We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
145
82
41
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
82
41
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air transat train station box lunches amalfi coast this family run hotel castle area the ocean view room booked hotel hotel staff old town would return in a heartbeat local wine the kitchen staff luca rome meals excursions
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 287 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

I was lucky enough to find this hotel through a vacation package and I had an amazing stay in a great small town. Grazie to Rosalia, Alissia, Estelle, Giuseppe, Luca, Luana, the chef, James, and all other staff. They were very helpful in setting up excursions and tending the cafe/bar! I enjoyed the authentic pasta dishes and thought they did a great job with the food and preparations of the meals. The ocean view room was comfortable and provided a great view of the old town on the hill. Very short walk to many great cafe, restaurants, bars, and the Main Piazza or Lungomare. The train is also very close and will easily take you to Salerno, Napoli, and the gateway to the Amalfi Coast. I look forward to my next visit!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank MarioCharlie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We visited in May 2018 and this hotel was absolutely wonderful. If you read the reviews below from July 2017, these are my sentiments exactly. I can say that the staff go out of their way to accommodate you in every way. On our first evening there, after the long trip from Rome, they even called us for dinner before the dining room closed!!!!! They set up a local wine tour that was one of the highlights of our trip. A great tour for a very rainy day. Giuseppe, our waiter, was exceptional although speaking very little English,always had a smile for us. It was a nice walk to train station and the castle and you felt very safe at all times. Locals were all very friendly too. Very, very little English spoken in this area so you know you are in an authentic Italian place. Meals were amazing!!! The chef who we were told was the owner of the hotel, really goes all out. Amazing favours of all dishes served. It was like going out for an expensive Italian restaurant meal every night. Box lunches were provided just for asking. Only negative would be the hard beds but after a day out and about, we were so tired that it did not matter that much. Also the dining room lighting was very bright and white. This was a great Transat Vacation with great value for your money and I would return in a heartbeat!!!!!

Room tip: Ocean view offered an amazing sunset and is a must!!!!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthgriepsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

This was our third time at Hotel Mare and we were not disappointed. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and well treated. A big thank you to Luana and of course the best waiter,Luca.(molto grazie.) Clean,comfortable and spacious. We plan to return in the near future. Luca save me the figs for our next trip.

Room tip: Ocean view is the best
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yellowstar4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Although this hotel has lovely gardens and pool by the sea and lungomare(promenade) we found our 5 days half board disappointing. Italians are not known for having breakfast so we missed fresh fruit ( their very limited variety always hard)and various forms of eggs ...would have loved an omelette.
Our first meal was dry chicken and frozen chips so did not auger well. Portions were always very small.Service was abrupt and ,on our table of 5 ,plates were cleared before everyone had finished, then others given next course before ready.
Rooms were spacious but with the hardest beds and pillows ever encountered ,no fridge, no tea making facilities. Housekeeping staff were very helpful so provided extra blankets and pegs as needed.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dilly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

What a wonderful experience! This beauty is run efficiently and effectively by some truly exceptional people, Rosalia at the front desk and Luca in the restaurant area. All of the staff is pleasant and hard working. The groundskeeper is dedicated to making the pool area and greenery clean and tidy, and never hesitated due to hot conditions. The kitchen staff is accommodating, and the food is plentiful, even though I could not keep up with the portions! Extraordinary and varied each day is something new. They even offered to make us a to go package when we left early on our last day. We did a boat/snorkel excursion with another Canadian couple, and since I spoke Italian we all managed just fine. The downtown area is great walking in the evenings, and very safe, although drivers are something to behold. Since we had a car, we did Paestum, CastelliArchiole and Castellabate, (not for the faint hearted kind of drive), and Pompeii on the way back to Rome. This is vacationing for those that live elsewhere in Italy, and many seemed to be annual visitors. They are troopers and spend the entire day at the beach (free chair and umbrella included) or by the pool. We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and have vowed to return to visit again. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the attention to conservation of energy is great to witness.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canblueCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews