We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
231
306
180
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
306
180
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night seafood risotto chianti area receptionist base tuscany hairdryer terrace tour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 771 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2016

I slept there because accomodations near San Gimigiano were very expensive. the hotel is average, the staff very friendly. City is not very impressive, you need to investigate hard to find somewhere to dinner. It is a good place for sleep while travelling in Tuscany, as we were coming from Chianti and was located on the right place. They need to imporve the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Herreras19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Novella G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alcide, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your nice review about our structure, we are very pleased that you pass a good moment here with us and we hope that you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016

I spent one night one week ago (October 2016) in this hotel. It is a good option at a very reasonable price. Staff is very friendly and full of attention. Breakfast is ok with quite a decent selection of things.
Only thing - personal - please remove that very very cheap curtain from the toilette. It is sooo 70s. It reminds me when in my childhood I was going to Adriatic coast holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ibosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Novella G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alcide, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind words and for your advices aabout our structure.
We are glad that you had a good time with us and we hope that you will come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

My wife had two falls whilst on holiday in Pogginbonsi, resulting in hospitalisation and replacement hip surgery. The local hospital was excellent, but on discharge, we needed a hotel for convalescing and preparing for the trip back to the UK.
The Alcide was recommended and it excelled in every way. Although at the height of the season, we were found a room that would work for us and the hotel is wheelchair-friendly. The business has been run by the same family for over 150 years. The hotel is not new and does not have any leisure facilities, but it does have amenities far in excess of its 3 star rating. It is very clean and efficiently run. There is a renowned restaurant specialising in fish and seafood. The staff are very friendly, well trained and were very supportive of our special needs.
I cannot thank and praise the hotel enough. We shall return in happier times.

Brian Clamp

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcidePromozioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alcide, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Brian,

we were honored to have you as our guests at Alcide for your exquisite courtesy and sympathy. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here, even though it was a stay for health reasons. We hope that your wife will recover well and soon and that you will come back to visit us in better times,

a warm greetings from all our staff!
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to visit this friendly little hotel again in July. We received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room on the third floor was well appointed, comfortable and clean. We slept well. Breakfast was excellent. There was a huge selection in the buffet. If possible I suggest you eat out on the verandah. It is very comfortable there.
It's definitely worth booking in for dinner. The hotel is renowned for its seafood which is fresh and delicious.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 651janew651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcidePromozioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alcide, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Jane,

thank you for your review about our structure. We are really glad that you had a good time here with us and that you appreciated our services.

All our staff send you a big hug, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Maria Novella
P. Hotel Alcide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

The hotel is situated perfectly between San Gimignano and Siena.
Arriving the staff was nice and helpful with the check-in and tipps and tricks in the surrounding area.
The rooms are average but there is nothing in particular to complain about. The bathroom was clean and without any fungi. No remains from previous guests either. Shampoo and soap was provided.
The TV worked well, even SKY was free of charge.
The breakfast had all which mich possibly be needed.
All in all it is not the most new or most renovated hotel and for sure Poggibonsi is not a turist magnet. But the hotel is well enough to stay for more than a day and feel cosi between some of the most attractive cities in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hauke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcidePromozioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alcide, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Dear mr. Hauke,

we are really pleased that you had a good stay in our hotel. We share your review with all our staff and we thank you so much for all the nice words.

We hope to see you again in the future, so you can try also the specialities of our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews