We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
humphrec
Dublin, Ireland

Great location and value for money

Review of Villa Elaia
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 17, 2018via mobile
We stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed our holiday. The apartment was clean, well furnished and had everything necessary in the kitchen. We found it to be excellent value for money. The pool area is great, clean and comfortable. Florian (staff member) and Alfonso (owner) were very courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Grazie :)

Santa Maria is a great holiday destination, the beaches are brilliant and there’s lots of lovely bars / restaurants in the town. The villa is a 5 minute walk from the main pedestrian street. It is a steep hill to reach the villa by foot so maybe keep this in mind if you have any mobility issues.

Getting around Cilento coast: We didn’t have a car and rented bikes in Santa Maria. We travelled to Castellabate by local bus and cycled to San Marco to walk to Licosa. We got the bus to Agropoli to catch the train to Naples. It was 35e in a taxi to reach Villa Elaia from Agropoli train station. With a car you could see more of the countryside but we were happy with public transport.

I would highly recommended Villa Elaia and Santa Maria as a holiday destination and would happily stay here again.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$468
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$523
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$446
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Villa Elaia
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Villa Elaia
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • BBIT
    C$166
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Villa Elaia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$139
C$136
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$136
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Villa Elaia
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
34
13
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
13
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Family and friends stayed in this property that consisted of about 8 two bedroomed fully equipped (apart from a toaster) apartments. Each has individual courtyards or balcony for BBQ and soaking up the sun. The pool area was very secure providing sun lounges and a play area for children. The local handyman was always available if needed. The views are stunning. Local shops were about 10 minutes walk downhill. The locals were very friendly and the beaches were clean with crystal clear waters. Look no further for a place to stay. The fourteen adults in our group could not fault the place. Thanks

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rosegrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

We were 2 norwegian families who stayed in this villa for 2 week in july. Nice and clean apparment with stunning Sunset view. Lovely garden with pool and sunbeds. We also had a nice day at sea with the owners sailing yacht. It take about 10 min to walk down to the beach and city center. Many good shops and nice restaurants. It is a lot of sightseeing to do in this area, and it is easy to get around.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

If you like to spend your holidays with the Italians, this is the place to be. There aren't many foreign tourists in this area, but we enjoyed the many Italian families who were relaxing at the beaches at daytime and strolling the main street (with shops and restaurants) in the evening. We stayed at Villa Elaia, which is about 500 metres from the main street. From this street to the Villa is a bit of a climb back up, what is okay in the evening but a bit heavy at daytime with the sun high above. The Villa has its own caretaker, Florine. He is very friendly and he will take care of your problems in the apartment (we had an airco that was out of order, and he have had it fixed). Our nice apartment had a large terrace, two bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom. All rooms were well equiped. There was also a common pool in the garden, which was very welcome to use besides the nice beaches in the area. We would recommend a stay at Villa Elaia!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FromMierlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Spent 12 days in Villa Elaia in September - lovely relaxing apartment with plenty of space, well equipped and a lovely pool to use if needed - although we went to the superb beach every day - a 5 minute walk downhill - fairly steep coming back but good exercise! Lovely unspoilt Italian town away from the bustle of the Amalfi coast

We will definitely return to the Villa Elaia and this charming part of Italy

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank supee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

We had booked an apartment in Castellabate but the owner of the property arranged with BookingCom to relocate us here. We found this a better alternative to a noisy town since we live in a capital city Berlin, needed some quiet place to relax on a vacation. The property owner Alfonso Cianfrone is a kind host who will direct the visitor to this undiscovered location. Seven minutes walk to the shopping center and waterfront to enjoy the Sea and the Italian restaurants on the lakeside. The pool is small but clean enough to cool the body after sunbathing in the compound at the backyard. Steady Wifi available but need to log in with either Facebook or Google plus account, mobile phone data is another alternative to access the wireless line. Self contained apartments with cooking utensils and single or double room sleeping compartments in the establishment.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank josa238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews