We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bar is the best part”
Review of Moonlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moonlight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Stalis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Arrived at the hotel at 11 at night to find no one to greet us. The reception was unmanned and no way to contact staff. After some time we managed to get the attention of the outdoor bar staff who kindly found the manager for us. Not a great start.
The room was one of the un-refurbished ones - it was adequate but needed some love and attention. Any issues we had were quickly resolved.
Breakfast was good and Maria who looks after breakfast and cleans the rooms is an asset to the hotel.
Reception was an issue. It was rarely manned and not at regular hours. There was a notice to say in emergencies use the telephone numbers on the phone in the room. No numbers were however shown on the phone.
The Owners were not very communicative and when they were there only seemed to want to talk to customers who had stayed there before.
The Bar is the jewel in the crown. Boyan and Simon are great at their job and make everyone feel welcome (the family who run the hotel please take note). Nothing is too much trouble and the adopted dog, Rocky, is another star.
We used the Ariadne foe the pool and beach and this was very good.
Most of the restaurants are very similar but the three that stood out were Cretan, El Greco and Kostas

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spudulike299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for 5 star luxury then this isn't the place for you, but, if you want a great place to stay that is quite basic but has great hosts, is in a good location and has a bar with two fantastic bar men then this is perfect.
Stayed here for a week in June and had a really lovely time, plenty to do, easy to get around, plenty of restaurants nearby. Lots of places to go for a drink and supermarkets near by.
Doesn't have its own pool but you can use the pool across the road and the beach is nearby.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathyt1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Just returned from a weeks holiday and stayed at moonlight. Whilst our room was basic (we were in one of the un refurbished rooms) it was adequate and kept very clean. Whilst small the storage was excellent and better than some finer hotels we have visited during our travels. Excellent location and facilities at the Ariadne which you can use are excellent. It is definitely the staff that make this hotel and I would like to make particular mention to Maria who cooks breakfast and cleans all the rooms. She is amazing and a great asset to the moonlight. Not forgetting Simon and boyan who are great entertainers and had me and my hubby crying with laughter. We will fondly remember their signature tune 'Having good times'. Thanks all for a great time and hopefully see you next year.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank kimmurphy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Booked last minute and had a lovely relaxing holiday.The hotel is in a good location near to bars and restaurants but still peaceful.We used the facilities across the road at the Ariadne Hotel and couldn't fault anything.Excellent service at the restaurant and all kept very clean

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cathyland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here august 22nd for 2 weeks. Our room was seperate from main hotel.we were behind it. Was very clean,had lots of storage space too. Breakfast had good choices. Family run,everyone is so polite and helpful. Just across the road is ariadne hotel.great pool next to beach. Only fault we didnt have very good Wifi in our room. But i would definately stay here again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank shazza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This hotel is in a great location. There is plenty to do nearby without being too busy. The pool across the road that you can use is lovely and the sunbeds are only 1 Euro 90 (cheaper than most places). The beach that was across the road was also beautiful. It was the best one that we saw whilst exploring Crete. We started off with a small, basic room. The staff were very keen to check that we were pleased with our room and offered to move us to a larger, newly refurbished room as soon as one was available. The new room was excellent and the hotel staff could not do enough for you. The best thing about the hotel is the bar staff- Simon & Boyan. Both are so friendly and easy to get on with. The cocktails, made by Simon, are delicious! They made our holiday very memorable! We would definitely go back for these reasons!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandAshley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

In 2016, me and my dad had the perfect holiday in this fantastic little family run hotel. This year we bettered it!

The Moonlight with its spacious clean rooms with all the facilities that you need at your fingertips was just perfect.

We woke up every morning to a simple but effective breakfast. For the pool days we just walked across the road to the pool in the hotel opposite completely free of charge, with a fantastic place to sunbathe on the beach sea. For the adventurous days we just walked out the hotel and were able to have beautiful relaxing walks either way down the beach with Malia and Hersonosos both in walking distance. Or even in a short ride in a taxi, to the village of Mohos in the mountains - a traditional Greek village with a wonderful square.

However, every day we finished our nights with a drink (or two) at the bar with Bojan and Simon. Feeling welcomed straight away as friends by the brothers who outright made the trip! (Maybe gifting us a little too much raki at some points) It really is just a great bar to relax like you're on holiday!

I'd 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.
A hotel with five star hospitality!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VinnyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.4 km away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.5 km away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
1.6 km away
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
#6 of 52 in Stalis
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
1.2 km away
Memories Apartments and Studios
0.2 km away
Cactus Royal Resort
Cactus Royal Resort
#10 of 52 in Stalis
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Hotel

Address: Nikolaou Grammatikaki 329, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stalis
Price Range: $62 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Moonlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Hotel Stalis, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing