We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and compact”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Stone's Throw

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rf0x2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and compact”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely compact apartment right in the centre of things perfect for a nice seaside break. Well stocked with all the necessities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate with no frills”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Clean but smelt of bleach on entering. Television remote NBG even with new batteries fitted. Good for 2 people but pushed to take more with a very small and inadequate dining table and area.
No dedicated parking whatsoever and that was a major factor for booking. Ended up in main high street which was not appropriate.
Noisy neighbours so not a quiet nights sleep for 3 nights.
Local eating places were based on take away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
I'm sorry you felt the need to express your disappointment with the smell of bleach on arrival, it's true we did use a bleach based cleaner for the floor. Apologies I should have mentioned that the power button on the TV remote is faulty but the other buttons are in working order. Although the property can sleep 4 it is priced for 2 and we don't charge for additional guests. The dining table is for 4 and can be moved slightly into the kitchen area to comfortably sit 4 adults. There is no private parking but there is on street parking right outside which is free of charge so most guests appreciate that. Sorry if there was noise from the upstairs property, no guests have mentioned this before so thanks for the feedback, I'll be sure to have a word. There are take aways but also a restaurant in the sands hotel nearby and the bay at pettycur further along the road, and there are quite a few in Aberdour, so I'll add those to our welcome information.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMcKen...
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem, hidden in a peaceful haven.”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful, clean, spacious. Had everything you could need, really felt like home from home. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful, lots of leaflets for local places to visit and history of the surrounding areas. It just felt like coming home each night after a day out.

Was really quite sorry to be leaving !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Apologies for the delay replying. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to host you and we'd love to welcome you back in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M S G
1 review
“great stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A very accessible area and had no problems during the entire stay. It is well equipped and had a wonderful stay. Probably a better mattress on the sofa bed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words. The sofabed is being replaced after the next guests leave. Your feedback is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in future. Sacha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive A
1 review
“good location for a quiet break”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Easy access from Edinburgh by Train. Good amenities close by. The accommodation was good and the owner helpful. Pleasant walks along the coast and play locations for small children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for the positive feedback! It was a pleasure to host you. Sacha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
1 review
“FANTASTIC will be defiantly booking again. ”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This place is fantastic. We were worried about not being near anything but you are 2 minutes from the nearest shop. Everything is on the door step it's in a fantastic location. Near the sea front. Sacha was fantastic and the communication between me and her was great. Really cannot fault it one bit. Lovely bath/shower and everything was left for us. Everything from coffee tea and sugar. Everything was comfy and clean. Thank you so much we will be booking again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Sincere apologies for the delay replying, I missed this kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks Sacha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smitchelm...
Buderim, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very convenient & quiet location, well equipped unit.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Unit was in a very convenient location, away from Edinburgh itself but close enough to train station to take an easy train ride to the city. It was also well located for exploring the Coast.
Owner was very helpful and unit was well equipped, especially the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet but convenient location
Liked least: Bed mattress a little soft for our liking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thanks for your comments and for taking good care of the property; it's much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you an enjoyable onwards journey. Kind regards, Sacha & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing