We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vinbo2409
Hawthorne, New Jersey

Perfect Location

Review of Hotel Sonia
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 14, 2018via mobile
This hotel has the best location in Santa Maria. The beach is beautiful, staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and spacious. But unfortunately rooms need updating and the breakfast needs some help too. They serve the same thing everyday. The coffee machine is not good. I feel bad writing this because the staff is great but, I have to be honest about the shortcomings. The bathroom is old, the bedding needs replacing.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$358
  • Official Website
0.1 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$372
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$188
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$324
  • Priceline
    C$365
  • Vio.com
    C$325
0.2 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$135
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Hotel Sonia
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • BBIT
    C$165
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Free parking
bar spiaggia
  • eDreams
    C$608
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
1.9 km from Hotel Sonia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$128
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Hotel Sonia
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel La Marina
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$203
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hotel Sonia
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    C$179
2.4 km from Hotel Sonia
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
23
39
26
23
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
39
26
23
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017

This hotel exists due to its wonderful scenery - everything you can find in the surroundings around the hotel is great. We travel a lot across the europe. Unfortunately we have never experienced such a bad hotel in our history of traveling. The only positive aspects of the hotel are the beach and its location. As soon as you are in the hotel, the bad experiences start annoying you.

The food is bad. Italy has to offer so much, but it does not appear for this hotel. You can get one type of white bread and one type of sausage. No eggs, no vegetables, very few fruits (during the summer???), no yogurt. The food is the same every day. Even the plate for fried sausages is cold. The food does not taste. During the evening one have to wait 1 hour to get the food.

During the august you won´t ever see any tomatoes, cucumbers or mozarella. If you want italian food, you have to search for locations outside.

Air condition costs you extra. Be prepared to pay extra 5 eur per night to use the air condition. Besides that, the air conditioner is very old and it blows the air directly at the bed.

Parking lot costs you 7 EUR extra per night.

During our stay for 2 weeks, we got tattered towels for several times and the bedsheets are badly washed. The cleaning service does not bother. We even were able to draw on the dusty surface. Only after we made a drawing it was cleaned.

During our whole stay we tried only to sleep in the hotel and to leave it as soon as possible, because the surroundings and the landscape are great.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sigiz907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We're just back in Norway from the lovely little village Santa Maria di Castellabate.
We are more than satisfied with our stay at New Hotel Sonia. The friendly and helpful staff bent over backwards to help us with all and anything we desired.
The location, litterally on the beach in the centre of the village, is perfect. Our room was immaculate and with an awsome view, overlooking the beach, where we enjoyed the sunset while sipping ice cold prosecco on the veranda.
If you visit Santa Maria di Casellabate, be sure to visit the bar/icecream bar L'Ancora just around the corner, we feel sure that you will be satisfied with both places.
M&M

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MadsH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Returned here for another visit. We come to this area to visit family. We enjoy staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the location is great. Most rooms have a balcony with chairs and small table literally right on the beach. It's a great place to sit and watch the sunset. The staff is very nice , the young lady who works the front desk speaks English and is fantastic. They have a parking lot. There is a woman a block away that launders your clothes and she's great. All the area restaurants are great and extremely reasonable. It's a great area to visit. We try to return every other year, we just love it here. There is wifi and they have ice!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vinbo2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

This was our first visit to Santa Maria, we were there for a family wedding and extended our stay for a holiday. We were a little unsure about booking Hotel Sonia but we weren't disappointed. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Air con and safe were included in the price and there was a fridge (mini-bar but not filled) which was great for our bottles of water etc. There isn't a kettle in the room, we took a travel kettle.

We were really surprised and happy to have a sea view as we couldn't get one when booking. We were on the ground floor so had the roof of the restaurant in front of us but that wasn't a problem. The balcony was quite small but adequate for the amount of time we spent there and great for watching the sunset at the end of the day.

We had a decent sized wardrobe but not many hangers - however, we asked for more and they were promptly delivered to our room. I don't know if we were just lucky with the mattress but the bed was comfortable which is unusual for me on holiday!

Although it states that wireless internet is available in communal areas, I found that I could access it in the room which was a bonus.

The bathroom was a good size although the shower was quite small but very powerful. There were only basic toiletries but there is a shop nearby where you can stock up. There's a hairdryer in the bathroom. The cleaner came every morning and we were given clean towels daily. She was very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed seeing her when we were around.

Dessy, on reception always had a smile for us and is an asset to the hotel. We didn't use the sun loungers on the beach but popped down for a swim every day and left our key card at reception, it was a wonderful location being on the beach and also near the shops, restaurants and bars - very central. The church is right next to the hotel and the bells ring often but we didn't find this a problem.

We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was good but the same every day, it would have been nice to have some variation. The only thing that really did bug us was that there were never any bowls for the cereal! Every morning (for 11 days!) we had to ask for '2 bowls please'! Also, at breakfast, don't use the tables with tablecloths on - we found out on our first morning that these are not to be touched! It's fine once you know but would be good if there was a notice to that effect!

We had a fantastic holiday in Santa Maria which we would never have known about without the wedding invitation and we would love to go back again sometime. We would be very happy to stay at Hotel Sonia and maybe get a room with an even better sea view if we book in plenty of time. We will also learn a few words in Italian as English isn't widely spoken - including '2 bowls please'!

Room tip: Definitely worth booking a room with a sea view, the sunsets are amazing!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tezcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

this hotel had total italian charm, the sea view rooms have good size balconies offering a lovely view over the beach and neighbouring buildings. the rooms were cleaned immaculately, and this cannot be faulted. the beds were very hard to sleep on. the manageress on the day was very friendly and would help with anything, and she had a great sense of humour . the breakfast had little content, comprising of fruit, yoghurt, cake, bread, ham, cheese and cereals...fruit juice especially the blood orange was lovely, and the coffee available from avending machine was very nice. The only problem was that the night manager was very noisy, talked at the top of his voice in the early hours....that was when he was not sleeping....had one problem when we could not get in to the hotel, and took 15 minutes to wake him up....the next night he left the hotel doors wide open..and did'nt even see us pass him !!! so bit hit and miss for the night watch . enjoyed the stay here.

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank julsteve0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews