down the beach with Malia and Hersonosos both in walking distance. Or even in a short ride in a taxi, to the village of Mohos in the mountains - a traditional Greek village with a wonderful square.

However, every day we finished our nights with a drink (or two) at the bar with Bojan and Simon. Feeling welcomed straight away as friends by the brothers who outright made the trip! (Maybe gifting us a little too much raki at some points) It really is just a great bar to relax like you're on holiday!

I'd 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.
A hotel with five star hospitality!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VinnyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6624
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here last year and were already great fans of the family run hotel and the great bar brothers.We particularly enjoy using the pool and surrounding areas of the Ariadne hotel opposite. However last year we had one of the older style rooms, so were thrilled and very impressed with this year's well refurbished one. The room, no 24, was spacious and clean with a fridge, safety box and airconditioning (all an extra charge) all the rooms being refurbished will be a great asset to what is a lovely relaxing place to stay. On the outskirts of the main strip, there isn't much noise at night, but a 5 minute walk takes you to the many shops , bars and beachside restaurants.
Bonjan was chatty and welcoming and owner George helpful. Bacon and boiled eggs were an added bonus at breakfast, with hard working Maria on hand to assist.
We've already booked for next year and would thoroughly recommend this to other guests.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Just returned after our 2nd time at the lovely, quaint Moonlight Hotel and the service was just as good.
Maria as always is a very hardworking lady. She is there from early morning for breakfast until 7pm in the evening.
Simon and Boyyan at the bar are as lovely and friendly as ever, yummy cocktails, only criticism is you cannot get a coffee at the bar in the evening, it would be great to have a coffee and brandy to finish off a great night out.
We were in Room 4 this year which is bigger than last years room, Room 2. Very clean and quiet.
The beach and pool across the road is still as pretty as last year and we were remembered by Armando the bed guy, who is still as cheerful and cheeky as last year.
As said last year, there are plenty of bars and restaurants down the strip to choose from, so every night can be different.
Another fantastic week here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

After booking a last minute holiday at the Moonlight Hotel, on arrival we were greeted by George the owner who was friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is very clean, tidy and in a good location to all local amenities, they have no pool but you have free use of the pool in the adjacent hotel just across the road as well as the beach a mere 3 minute walk away with hireable beds and parasols . Our room was basic but nice ( bathroom could do with a facelift) some of the other rooms were beautiful and newly refurbished. If I had been given a choice I would have chosen a balcony or higher floor as the ground floor can be somewhat noisy and has little privacy with other guests walking past your room, this was somewhat off putting, and the maids spilling water from the above balcony onto our seating area daily. The fridge, air conditioning and safe come at an additional cost. However, that said this hotel is a lovely family run establishment, with very polite staff who do their best to make your stay a good one and make you feel at home and welcome. The continental breakfast was okay and offers a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, jams and croissants, tea, coffee, toast etc. This is okay if you are up early but if you eat any later that 9 am you will find not much left in the way of bacon etc. The Moonlight Bar however was exceptional. The two bar staff Simon and Bojan were amazing hosts, they offer a wide and varied selection of local drinks, beers, ciders and their cocktails were amazing. I have to say we drank here every evening and would not have gone elsewhere. They were polite, professional, very friendly and could not do enough for you. They make you feel very welcome and offer lots of highlights of the local town, its tavernas, where best to eat and visit as well as a wealth of historical knowledge. This is a must visit for anyone who visits stalis or Crete for that matter. I would have no hesitation in staying here again, and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and especially the bar to anyone. I plan to go back next year and take my children with me. Many Thanks to Simon and Bojan for making the evenings fun and relaxing.

Room Tip: aim for a higher floor if a ground floor make sure you get one to the rear or left of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jchristina41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews