We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, not so friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Maragogi
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, not so friendly staff.”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The resort is beautiful but the staff was not so friendly... specially in the restaurant area. The food was so so... I was hoping to eat more local dishes. There were ants on the bed. Not worth the price they charge. I don't think about ever going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveLoveTravelLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    943
    357
    134
    100
See reviews for
1,163
834
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed one week in this resort in 2008 to 2009 new year period. The hotel is very nice, with great swimming pools. But the hotel's beach is not very good.

Since it was new year, there were a special new year party with shows, Champagne, decoration etc.... That was very nice.

Almost all guests at that time were italians or other europeus. I guess that the overpriced new year packages made this resort prohibitive to many brazilians. I don't know.

The food from the buffet was ok but we got really tired of it after some days. There was not much varieties from one day to another.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabrielPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stood for 1 week at this resort on September (low season).
We arrived around 14h30 and room wasn’t ready yet. We had lunch and waited until 16hs to go to our room.
We stood on the standard room, which was nice and clean. It looks like a bigger economic city hotel with a spacious bathroom.
The food is not top class restaurant, but is well made and there is a good variety. I didn’t see flies as mentioned before and everything seemed clean.
We also have some lobster at the paying restaurant for a very reasonable price: Around USD25 for the whole meal (couvert, salad, lobster soup, ½ lobster and desert). Even though you are on the all inclusive, drinks are paid.
The beach is amazing and if you want to relax you can stay for hours laying down asking for the waiter to bring drinks, food etc..
Staff is very friendly, only the guest service is quite confusing to book the paid restaurant and girls are not so friendly.
Summarizing
What we were looking for: A hotel to relax for a very reasonable price.
Pros: Nice beach, polite and friendly staff, good food and general cleanness.
Contras: Guest service could be done by reception, as girls are not the so friendly and the rest of the staff and not always answers the phone.
Tips: Ask for standard rooms on top floor away from the stairs, you can hear footsteps on the bottom floors. It’s a hotel on the beach and there are green areas, so take with you an insect repellent (spray for the body and one to put on the room socket).
Final opinion: We were pleased with our stay. It's not a top class hotel, but was above our expectations for the price paid. Good price/quality for somebody that wants to relax.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the main pool and restaurant, due the evening shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aledcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I was looking for a week out of my day to day stress and full of relaxation and that's what I got! I've asked fora quiet room and was given one, away from the swimming pools and other hotel activities. The room was on the second floor, clean and all details were taken care of by the maids. I've decided to use the "all inclusive" service, which means all food/drinks included (water, soda, juices and any drink with Brazilian alcoholic brands, including beer and wine). The mini-bar has water, soda and beer but you can ask for optional items (not my case). The buffet is full of options including seafood, fish, pasta, pizza, lots of salads and desserts, including itens for restrict diets. It's clean and has a good presentation, but sometimes you spot a fly here and there, since the restaurant has some windows opened despite of the air conditioning. You can also enjoy an afternoon "tea" including tapioca in between meals, and there's always something to eat and drink in all 3 bars located in the complex. You have full "beach" service with towel, showers, apettizers and drinks served wherever you decided to seat, given that you were lucky to find a free spot in one kiosk. Since the tides get really high, you get ot enjoy the beach inside the resort and can take a small stair to hit the water (which is very calm and hot given the reef, with hardly no waves). There are activities during all day (pool gym, dance classes, live music shows, kids activities) and usually a show during the night apart from the disco. Wi-fi internet is not available in the rooms, only at the lobby and is not fast or very reliable, but it's ok if all you want to do is to check your emails and a good 200/300 m walk until you get there. There are lot of day trips you can take to other beaches, scuba diving and related activities, all a bit pricey, and the complex has also a couple of stores in case you want to buy a souvenir, cachaça, jewels and beach related items and you can get your nails done as well.
One last tip, check the airport are you willing to arrive, it's a 1,5 h drive from Recife and 2,5 h drive from Maceió.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Miramar Resort is one of the best resort in North of Brazil.

I reccomend to stay there and enjoy the good services and great location in front of the beach. Miramar is quite new Resort in Brasil. The Bungalows with swinnpool-view are very nice. The suites with Seeview is also very comfortable. The new restaurant just in front of the beach has a great and romantic ambient.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloboTur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

If you are going to stay in that area (Maragogi) it's the best located hotel. The beach in front has transparent water and is very calm (no waves); you can walk for kilometers (it's shallow accoarding to the tide).

There are cayacs (little boats) they lend to guests. The problem is that the staff only cares about italians there. It looks like an italian hotel for that.

There is no cable TV and there is nothing to do at night, because it's far from any city. Unless you like that "amazing" resort kind of animation.

Staff are not very friendly, but not unpolite. There were too many flies around food, you couldn't even take a bite without having to wave your arms.

Bathrooms are ok.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalia-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The Miramar Resort can disappoint you in many ways in spite of the overall setting just facing the sea and in the middle of a beautiful high palm tree plantation.
The lobby is large modern and mostly useless (except for checkin and checkout) as the whole life in the resort is far away. An amazing snake-shaped series of swimming pools lead the way to bungalows, the beach bar, the restaurant and theatre. The sunbed area is close to the beach (not on the beach as tides are quite amazing) under the palm trees and is spacious and very nice. The wall protecting the beach was half broken, no sign of repair work during our stay.
Apart from that, the rest is rather disappointing and certainly not a 5-star level: staff does not speak one word in a language other than Portuguese (not acceptable, they must hire english speaking staff like everywhere in the world of tourism). Online booking got messy as soon as we asked for upgrade. They answer in portuguese and do not understand any of your requests. We booked pool bungalows, presumably the best option: very nice setting but the room inside is a 3-star level. Not 100% clean, broken tents, dirty bed covers, no style, insufficient lighting, very old and poor furniture. The place needs to hire an interior designer too if it wishes to reach the right level for that price. The bathroom was large enough and better than the room. Some have a true garden view, some have a... wall view. Bad luck, same price. Again, not acceptable.
The garden bungalows are same size of pool's and in same 4-room /1 storey buildings. The standard rooms are hosted in 2-storey blocks which don't look very nice at least from an outside view...
Food is served in a large ugly buffet restaurant, again with no idea of style. However the food choice and quality was good and very varied and service appropriate.
Finally the sea. Is it worth to travel a distance and find a muddy opaque sea with algaes on the beach? There is a possibility that sea transparency gets much better in summer, but at least in this part of the year (from what people told us) forget about transparent blue waters like the one Miramar Maragogi displays in its website. The pool is a much better option unfortunately. Overall this resort is ok for max a couple of days as we did, given our travelling style and expectations, as there is there little to visit in the range of 30 min from the resort.
One final suggestion. Although the resort is exactly mid way between Maceio and Recife airport (about 125 km) the road must be very different: 2h and 40 min. from Maceio, 1h and 40 min.from Recife. Bumpy road going thru a very interesting landscape with palm and banana trees, hills covered with sugar cane plantations and very poor villages. Worth seeing all that but just be aware of the difference. We weren't.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maragogi hotels
4.8 km away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#4 of 7 in Maragogi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Areias Belas Maragogi
11.8 km away
Pousada Shalom Beach
Pousada Shalom Beach
#5 of 7 in Maragogi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Salinas Maragogi All Inclusive Resort
5.7 km away
Pousada Encontro das Aguas
9.6 km away
Pousada Camurim Grande
Pousada Camurim Grande
#1 of 39 in Maragogi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oca Maragogi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oca Maragogi Resort

Property: Grand Oca Maragogi Resort
Address: Al 101 Norte, S/N, Maragogi, State of Alagoas 57955-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Maragogi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Maragogi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oca Maragogi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Maragogi Resort is in a privileged location, in Ponta de Mangue Beach, the most beautiful and calm beach in Maragogi, one of the main tourist places of the Brazilian northeast. Maragogi, in the state of Alagoas, is between the capitals of Maceió and Recife, approximately 125 km. from each. Known for its naturally beautiful extensive groves of coco trees, the city is an invitation for leisure and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Oca Maragogi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Maragogi Hotel Maragogi
Oca Miramar Maragogi Hotel
Oca Miramar Hotel Maragogi
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort Brazil/AL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing