We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out ”

The Winding House Tea Rooms
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A delightful Victorean inspired licensed tea room with a beautiful garden terrace and glorious views over the River Severn and Low Town. Serving light lunches, morning and afternoon tea seven days a week (Please note that we only use fresh ingredients delivered daily, therefore it is always best to book at least 24hrs in advance for Afternoon Teas to avoid disappointment. Due to the unique nature and quaint charm of our property our kitchen is very small and this may cause delays during busy periods however we will make sure that it was worth the wait!! You can watch the Cliff Railway operating and see the winding house for the railway in action from the tea rooms. We offer exceptional service and food made fresh on the premises using local ingredients, make this place a must see on a visit to Bridgnorth.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited this lovely little tea room and sat outside on the patio. The stairs are very steep both upon entering and going down to the patio. You need to give your table number upon ordering. Big pot of tea for two and lemon drizzle £7.10. The tea/cake carried down by the staff. You can see the winding mechanism for the railcar through a small window inside. This is a very quaint little cafe and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Main57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2018

My friend and I treat ourselves to 'prosecco' afternoon tea here for our birthdays and love it! Fantastic view from the outdoor terrace in particular and wonderful to be able to see the winding mechanism from the funicular railway.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank shropsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

After a good walk around Bridgnorth we needed lunch. We wanted to use a local independent and this fitted the bill beautifully. Okay it is not for the unwary nor is it disabled friendly because it is set into the cliff and the stairs have to be negotiated with care. However saying that the views are great and the food lovely. Those waitresses must be so fit. There is a garden terrace as well as an indoors with pretty windows. We would come again definitely.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank cheryl622015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

My husband and I had an afternoon tea for 2 as a gift and it was absolutely fantastic. The sandwiches were lovely and soft with thick fillings inside. The cakes were also soft and yummy, and the scones were fresh as they had been baked that morning. Even though it was busy, the staff still found time to come up and ask us if everything was ok, if we needed any refils or if there was anything else we needed. They even catered for our 5 year old daughter :)

We found the staff friendly and courteous, and when we finished and they cleared our table we were asked if we wanted the remaining food boxed up for us to take home. Our 5 year old was thrilled to bits to be sat by the window so she could see the cliff railway go up and down. Would highly recommend this Tea Room to anyone. I now use it regularly for drinks and food, they are well worth the money :)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DS9PeaceKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

First visit was for afternoon tea bought as a gift . Booked it in advance for 3 persons and advised them 2 were vegetarians ,the staff were not very friendly, lovely cup of tea but When the food was bought to the table there was coronation chicken sauce on the cheese majority of the fingers were brie and cranberry we left a lot of cakes were not asked if we would like to take them away , would not revisit .

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank cockamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Winding House Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to The Winding House Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing