We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
76
46
18
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
46
18
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage centre major refurb sausage rolls visiting friends in the area pepper sauce tartare junction bar newly refurbished room bygone era toilet and shower former glory quick pint food menu four poster bed generous portions an excellent meal feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 174 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Really enjoyed our stay. Clean, well appointed room, modern ensuite. Fantastic evening meal and complimentary breakfast was generous. The rhino picture not so friendly, suggest it is put onTrade Me and a piece suited to the style of the hotel is hung in it's place!!

Room tip: Rooms with inter-connecting doors are not as sound proof
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We arrived by train so loved how close this hotel is to the station. Although hubby said he could hear the trains it wasn't a bother for us. We had a nice corner room with large opening windows. We did hear car noise which is to be expected in a hotel next to a road and again that didn't bother us as it wasn't too busy a road.
What made the best impression on us was how warmly we were greeted and shown to our room. The renovations didn't affect us. Our room was a fine size for travellers passing through town. The bathroom was very nicely updated.
We had real ale in the attached pub which was very appreciated. We also enjoyed their lamb curry. The pub had a band the night we were there and although we did hear the music it was the smokers outside that were the most bothersome noise wise
Our only recommendations would be blackout curtains in the room, and stronger wifi.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MossnClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, and very good service. The lemon merengue was amazing, if only it wouldn't be as pricy. The almond slice was disappointing. The coke was clearly from a machine. The inside of the cafe looks very cute.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sincejune2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Don’t judge The Royal Station hotel by first impressions! It’s tired and on the shabby side of chic but they’re trying hard.

The welcome by Lisa was fantastic - friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and had good facilities.

Major refurbishment of this historic building is underway and I think it will be good once finished.

The dining room is a pretty neo-Georgian room with a mish mash fireplace of Edwardian fire surround and a 1930’s tiled insert but somehow it works and adds to the general feel of vintage quirky.

I will return to see how they get on!

Ann Morgan

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bristolglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Disappointing in so many respects. It is currently undergoing what appears to be a rather extended renovation and other building works and this adversely affects those staying. Common access areas are in a mess. The dining room is nicely finished and the breakfast was OK. Our room didn’t feel comfortable with a TV high on the wall and a settee only a short distance from it: decoration was a little bland. The big issue was the attitude of the management. We had booked a deluxe double room but what we got did not match the photos on the web: I queried this when we were shown the room but was assured it was a deluxe room. Closer inspection subsequently confirmed that it matched a budget family room but, when the management was challenged at our departure, there was no acceptance of the error, no apology, no gesture of goodwill, no offer of compensation: the mistake was squarely attributed to Booking.com whom I was told to take it up with. Fire doors in this traditional hotel with its timber floors were wedged open. As the name suggests, it is close to the main railway line: fast trains pass by throughout the night.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews