We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Room great, restaurant a little disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room great, restaurant a little disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Wheelwrights Arms for 2 nights, in room 2. This is a well presented pub with rooms, in a very pretty, tiny, village.

The room was lovely, in particular the huge bathroom (note that there isn't a shower, just an attachment on the free standing bath). We ate in the restaurant on the second evening. Whilst the food was nice enough, it was nothing special and not really of the level that the website suggests, and not on a par with the accommodation.

Breakfast was included and was very generous - plenty to keep us going until afternoon tea time.

The pub is open all day but only does food at set times. We were headed to a wedding on the evening that we arrived and were hoping to get a bar snack, so had to head out to somewhere else (this isn't a criticism and, to be fair, we didn't ask whether they could rustle us something up... but worth bearing in mind)

A nice touch is that they provide suggested walks from the pub. Unfortunately, we weren't able to take advantage of these but would definitely be tempted to go back and give one a try.

Room Tip: Choose room 2 for a spectacular bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    85
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
53
139
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

lovely setting, atmosphere and attentive service. But food VERY overpriced for what it is. £12.00 plus for fish and chips that was no better than i have eaten elsewhere for much less, and others have better potion size.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

A new find for me! Can't fault the place at all...lovely service,excellent food,fantastic wine and we will return again and again I'm sure.

Next time might even stay despite home only being twenty minutes away!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having stayed at the Wheelwrights Arms, I must say I am completely puzzled by the negative Tripadvisor reviews; not that there are many - about four out of five visitors seems to have had a great time. From our point of view, everything was as we'd hoped.

The room was a good size; it was light, well decorated, with some nice touches like the art work, the vase of fresh tulips and the little chocolate Easter eggs that were arranged on the bed. There was plenty of wardrobe space, a good TV, and drink-making facilities included a cafetiere with fresh ground coffee. The wifi worked well, and there is even a backup wireless network, maybe for different parts of the building. The bathroom was large, light and airy.

We stayed for two nights, and so we had ample opportunity to sample the restaurant/bar. It's true that the menu isn't the most extensive you ever saw, but probably all the better for that; everything we tried was tasty and well cooked. The service was attentive but not over-the-top. We were quite happy with the service we received; the place is run by a friendly, relaxed bunch of people. Breakfast was also excellent, with plenty of choice of cooked dishes.

Of course we really went for the local scenery, which is superb. Monkton Coombe makes a good centre for walking and cycling, and probably canoeing and much else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having found it difficult to get a place to stay in Bath with parking, we drove out and chanced on the signs for the wheelwrights Arms a little out of the city. Nicely designed rooms, very comfortable beds, rather a lovely spot altogether. Despite having a lovely, quaint, village feel to it, the bathroom was equipped with a wonderfully powerful shower and very nice quality toiletries, as well as having a little jar of boiled sweets by the bedside.

We stayed in room 5, a twin. It was very spacious and comfortable. Good choice on the breakfast menu too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guido74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have eaten at the Wheelwright's Arms oon several occasions whilst our son has been a student at the University of Bath. The food is excellent; well cooked and plentiful. I understand that the rooms are lovely; I have tried to make a reservation to stay but have not yet been able to get in. I plan to put this right very soon.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you want to stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDL2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

we had a very enjoyable sunday lunch here, good food, excellent service and v friendly staff, although we didnt ask, we were moved to a better table, probably the best , the alcove at the front, a sort of private dining experience. we will go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
5.9 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.4 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
5.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.9 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Property: Wheelwrights Arms
Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing