We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Xenia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xenia Palace
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have spent a weekend in this hotel. The hotel is having a great view of Pagasitikos and you will definitely enjoy taking a coffee in the balcony (provided your room has a sea view) or in the hotel's cafes. What it was bad was that the Veranda (a hotel's place for cafe and drink) was closed during our stay.
The breakfast was complete, had big variety, it will satisfy almost everyone I believe. The hotel has also spa facilities, which we tried. They were of high quality although my personal opinion is that it is a bit pricey.
The room was spacious enough and the only complaint I have is that the pillows and the bed mattress could be better.
Finally the stuff was helpful, friendly and ready to provide assistance when needed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view. However I am not sure if they are quiet enough, as they are located abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilias_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    58
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
55
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This looks pretty dated from the outside but inside is OK and staff are helpful, check-in is pretty quick and efficient and room rate is good value. Had a suite which was very big and luxurious although was working so didn't spend too much time making use of the facilities, WiFi is quick and efficient. There is ample parking at the hotel which is good as this is some way from Volus on small winding roads. I would like to have given this 4* but there were some basic things lacking and this is probably because I was outside of the normal season staying here in late december.

As an example the pool was green and looked more like a poorly kept pond, the breakfast was pretty poor and it was necessary to find staff to get coffee and hot food, a couple of night the hotel was full of young people I think maybe a school outing and therefore very noisy. I do want to quantify this by saying that with all the facilities working and enough staff to man the restaurant this would be worth of a better write up but this is what I saw and found.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

For us this is the best hotel in Pelio. We’ve stayed there twice and after staying at another hotel in the area we decided that Xenia Palace will be our only choice in Portaria from now on. Although the exterior of the building is not impressive and reminds a little bit of the 70’s and 80’s (like all Xenias), the interior is very nice with a decoration that suits the mountainous environment. The lounges as well as the rooms are quite luxurious but still cozy. The first time we went there we stayed in a suite and the second in a standard room with mountain view. Standard rooms are not very spacious but fine for two people. All staff is polite and always willing to help. Breakfast is quite good with some local traditional products. Room service food, although a bit expensive, is of good quality and the portions are generous. Even though some of the best places for lunch or dinner in Portaria are within walking distance from the hotel (don’t miss KRITSAS tavern), we strongly recommend a romantic dinner at the hotel’s restaurant, La Veranda. The food is really good and if the weather is clear you can enjoy the best view of the city of Volos. Don’t miss a visit to the spa. Clean premises with an extremely relaxing atmosphere. We could write many more good things about this hotel but we’ll do it after visiting again this winter and confirm everything is as we remember.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Portaria and has a very big car park. Both of room views (you have 2 options: pool - gulf view or Makrinitsa view) compensate you.
Century-old planes are surrounding the hotel and the architecture of the building is ideally combined with the natural environment.
Rooms are new and very smart decorated.
A very big swimming pool dominates in the interior of the hotel. Veranda restaurant which is a part of the hotel makes an impression at first glance with its breathtaking panoramic view to the Volos gulf. The Chef is a native talent and very enthusiastic person who loves his job. Food is delicious!!! Dinner at “La Veranda” is a must do thing in Pelion.
Some unexpected surprise was the Spa, not because of the quality of the facilities (is boutique and elegant) but because of the quality of service which meets only in 5* hotels and resorts.
All the staff they facilitated us, starting from the GM of the hotel and Miss Petala to the room maids were friendly and helpful.

We will surely come back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris1969Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a luxury hotel in a quaint mountain village with a breathtaking view.
The rooms are elegant, spacious, clean and functional.
Breakfast had abundant choice and there is a beautiful terrace with stunning views overlooking the swimming pool.
We attended a reception and the food was top notch. The cliff-side location of the venue has an indescribable view.
There was an invaluable little play ground to enteratain the kids in the fresh air under the trees. Although the hotel had a feel of a more autumn/winter place, it is equally delightful in the summer.
All in all, highly recommended for a stay in Pelio, any time of year.

Room Tip: Junior suites overlooking the pool are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marousi, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at Xenia as part of our wedding at the end of July 2011. We had lots of friends and family members staying at the same hotel as well.
I have to give them top scores on almost all categories.....
Fist of all location is excellent. Very close to Volos and in the midst of Pelion is a good starting point to explore the nearby area. It also offers a magnificent view of Volos, especially at night.
The staff was ever so friendly and they cattered for our baby boy needs so well that we actually got to relax after a long long time.
We got to stay in one of the junior suites which was very well decorated and spacious. It also had its own little terrace and deck-chairs which made it very convenient. The other rooms, like the standard room was also very well proportioned and with good funishings. The hotrel had undergone a major if not total refurbishment a few years back.
The food at the Veranda cafe- restaurant was excellent. The pool bar could offer club sandwitches etc which were very tasty. The pool is a bit shallow for my taste (1.60m I think max depth) but very spacious and lined with deck-chairs and tables.
There is aslo a spa which is a good addition to the hotel.The girls there were friendly and could give you a very good head to toe massage

In a few worlds both us and our guests had a lovely time and thus we highly recommend the hotel. We will be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spyros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

It is one of the best hotels in pilion, very good service, atmosphere and the breakfast is super!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreasloukakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.3 km away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#3 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 km away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 km away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 km away
Valeni Boutique Hotel
Valeni Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.1 km away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 32 in Volos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenia Palace

Property: Xenia Palace
Address: Pelion, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portaria
#4 Family Hotel in Portaria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenia Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xenia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenia Palace Portaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing