We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gabry(Montespertoli)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Il Molino del Ponte(Montespertoli)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mandrie di Ripalta(Montespertoli)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenuta Tizzauli(Montespertoli)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Divino(Montespertoli)
US$192
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda Di Ortimino(Montespertoli)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agriturismo Borgo Stella(Montespertoli)(Great Value!)
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Villa Le Calvane(Montespertoli)
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
161
42
5
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
42
5
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking tourhot air balloonitalian charmswimming pool isother gueststuscan countrysiderooms are spaciousmemorable experiencehigh expectationsplaces to visitpisa airporthis wifesoniacapellaregionvillahosts
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 223 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2016

The family run hotel is set in a wonderfully picturesque part of Tuscany. It's comfortable and every night the 4 course meal was delicious.
Patrizio, the owner, walked with us every day in the vineyards, olive groves, through towns, to monasteries, wine cellars, salami shops and cafes. It was really nice not to have to pack up each day and rather return to the same place. They also organised trips to Florence and Luca and an optional day to Siena.
He also offers hot air ballooning.
When getting a quote confirm what's included as I paid extra €9 tax per week, €3 water per day and train and bus fares for day trips.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa-la-cappella, Owner at Hotel Villa La Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Suzanne

I hope you're well.
Thank for sharing the walking tour with us, we did enjoy your company very much
and we hope one day to meet you again.

Warmest greetings
Patrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

This is a lovely villa set in the countrysidee of Tuscany with beautiful scenery surrounding its neighbourhood. The room was clean and comfortable and the dinner was delicious.

However the walking tour was overrated and poorly organised. On the first few days, not much information was give on the itinerary of our tour, apparently it changes according to the weather and to the convenience of the owner.

The walk to the countryside was not relaxing and was very rush, we set off late so we have to rush to complete the trail for the lunch. The tour leader was rude and arrogant , he was not please when we stopped along the way to take picture or admired the beautiful scenery as it will slow down the walk. We were not allowed to walk in front of him or walk at the right side of the road. We feel as though we are coming fora walking tour but a walkathon training .

As this is a family run, they don't have enough manpower and facilities to accommodate more guests. All 12 members have to squeezed in a 9 seated van for a 30 minutes journey. When we sugggested he take 2 cars , the owner rudely commented that we should be more flexible to adjust to the situation. Is this the Italian hospitality ?

The nearest town is 3km away and there is only few buses and no taxi services available , the only way is to walk for 30 minutes to the town which is very inconvenience.

in their brochure it was mentioned there will be 3 cooking classes and one italian lesson but we only have one cooking lesson.

Overall, it was a disappointed walking tour....

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hugo558, Owner at Hotel Villa La Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear Ms.Bee,

thank you for writing your feed back .
With reference to your comments I wish to inform you about my reply as follows.

-Weather: The programme is fully respected but we turn it according to weather and ground conditions since we wish to avoid that we're walking during rainy days and therefore we're walking into towns that are offering more oppurtinities in these cases.

-Start time/rush: We always wish that are guests are enjoing the breakfast that matches the walks'distances. we do not have rusch as we're always taking care of the persons that are slow walking.
Also,when walking in the nearby countryside,we wish to preapare a nice lunch in our restaurant instead of a pack lunch.

-Pictures:I'm always making stops in the nicest places to take picture but as a team I must avoid that everyone make a stop whenever he likes since this would make the walking difficult.

-Van: we did use the 9 seats car in a couple of occasion since this was making the timetable easier than using public transports.For the other trasnfers we did use two cars.
Ths way of travelling is generally well appreciated and makes a lot of fun amd keep down the costs of the tour.
Taxi:There not taxi available in this area but for every need we're providing this to our guests for free las well as I did for you.
Also,we've always a car that is supporting the persons that are facing problem during the walks.

-Safety:As a leader I need to be always in front of the team since I'm taking care of the safety of the team,as well, as controlling the walking speed etc.

-Cooking classes: You had two cooking classes and the third one has been cancelled since we've arrived to late from the visit to Lucca.

We would like to infom you that we do regret you did nit enjoy our tuour and we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards.

Patrizio Tinalli and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016

My husband and I went on the week-long walking tour from Villa La Cappella. Using the Villa as our base we did a different walk each day - sometimes around the local area and sometimes to town centres. We went to Lucca, Pisa, Florence, San Gimignano, Certaldo and Siena. Our walking companions were an international group coming from Germany, Canada, the UK and Malaysia. We had lots of fun together and many laughs. After our walks we had a couple of occasions where we went into the kitchen to see how Italian food was prepared. Each morning there was a wide range of food to choose for breakfast and in the evening we were treated to a four course meal.
The Villa didn't seem like a hotel. It was more like a country home of friends or family.
Patrizo, Sonia and Diana made certain that we had everything we needed for a wonderful holiday. Walking through the countryside we were treated to a magnificent view around every corner. It would be impossible to gain the same appreciation for the place, the people and the culture by simply driving through it. It was a unique experience that we will treasure.

Room Tip: There are different size rooms. We booked early so we could have a very spacious suite with a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosah0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

More than fifteen months ago, I found Villa LaCappella's hiking tour through a Google search. From the moment, I read what the trip included and the positive reviews, I was determined to make it a reality. What started with a couple of friends, turned into a group of seventeen women from eight states who experienced the Tuscan life by hiking and exploring the countryside and surrounding villages.

Patrizio, with his sister Sonia, run the villa and Patrizio's wife Diana is an integral part of the team and what a hardworking team it is. From the first greeting to the last goodbye, they made you feel like part of the family. The villa itself is charming and when you hear the history of how it was restored you have even a greater appreciation for its charm. Patrizio's love for Tuscany is felt in all he does and says. Believe me it is contagious.

Our eight night stay included our meals and hikes or excursions each day. Hiking through the vineyards, olive groves and countryside gave one a sense of live in Tuscany. A hot air ballon ride provided another perspective of the pastoral setting so peaceful and serene.

While the hikes covered up to 10 miles a day, they were certainly doable though the Tuscan hills can give you a cardio workout. There were some in our group who elected not to hike on a couple of the days and very much enjoyed relaxing around the pool.

Meals were always a pleasurable experience and getting cooking lessons from Lara was a fun experience.

I cannot think of one thing I would change about this trip. My sincere thanks to Patrizio, Sonia, Diana and all the support staff for making this such a memorable experience.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vicki1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hugo558, Owner at Hotel Villa La Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Dear Vicky,

thank you for your words and I would like to thank you staying with us and to give us the possibility to share this time with you all.

It has been a very touching esperience and you'll be always in our hearts.
Hopefully one day our ways will cross again.

Warmest greetings.
Sonia,Diana e Patrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

We went only for one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. Patrizio and Diana are so kind and welcoming. Patrizio organizes various walking towards to nearby wineries for tastings. In the evenings, they prepare a lovely meal for guests. We did the hot air balloon ride, which was beautiful. We woke up early and enjoyed stunning views of the area.

We would love to come back and stay longer in this region and take advantage of all the walking tours. I would recommend this place to family and friends!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews