We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
peyles
UK

One night stay with 3 young children...

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 15, 2021
Stayed for 1 night as a last minute visit to the area and although the room didn't appear to be the one advertised, it was still good nonetheless. Recently refurbished by the looks of it, we were on the 3rd floor in room 31 which had 1 single bed, 1 double bed and 1 travel bed already made up for us on arrival. We also managed to check in earlier than the 3pm advertised time which was really appreciated.

Bed was reasonably comfortable and noise level at night was acceptable given the hotel is on a main rain and very near the train line/station. Black out curtains also helped keep the kids asleep in the morning...!

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant/bar area which is undergoing some refurbishment too but this doesn't distract. Continental breakfast had a good selection and the cooked breakfast was fresh, with notable decent bacon (according to my 11 year old...!).

Overall, a great place to stay for 1 night and the kids were wanting to go back again very soon.
Date of stay: November 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Nov 17, 2021
Thanks very much for your positive review, not sure why the room was changed but we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have recently installed a disabled lift to help people onto the first floor and the reception works should all be completed soon. Look forward to seeing you and your children again in the near future.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$112
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Royal Station Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
the hiding place outside
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Royal Station Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large, comfy and airy
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Royal Station Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.7 km from Royal Station Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
2.6 km from Royal Station Hotel
Free parking
Pool
This was my dinner, handsome it was to.
    1.5 km from Royal Station Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    4.2 km from Royal Station Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.6 km from Royal Station Hotel
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$112
    • Vio.com
    2.2 km from Royal Station Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    5.1 km from Royal Station Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Carnforth
    Reviews (182)
    Filter reviews
    182 results
    Traveller rating
    147
    18
    6
    3
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    147
    18
    6
    3
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews junction bar roof terrace eggs royale meet family brief encounter duck pancakes chipolatas sister in law extremely helpful staff great base to explore disabled guests booked last minute evening meal four poster bed cooked to perfection well worth a visit rooms were spotless
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    118 - 123 of 182 reviews
    Reviewed October 31, 2021 via mobile

    We had a, lovely romantic trip to Carnforth, as everybody knows or should know David lean set his station at Carnforth in cowards brief encounter. A favorite film of us both. The station hotel is central to everything and after a 3 hour train journey which was lovely and a visit to the station it was lovely to stay at this lovely hotel exellent staff and a very beautiful clean well run hotel the bed was comfortable and our room lovely we canot fault anything at all and can really recomend we really had a wonderful time things that memories are made of thankyou

    Room tip: It's wonderfully central for everything perfect place to stay if you are using the railway!!
    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank johnlX4575KF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2021

    Thankyou so glad you enjoyed your stay
    and hope to see you soon thanks again team station

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 31, 2021

    If you want a really good Sunday lunch, with great beers, this is where you need to be. Good, friendly service, generous portions with a great variety of vegetables. Excellent locally-brewed ales, in good condition.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Beverleyphile
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2021

    Thanks for your positive review from all at team station

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 17, 2021

    After good reviews we decided to try their Sunday lunch it was TERRIBLE!!! Grisly beef totally inedible watery cauliflower cheese and watery gravy the only good thing was homemade Yorkshire pudding was good at 12.95 each expected better complained and was offered a free desert which we declined was told they were surprised as rest of beef was ok! I highly doubt it!!

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Caron P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2022

    We are so sorry to hear that your meal was not up to expectation, we have since appointed a new head chef, who cooks to the highest standards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 14, 2021 via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel in the centre of Carnforth. My son was on a climbing course and was staying here so I drove up to see him and stayed overnight. All the staff were excellent, friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was delicious and we had an enjoyable couple of hours in the bar too. Strongly recommend if you need a comfortable hotel at a very reasonable cost. Thank you.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank carolineannmeyrick
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2022

    We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we'll see you again in the future!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 11, 2021

    As a party of 8 on a walking holiday we all found The Royal Station excellent. We stayed for 2 nights. We had 4 twin rooms which were tastefully decorated, spacious, very clean and newly refurbished bathrooms. Beds were comfy and plenty of tea/coffee etc.
    All staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.
    Great location with plenty of local bus and train transport on the doorstep.
    Excellent value for money.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank 8wanderers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    The Royal Station Hotel Team , Marketing at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

    Thanks very much for wandering into our refurbished hotel, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and please visit again if you are walking in this area of outstanding natural beauty

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews